Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd December 2014, 13:16   #12861  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,183
Yeah, the branch from LAV Filters > http://git.1f0.de/gitweb?p=ffmpeg.git;a=summary

but you have to compile it by yourself.
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 14:19   #12862  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,879
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
LAV Filters 0.63.0 and L-SMASH Works (with Libav, r733 by the_weirdo) are now able to ignore Atmos extensions correctly. But to support it in ffmpeg too, someone would have to port this patch to the ffmpeg source repository...
I pushed my TrueHD patch to upstream ffmpeg, it should be in recent zeranoe builds for example.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 14:23   #12863  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,004
– Hope someone with matching material can confirm it.

Now back to eac3to...
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2014, 14:50   #12864  |  Link
Nebudchanezzer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 23
Hi everyone!

I would like to revisit the "strange setup" issue a little bit....

I know this has been up before, but I would like to look at it some more.
If there isn't a possibility to "inject" that it is normal 7.1 setup into the header when decoding.

I have tried encoding a small audiofile into both "strange setup" and normal setup, and the encoded data is the same (using a hexeditor for comparison) only the header differs.

I have also tried altering the header of the "strange setup" with the hex-editor to see if I could do what is asked here my self, but I had no luck.
Doesn't matter what I change in the header really, the track decodes as "strange setup" whatever....

I just don't know what it is in the header that tells the decoder that it is "strange setup".

EDIT: Also to add, someone mentioned earlier that this might not be possible due to the internal error calculations of DTS-HD, but I have actually edited the header without any problems to decode the track afterwards (only it still decodes as "strange setup").
From the little I understand from the published documents regarding DTS-HD MA, I find the error calculations depends of the acutal header-size and not some sort of hash of it.

So I would really like if someone could tell me how to read the header, or what specifically tell the decoder it is "strange setup".
I would be happy to share what I have with anyone interested more in this.

Last edited by Nebudchanezzer; 15th December 2014 at 20:18.
Nebudchanezzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2014, 06:20   #12865  |  Link
73ChargerFan
Registered User
 
73ChargerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 518
Link in first post to Haali is bad.
73ChargerFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2014, 07:13   #12866  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 913
Quote:
Originally Posted by 73ChargerFan View Post
Link in first post to Haali is bad.
This Haali link works:
http://haali.su/mkv/
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 18362| GPU Caps Viewer 1.42.4.0
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB (GP106) 3071MB/GDDR5 | (r435_95-4)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
Intel Xeon X5660 @2.80GHz
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2014, 20:08   #12867  |  Link
Infineon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 17
The format of the source file could not be detected

I get this error when trying to convert DTS-HD music tracks that have been demuxed from a Blu-Ray. I'm using v3.27. The first track is identified and converts to FLAC perfectly, after that for all subsequent tracks I get this error. I can convert TrueHD to FLAC with no issues. Can anyone suggest what might be causing this?
Infineon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2014, 20:11   #12868  |  Link
froggy1
ffx264/ffhevc author
 
froggy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by Infineon View Post
I get this error when trying to convert DTS-HD music tracks that have been demuxed from a Blu-Ray. I'm using v3.27. The first track is identified and converts to FLAC perfectly, after that for all subsequent tracks I get this error. I can convert TrueHD to FLAC with no issues. Can anyone suggest what might be causing this?
What error exactly do you get? You didn't post it
__________________
ffx264--ffhevc--ffxvid

AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
froggy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2014, 20:13   #12869  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,666
Look at the name of his post : "The format of the source file could not be detected".
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2014, 23:16   #12870  |  Link
froggy1
ffx264/ffhevc author
 
froggy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by Music Fan View Post
Look at the name of his post : "The format of the source file could not be detected".
Thanks. However, this still doesn't bring us anywhere. No info on content he used (no sample either)
__________________
ffx264--ffhevc--ffxvid

AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
froggy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2014, 09:27   #12871  |  Link
Infineon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by froggy1 View Post
Thanks. However, this still doesn't bring us anywhere. No info on content he used (no sample either)
The source media is an audio only Blu-Ray music disc containing 2Ch PCM 96/24 and 6Ch DTS-HD 96/24. I use AnyDVD-HD to decrypt and save as ISO image (mainly so I have a backup of my media that can't get scratched). I then demux the DTS HD tracks from the image using DVD Audio Extractor. I get the same problems if I demux direct from the disc.

I'm open to suggestions of a better demuxing app that I could try? I am seeing this problem with DTS-HD on other blu-rays. The ISO image and demuxed DTS-HD files both play back fine on my PC. The weird thing is some tracks convert to FLAC in eac3to, some don't. On a previous disk the first two tracks worked, then the rest weren't recognised.

If you need it I could make the a copy of a working and non working track available for comparison but pls msg me in private to set this up.

