Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29th March 2020, 00:03   #8961  |  Link
raymondjpg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by cool advertise View Post
Hello, if the error is this, maybe the solution could be at this link: https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...30#post1904830
It was proposed by me, take a look.
Many Thanks! That appears to have fixed my error too.

1. Downloaded and installed both 32 and 64 bit versions of AviSynth+ 3.5.0 with redistributables included.
2. Reboot PC.
3. Ran backup version of MeGUI and accepted recent updates, including AviSynth portable (AviSynth+ 3.5.0).
4. Check of avisynth.dll version at directory avs confirms update to version 3.5 dated 3/03/2020.
5. MeGUI now runs again without error at lsmashindex.

Also running MeGUI x86 32 bit with windows 10 pro 64 bit.

Is there any advantage switching to the 64 bit version of MeGUI?

Last edited by raymondjpg; 29th March 2020 at 01:37.
raymondjpg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2020, 20:24   #8962  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by raymondjpg View Post
...Is there any advantage switching to the 64 bit version of MeGUI?
AviSynth+ 64 can be fast than 32, but some (rare) plugins don't have 64 bits version.

Encoders 64 bits are also fast, but with MeGUI 32 you can use encoders 64 bits already.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2020, 23:37   #8963  |  Link
raymondjpg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
AviSynth+ 64 can be fast than 32, but some (rare) plugins don't have 64 bits version.

Encoders 64 bits are also fast, but with MeGUI 32 you can use encoders 64 bits already.
Thanks for the response. Doesn't look like much advantage, but I have installed the 64 bit version and presets imported from a 32 bit installation all seem to be working fine so far. I have kept the 32 bit installation on standby.
raymondjpg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2020, 10:40   #8964  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,424
Is there a way to pass the PAR I can set in video preview to x264 SAR parameter?
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2020, 09:56   #8965  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,080
Those are two different ratios. There is no simple pass-through. You will usually decide whether the picture is deskewed to SAR 1:1 (square pixels), or you don't want to apply any Resize function and encode anamorphically (then you need to know the SAR as the skew ratio).
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2020, 12:36   #8966  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,424
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
Those are two different ratios.
I am trying to encode the DVD of Vizontele and the pixel ratio is completely wrong on the original material.

Usually, for DVDs, SAR is 64:45 but for this one, it's screwed.

The format should be 1.85:1 but it is encoded as 5:4.

I am trying to find the correct SAR to pass to x264.

EDIT: solved with good old ARS Calculator
__________________
@turment on Telegram

Last edited by tormento; 1st April 2020 at 13:19.
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2020, 02:10   #8967  |  Link
jlw_4049
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 196
Is there anyway to Queue a job and it be set to postponed instead of automatically restarting?

I know you can toggle this in the options menu. However, I'd like a way to do all my testing automatically, once I get my final tests, setup my full render job and post pone it without going into the options, so I can test and setup another job so i can let them encode over time.

Thanks!
jlw_4049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2020, 04:19   #8968  |  Link
beto
Temet Nosce
 
beto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: São Paulo
Posts: 37
Hello, I want to encode a DVD to HEVC and play it back in my iPhone 11.

I used MeGUI (last stable release) to perform the encoding with x265 (all-default-no-fancy settings) and muxing (to M4V). The file can be imported to iTunes (12.10.6.2) in Windows 10 (1909) but when trying to play it back it shows only a black screen (no video) although audio plays back apparently with no issues. If I use VLC or Movies & TV in Windows the file plays ok with no issues.

If I use x264 instead fo x265 and perform the exact same procedure everything works fine and I can playback the movie in both iTunes and in my iPhone with no issues.

Is it possible to create a playable HEVC video from a DVD and play it back in iTunes/iPhone 11 using MeGUI? If so how should I do it?

Thanks in advance for any help.
__________________
http://volutabro.blogspot.com

Last edited by beto; 19th April 2020 at 04:22.
beto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2020, 13:43   #8969  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,080
I see two possible traps here:

a) Can your device decode HEVC at all? And in addition, does it have Profile@Level restrictions you have to respect while encoding?
b) Did MeGUI flag the MP4 container as expected by iTunes? It has a control in the MP4 multiplexer, but you may have to add a manual job to the queue to use it this way...
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2020, 22:35   #8970  |  Link
beto
Temet Nosce
 
beto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: São Paulo
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
I see two possible traps here:

a) Can your device decode HEVC at all? And in addition, does it have Profile@Level restrictions you have to respect while encoding?
b) Did MeGUI flag the MP4 container as expected by iTunes? It has a control in the MP4 multiplexer, but you may have to add a manual job to the queue to use it this way...
Thank you for taking the time to look into it.

a) I am positive it can. I am trying to play the file on an iPhone 11 Plus with iOS 13.4 so it can play HEVC. As for Profile@Level I do not know if there are any restrictions in the iPhone. Does anyone know anything about that and can contribute?

b) I always set up the Apple TV flag in the MP4 multiplexer (I set Device Type to Apple TV in MeGUI). I always run the multiplexer at the end of the process separately joining audio and video. This works if I mux h264 video and the files play fine in the iPhone but does not work if I use hevc video.

ps. I do not use One Click Encoder or the Auto Encode features in MeGUI.
__________________
http://volutabro.blogspot.com

Last edited by beto; 20th April 2020 at 22:37.
beto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2020, 23:12   #8971  |  Link
jlw_4049
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 196
Does m4v containers support HEVC? Can you play mkv or mp4?

