Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th January 2021, 11:11   #21  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 1,872
Hard to say...
I would think of maybe "no", because it's not something allowing you to run it without a license, but allowing you to just run it when you have license, because without, you can't (despite having a lifetime non-stop license).
But it's just a two cents thought, i'm not law expert.
And even more, it could be different according countries, the "right" to modify legitimate bought programs to allow it to run on your system when the seller/support is unable fo provide a solution, still staying in your license use.
__________________
My github.

Last edited by jpsdr; 24th January 2021 at 11:17.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2021, 05:05   #22  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardpl View Post
It this equivalence of cracking?
I am not a lawyer but I think the answer is źno╗.
Changing one byte to disable a time-bomb in a software that was assumed to not have a time-bomb is very-different from a dongle crack or a keygen, for example.
-------
P.S.: Several years ago Patrakov gave us a free open-sourced DCA encoder, maybe it is time for someone else to develop an open-source DTS-Express encoder and a pure lossless DTS encoder as well

Last edited by filler56789; 25th January 2021 at 05:06. Reason: disambiguation
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2021, 12:00   #23  |  Link
EMR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by filler56789 View Post
Just confirming that the trick also works for the ancient version 2.00.24.
All one has to do is: open the original DtsJobQueue.exe in a hex editor,
look for the byte-sequence "BF D0 2B FA 79", replace "79" with "EB", save.
That is a terrific solution for all users of the Windows version of DTS-HD MAS. Is there a similar solution for the Mac OS X version? I would need either a patched version of the DtsJobQueue Unix executable or the relevant instructions to hex-edit said executable, or a patched DTSEncoder.app.
EMR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2021, 09:59   #24  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by EMR View Post
Is there a similar solution for the Mac OS X version?
I would need either a patched version of the DtsJobQueue Unix executable or the relevant instructions to hex-edit said executable,
Probably there is, but I have no idea of what it would be :-/

I have just opened the DTSJobQueue for Mac with a hex editor, but only because of, let's say, my "morbid curiosity", since I cannot imagine what I should be looking for in it...

Quote:
or a patched DTSEncoder.app.
Are you sure of that?
I mean, that the time-bomb in the Mac edition of the Master Audio Suite is in that file :-/
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2021, 11:37   #25  |  Link
EMR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by filler56789 View Post
[COLOR="Blue"]Are you sure of that?
I mean, that the time-bomb in the Mac edition of the Master Audio Suite is in that file :-/
A Mac "app" is, in reality, a folder with or without an icon. Because of that, the DtsJobQueue Unix executable is included in DTSEncoder.app, which is the folder that you double-click to do the encoding. It will run the relevant executable Unix file(s) as needed. So, it is possible to edit an app, usually meaning (hex-)editing one or more Unix executable files and one or more "plist" configuration files or the like.

As for the specific location of the time bomb in the OS X version, my hunch is that it's there because that's where the Windows version included said time bomb. More likely than not, both the Windows and the OS X versions include the same source code. I would assume the developers only adapted minor portions of their code to make it run on both platforms doing exactly the same thing. After adapting whatever they needed to change, compiling the code for both platforms would have been straightforward. If my hunch is correct, then that's where the OS X time bomb should be.

Last edited by EMR; 27th February 2021 at 11:43.
EMR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2021, 17:04   #26  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by EMR View Post
A Mac "app" is, in reality, a folder with or without an icon. Because of that, the DtsJobQueue Unix executable is included in DTSEncoder.app, which is the folder that you double-click to do the encoding. It will run the relevant executable Unix file(s) as needed. So, it is possible to edit an app, usually meaning (hex-)editing one or more Unix executable files and one or more "plist" configuration files or the like.

As for the specific location of the time bomb in the OS X version, my hunch is that it's there because that's where the Windows version included said time bomb. More likely than not, both the Windows and the OS X versions include the same source code. I would assume the developers only adapted minor portions of their code to make it run on both platforms doing exactly the same thing. After adapting whatever they needed to change, compiling the code for both platforms would have been straightforward. If my hunch is correct, then that's where the OS X time bomb should be.
Thanks for the information, because I really know almost-nothing about the Mac operating system.
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2021, 09:29   #27  |  Link
Overdrive80
Anime addict
 
Overdrive80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by neil wilkes View Post
Someone please help?
My legally purchased and supposedly perpetually licensed DTS-HD MAS encoder suite has stopped working, and I am not the only person this is happening to.
Error log attached, and it is saying there is a 'configuration file error'.
NOTHING has changed except the calendar year - Windows 7 Pro, same version of Java.
A friend has the same issue on Windows 10 so it is not the OS.

Anyone got any ideas, please?
Are you testing with jre-6u45-windows-i586 version? In my case, it was one solution.
__________________
Intel i7-6700K + Noctua NH-D15 + Z170A XPower G. Titanium + Kingston HyperX Savage DDR4 2x8GB + Nvidia GTX750 2GB DDR5 + SSD Vertex 4 256 GB + Antec EDG750 80 Plus Gold Mod + Corsair 780T Graphite
Overdrive80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
master audio suite, time bomb

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.