Last edited by Infineon; 19th December 2014 at 09:29.
Infineon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2014, 09:53   #12872  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,666
You can try eac3to or TSmuxer to demux audio and video.
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2014, 10:53   #12873  |  Link
Infineon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Music Fan View Post
You can try eac3to or TSmuxer to demux audio and video.
Ok, with eac3to am I right in thinking that I must use the raw blu-ray m2ts files to demux from? The problem I found was it creates a single output FLAC file. Perhaps I'm being a noob, is there a way to demux into individual DTS-HD files or just demux and convert straight to individual FLACs? Thanks.
Infineon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2014, 15:02   #12874  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,666
You can do what you want with eac3to ; extract a dts track as is, convert it in a 5.1 wav, 6 mono waves, flac ...
The first thing to do is to analyze the m2ts file to see the numbers of the tracks, with this very simple command ;
Code:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\eac3to\eac3to.exe" "H:\my video.m2ts"
eac3to will show tracks with a number. If the dts track you need is number 2, the command to extract it looks like ;
Code:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\eac3to\eac3to.exe" "H:\my video.m2ts" 2: "M:\sound of my video.dts"
It's not only the core, it contains the DTS HD and the core.

To convert in Flac, just change the extension ;
Code:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\eac3to\eac3to.exe" "H:\my video.m2ts" 2: "M:\sound of my video.flac"
But you need somme dll (from ArcSoft TotalMedia Theatre) to decode Dts HD ;
http://forum.videohelp.com/threads/3...=1#post2210419
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2014, 23:55   #12875  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 913
Quote:
Originally Posted by Infineon View Post
single output FLAC file...to individual FLACs
Sounds like you want a track list rip as if it were a CD with a CUE.
DVDAudio Extractor can rip by "chapter". But I often find that different versions of DVDAE produce different results than eac3to.

You can remux with MKVtoolnix to split by timecode or framenumbers.
You have to input this list manually.
You can use the disc chapters.

If one track segue's into the next track, and you don't like the disc chapter, you'll have to edit yourself in something like Audacity.

eac3to doesn't do splitting by chapter (automated).
Best thing to do is split into files with MKVtoolnix for remuxing and then use eac3to for each split remux.
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 18362| GPU Caps Viewer 1.42.4.0
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB (GP106) 3071MB/GDDR5 | (r435_95-4)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
Intel Xeon X5660 @2.80GHz
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2014, 10:35   #12876  |  Link
Infineon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Music Fan View Post
You can do what you want with eac3to ; extract a dts track as is, convert it in a 5.1 wav, 6 mono waves, flac ...
The first thing to do is to analyze the m2ts file to see the numbers of the tracks, with this very simple command ;
Code:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\eac3to\eac3to.exe" "H:\my video.m2ts"
eac3to will show tracks with a number. If the dts track you need is number 2, the command to extract it looks like ;
Code:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\eac3to\eac3to.exe" "H:\my video.m2ts" 2: "M:\sound of my video.dts"
It's not only the core, it contains the DTS HD and the core.

To convert in Flac, just change the extension ;
Code:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\eac3to\eac3to.exe" "H:\my video.m2ts" 2: "M:\sound of my video.flac"
But you need somme dll (from ArcSoft TotalMedia Theatre) to decode Dts HD ;
http://forum.videohelp.com/threads/3...=1#post2210419
This is really helpful thanks, I've got Arcsoft decoder working fine, I'll give this a try.
Infineon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2014, 01:30   #12877  |  Link
Infineon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparktank View Post
Sounds like you want a track list rip as if it were a CD with a CUE.
DVDAudio Extractor can rip by "chapter". But I often find that different versions of DVDAE produce different results than eac3to.

You can remux with MKVtoolnix to split by timecode or framenumbers.
You have to input this list manually.
You can use the disc chapters.

If one track segue's into the next track, and you don't like the disc chapter, you'll have to edit yourself in something like Audacity.

eac3to doesn't do splitting by chapter (automated).
Best thing to do is split into files with MKVtoolnix for remuxing and then use eac3to for each split remux.
Perfect, MKVToolNix did the job. DVD-AE has an option to create a DTS-CD plus Cue sheet so I just used this to generate the cue quickly from the ISO. Then loaded the cue into MKVMerge to split the chapters and demux the M2TS stream to MKA. eac3to was then able to correctly identify the DTS-HD in the MKAs and convert them either to FLAC or .dts files. Discovered something new as well, using the MKA container JRiver appears to be playing back the full DTS-HD bitrate now (8000Kbps) whereas the .dts files just play the core (1500Kbps). Not sure why that is. eac3to identifies them as 96/24 and they're just as large as the MKAs. Anyway, thanks for your help!
Infineon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2014, 08:52   #12878  |  Link
XadoX
Registered User
 
XadoX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 191
Is there a know problem, with discs containing Dolby Atmos tracks?
XadoX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2014, 09:26   #12879  |  Link
Infineon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 17
Sorry I've been ripping from music blu-rays not movies so couldn't tell you. I suspect the problem I've encountered is with DVD Audio Extractors demux of Dts-hd.
Infineon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2014, 09:34   #12880  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,004
Did you really search this thread for "Atmos" before asking this, XadoX?
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.