Upon googling it I don't see anywhere that it says it supports HEVC.


https://trac.ffmpeg.org/ticket/7685

tag for codec hevc in stream #0, codec not currently supported in container
Could not write header for output file #0 (incorrect codec parameters ?): Invalid argument
Error initializing output stream 0:0 --

encoded 0 frames
Conversion failed!



Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

Last edited by jlw_4049; 20th April 2020 at 23:16.
jlw_4049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2020, 08:08   #8972  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,080
I am not sure if "m4v" here is just an MP4 container with a renamed extension ... or really a different container specification. I have seen this extension used for MPEG4-ASP elementary video (without container) as well.

If there is MPEG4 (or newer) video multiplexed with audio, it certainly needs a container. I would assume that Apple TV should use ISO Base Media MP4 v2 as container too, just with some specific atoms.

The MP4 container supports HEVC video streams already (L-SMASH and MP4Box support their multiplexing); whether Apple TV supports them, is a different chapter.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2020, 13:52   #8973  |  Link
videoh
Useful n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,381
"m4v" refers to a video elementary stream. That may not be what the questioner meant but it is the correct usage.
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2020, 06:13   #8974  |  Link
bruno321
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 35
qaac and fps slowdown

I've started to play around with qaac which I had never used. I chose these options:



and I ran it on an MP2 file, this is the log:


My question is: did it go directly from MP2 to AAC or was there some intermediate encoding? (like MP2 to AC3 to AAC or something)
bruno321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2020, 08:03   #8975  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,080
AviSynth source plugins decode audio to uncompressed PCM (and often floating point samples, because many audio filters expect that). Then the result is fed to the encoder.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2020, 19:54   #8976  |  Link
beto
Temet Nosce
 
beto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: São Paulo
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlw_4049 View Post
Does m4v containers support HEVC? Can you play mkv or mp4?

Upon googling it I don't see anywhere that it says it supports HEVC.


https://trac.ffmpeg.org/ticket/7685

tag for codec hevc in stream #0, codec not currently supported in container
Could not write header for output file #0 (incorrect codec parameters ?): Invalid argument
Error initializing output stream 0:0 --

encoded 0 frames
Conversion failed!



Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
If I mux the hevc video to a mp4 , m4v or mkv container they play ok using VLC or the native Windows 10 movie player in the PC.

In iTunes and other apple devices (iPhone, Apple TV etc.) they do not play at all. May be a limitation of the Apple devices regarding the container format. I do not know...
__________________
http://volutabro.blogspot.com
beto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2020, 19:57   #8977  |  Link
beto
Temet Nosce
 
beto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: São Paulo
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
I am not sure if "m4v" here is just an MP4 container with a renamed extension ... or really a different container specification. I have seen this extension used for MPEG4-ASP elementary video (without container) as well.

If there is MPEG4 (or newer) video multiplexed with audio, it certainly needs a container. I would assume that Apple TV should use ISO Base Media MP4 v2 as container too, just with some specific atoms.

The MP4 container supports HEVC video streams already (L-SMASH and MP4Box support their multiplexing); whether Apple TV supports them, is a different chapter.
I read Apple's documentation related to HEVC and it states that the iPhone records video in HEVC format and stores it in a MOV container. Maybe iOS only supports playing back HEVC in a MOV container and not MP4. Not sure if this is the case. At least it is what I could infer from the support documentation.
__________________
http://volutabro.blogspot.com
beto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2020, 20:34   #8978  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by beto View Post
I read Apple's documentation related to HEVC and it states that the iPhone records video in HEVC format and stores it in a MOV container...
Out of interest... Did Apple's documentation mention anything about supported 'Profiles'?
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2020, 04:06   #8979  |  Link
beto
Temet Nosce
 
beto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: São Paulo
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Out of interest... Did Apple's documentation mention anything about supported 'Profiles'?
Nothing specific about that unfortunately.
__________________
http://volutabro.blogspot.com
beto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2020, 13:50   #8980  |  Link
slick1109
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Hello. I am trying to figure out how to Downgrade the x264 codec in MeGUI.

Since I save backups during updates, I still have the previous x264 "obsolete" zip file. I would assume I simply extract the x264.exe file I want and overwrite the newer one in the "MeGui\tools\x264" folder, but after doing so, and checking the current version by running Update in MeGUI, it still shows the newer version. So I assume there is a better way to do this, or some Settings file that also needs to be changed as well.


[For anyone wondering WHY I want to downgrade, the reason is because my older Samsung TV will not play any of my recent encodes (via USB) after upgrading to x264 r2969. So I want to revert back to x264 r2935 which is the last version I used that works fine.]

UPDATE: So while I was waiting for a response, I tried changing my update settings from the STABLE server to the DEVELOPER server, which gave me a newer version of the codec (x264 r2991). I encoded a few second long video just to test it, and it seems like the r2991 fixes the problem. So something is clearly wrong with the x264 r2969 codec. However, I usually prefer to stay with the STABLE updates, so I would still like an answer to my question regarding how to downgrade my x264 codec to a previous version.

Thanks.

Last edited by slick1109; 30th April 2020 at 02:43.
slick1109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
megui

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.