Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15th February 2013, 11:57   #14181  |  Link
NikosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,731
Impressive video from today's meteor attack in Russia, Chelyabinsk.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/xt6t6zbbav6tmak/Russia%20%281%29-HD.mp4

But it's not playable in DXVA mode (ATI hardware on signature system).

Not DXVA-compliant or ATI hardware/drivers ?
__________________
Win 10 x64 (18363.720) - Core i3-9100F - nVidia 1660 (442.74)
HEVC decoding benchmarks
H.264 DXVA Benchmarks for all
NikosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2013, 12:34   #14182  |  Link
JEEB
もこたんインしたお!
 
JEEB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Finland / Japan
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikosD View Post
...
But it's not playable in DXVA mode (ATI hardware on signature system).

Not DXVA-compliant or ATI hardware/drivers ?
Height > 1080 (or 1088, depends on how it's checked). Won't get played with most of current DXVA implementations I'd guess, especially ATi/AMD :P
__________________
[I'm human, no debug]
JEEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2013, 12:38   #14183  |  Link
detmek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 475
Plays fine with MPC-BE internal DXVA decoder, Nvidia 9500GT (VP2) and Windows 7.
detmek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2013, 12:53   #14184  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,900
You'll have to enable UHD/4K decoding in LAVs options because it only checks based on height. It'll then probe the hardware for support for this resolution, if it works or not, i don't know. NVIDIA supports "rotated" resolutions like this, i think, not sure about AMD.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2013, 15:27   #14185  |  Link
wanezhiling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikosD View Post
But it's not playable in DXVA mode (ATI hardware on signature system).

Not DXVA-compliant or ATI hardware/drivers ?
LAV blacklist 4K DXVA on AMD, the resolution is limited to 1920x1200 even you enable UHD/4K decoding in LAVs options.

Here are some resolution-limit-test samples, made by mpc-be team, I think you will like them.
h264_dxva_width_limit_test
h264_dxva_height_limit_test
h264_dxva_macroblocks_limit_test
h264_dxva_square_limit_test
PS: Use latest mpc-hc or PotPlayer for the accurate result.
wanezhiling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2013, 16:22   #14186  |  Link
NikosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,731
Quote:
Originally Posted by JEEB View Post
Height > 1080 (or 1088, depends on how it's checked). Won't get played with most of current DXVA implementations I'd guess, especially ATi/AMD :P
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
You'll have to enable UHD/4K decoding in LAVs options because it only checks based on height. It'll then probe the hardware for support for this resolution, if it works or not, i don't know. NVIDIA supports "rotated" resolutions like this, i think, not sure about AMD.
From the above 3, wanezhiling was right.

I did the test using Radeon 3650 and my 5750 with MPC decoder, LAV Video and PotPlayer.

MPC decoder and PotPlayer if you force it to always use DXVA regardless resolution, can actually play in DXVA mode that "rotated" 720 x 1280 clip.

So AMD supports those "rotated" resolutions, too - even in very old hardware like Radeon 3650.

On the other hand, LAV Video doesn't support it even in newer hardware like 5750 and even if you enable UHD/4K decoding.

So, Nevcairiel if you have time you can check again the UHD/4K option with AMD hardware.
__________________
Win 10 x64 (18363.720) - Core i3-9100F - nVidia 1660 (442.74)
HEVC decoding benchmarks
H.264 DXVA Benchmarks for all
NikosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2013, 16:47   #14187  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,900
They are not very common, so its not a big thing, but i can probably make the check smarter to allow them.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2013, 03:43   #14188  |  Link
Tornado15550
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 12
Hi nevcairiel. First off, I'd like to thank you for creating LAV filters.
They are amazing!
I have a feature request for the LAV Splitter, if you don't mind. This feature is the only thing keeping me from switching over from Haali.
Haali has an option called "Use custom media type for H.264". This option enables me to watch 10 bit video (Hi10P) on Windows Media Player & Windows Media Center.
I was wondering if you could implement this feature in the LAV Splitter.

Thanks!
Tornado15550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2013, 07:16   #14189  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,900
No, i cannot implement a stupid option like this.
There are plenty tools to configure which decoder is used in WMP, you don't need to use a wrong solution like this.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2013, 18:06   #14190  |  Link
Tornado15550
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 12
Ok, could you recommend a tool that will allow me to configure which decoder I can use?
Tornado15550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2013, 20:25   #14191  |  Link
Superb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tornado15550 View Post
Ok, could you recommend a tool that will allow me to configure which decoder I can use?
http://codecguide.com/windows7_preferred_filter_tweaker.htm
Superb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2013, 21:59   #14192  |  Link
zerowalker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,116
Could you add a status tab so you can see what bitrates itīs using and such?
As sometimes that features is just so helpful
zerowalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2013, 12:22   #14193  |  Link
DragonQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 930
I have an interlaced VC-1 file that doesn't deinterlace properly with WMV9 DMO (using either MadVR or EVR). It plays properly using CUVID. I assume it's a problem with the codec but what do I know, it might be fixable. Sample is here.

It's a 1080i/25 video that was converted (pretty badly) to 1080i/30 for BD so it's never gonna look properly smooth. You can tell when it's not being deinterlaced properly by the combing though.
__________________
HTPC Hardware: Intel Celeron G530; nVidia GT 430
HTPC Software: Windows 7; MediaPortal 1.19.0; Kodi DSPlayer 17.6; LAV Filters (DXVA2); MadVR
TV Setup: LG OLED55B7V; Onkyo TX-NR515; Minix U9-H
DragonQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2013, 12:30   #14194  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,900
Looks fine here. All frames are marked as interlaced, so from the decoders point of view, everything is fine. And i also see no combing. EVR deinterlaces it to 60p

PS:
Blu-ray supports 25i just fine, whats with the conversion crap? :d
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2013, 12:50   #14195  |  Link
DragonQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Looks fine here. All frames are marked as interlaced, so from the decoders point of view, everything is fine. And i also see no combing. EVR deinterlaces it to 60p
Hmmmmm EVR says ~30 fps for me and I get combing, unless I turn on CUVID. :/

Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
PS:
Blu-ray supports 25i just fine, whats with the conversion crap? :d
It's so that they can have one international BD master that can be released everywhere I guess. Total bullshit considering the majority of the market is in the UK and they already have the 1080i/25 master that they used for HDTV.
__________________
HTPC Hardware: Intel Celeron G530; nVidia GT 430
HTPC Software: Windows 7; MediaPortal 1.19.0; Kodi DSPlayer 17.6; LAV Filters (DXVA2); MadVR
TV Setup: LG OLED55B7V; Onkyo TX-NR515; Minix U9-H
DragonQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2013, 13:30   #14196  |  Link
mcr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Are there plans to incorporate support for Matroska file segments?

The last reference about segments I was able to find is from 2011, so I hope you don't mind me bringing this up again.
mcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2013, 14:34   #14197  |  Link
wanezhiling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcr View Post
The last reference about segments I was able to find is from 2011
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...75#post1608775
wanezhiling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2013, 12:14   #14198  |  Link
balkerman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 15
Hi, could someone explain how I install and use the symbols to help debug. Also using madvr... Thanks!

Also when using 32bit mpc-hc on 64bit windows, which symbols do I use?
balkerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2013, 12:29   #14199  |  Link
cyberbeing
Broadband Junkie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,859
Use the 32bit symbols and place them in the same directory as the matching x86 LAV components were installed to.

Last edited by cyberbeing; 18th February 2013 at 12:39.
cyberbeing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2013, 17:01   #14200  |  Link
Owyn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 35
nevcairiel, Hi again, I got answer back from KMPlayer forum about KMPlayer + LAV problem, they ask if you could "implement a feature like in AV Splitter. It's called 'Single Output pin'. Its disabling makes it possible to switch audio tracks with KMP hotkeys.", can\would you?
Owyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
decoders, directshow, filters, splitter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.