Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd December 2014, 05:50   #27721  |  Link
MysteryX
Soul Architect
 
MysteryX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,559
Found a bug. In the scaling algorithms profiles, I have this defined.

if (targetWidth <= 1366) && (srcHeight <= 300) "Laptop 288p"
else if (targetWidth <= 1366) && (srcHeight <= 480) "Laptop 480p"
else if (targetWidth <= 1366) && (srcHeight <= 768) "Laptop 720p"
else if (targetWidth <= 1366) "Laptop 1080p"

Playing 1080p videos select "Laptop 720p"!

If, however, I replace srcHeight <= 768 by srcHeight < 769, then it selects "Laptop 1080p".

There seems to be something wrong with the <= operator or something around there.

I'm using the .11 version that was just released.

Edit: There's still something random to it. With that edit, it still sometimes select "Laptop 720p" but much less often. To know which one is selected, I open madVR settings and look which one is in bold. I seem to be getting a more consistent 1080p selection by putting condition srcHeight < 760

Edit2: I'm seeing that SVP has an option that decreases the image to the screen size, which means madVR doesn't see it as a 1080p video but rather as a 768p video. If any additional cropping is applied, then the resolution ends up being even smaller. This might be related to the issue.

Last edited by MysteryX; 24th June 2015 at 06:36.
MysteryX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 06:04   #27722  |  Link
MysteryX
Soul Architect
 
MysteryX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,559
I've heard many times how NNIDE3 is so GPU-intensive. Am I missing something or is it LESS demanding than Jinc?

While playing a 1080p video on 768p screen, I'm getting these rendering times with chroma upscaling
Jinc 3-taps AR: 7.7ms
Jinc 4-taps AR: 18ms
NNEDI3 32 neurons: 7.6ms
NNEDI3 256 neurons: 7.7ms

I have a Radeon HD 7660M on Windows 7 x64

So basically the highest settings I can have to play 1080p on 768p display with SVP + madVR still leaves half of my video card unused (as I can go up to 16ms rendering time)

Last edited by MysteryX; 24th June 2015 at 06:36.
MysteryX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 06:53   #27723  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,921
nnedi3 is an image upscaler that can only upscale an image by the power of 2 so it is not used in your case.

Last edited by huhn; 3rd December 2014 at 07:07.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 07:23   #27724  |  Link
MysteryX
Soul Architect
 
MysteryX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
nnedi3 is an image upscaler that can only upscale an image by the power of 2 so it is not used in your case.
There are two places where NNEDI3 can be selected. In Chroma Upscaling, or as you're saying, in Image Doubling. I'm not seeing a significant cost for Image Doubling either. It only affects smaller videos that are lighter to process anyway.

Last edited by MysteryX; 24th June 2015 at 06:36.
MysteryX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 07:29   #27725  |  Link
michkrol
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by MysteryX View Post
Found a bug. In the scaling algorithms profiles, I have this defined.
(...)
Edit2: I'm seeing that SVP has an option that decreases the image to the screen size, which means madVR doesn't see it as a 1080p video but rather as a 768p video. If any additional cropping is applied, then the resolution ends up being even smaller. This might be related to the issue.
It's not an issue then.
MadVR reads the resolution from upstream filter, not the file. Just check the OSD (CTRL+J) to see what madVR gets your video as.
michkrol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 07:41   #27726  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by MysteryX View Post
There are two places where NNEDI3 can be selected. In Chroma Upscaling, or as you're saying, in Image Doubling. I'm not seeing a significant cost for Image Doubling either. It only affects smaller videos that are lighter to process anyway.
nnedi3 can only upscale. how do you upscale a 1080p video on a 768p screen?

you are not even using jinc in this case because jincs in madVR can't downscale too.

the only way to use nnedi3 with a 1080p source on a 786p is through chroma scaling same with jincs.

and to make things clear 1080p on a 1080p screen is very simple while 480p - 720p source on a 1080p screen takes a lot more processing power.

of cause i'm only talking about the work madVR has to do we are in the madVR thread.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 08:31   #27727  |  Link
vivan
/人 ◕ ‿‿ ◕ 人\
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Russia
Posts: 643
Quote:
Originally Posted by MysteryX View Post
While playing a 1080p video on 768p screen, I'm getting these rendering times with chroma upscaling
Jinc 3-taps AR: 7.7ms
Jinc 4-taps AR: 18ms
NNEDI3 32 neurons: 7.6ms
NNEDI3 256 neurons: 7.7ms

I have a Radeon HD 7660M on Windows 7 x64

So basically the highest settings I can have to play 1080p on 768p display with SVP + madVR still leaves half of my video card unused (as I can go up to 16ms rendering time)
It means that NNEDI is not used for some reason. It's way slower than Jinc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
the only way to use nnedi3 with a 1080p source on a 786p is through chroma scaling same with jincs.
and this is exactly what he's trying to do
Quote:
Originally Posted by MysteryX View Post
While playing a 1080p video on 768p screen, I'm getting these rendering times with chroma upscaling
vivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 12:36   #27728  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 942
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
madVR v0.87.11 released

http://madshi.net/madVR.zip

Code:
* fixed: AR downscaling after NNEDI3 luma only upscaling produced artifacts
* fixed: madTPG API "madVR_ConnectToIp(127.0.0.1)" sometimes didn't work
* madTPG: added API "Connect" with various options
* madTPG: added API "Quit" to close the connected madTPG instance
* madTPG: added APIs "Get/SetPatternConfig" & "ShowRGBEx"
* madTPG: added APIs "IsStayOnTopButtonPressed" & "SetStayOnTopButton"
* madTPG: added APIs "IsUseFullscreenButtonPressed" & "SetUseFullscreenButton"
* madTPG: added APIs "IsDisableOsdButtonPressed" & "SetDisableOsdButton"
* madTPG: added various new 3dlut conversion and loading APIs
* madTPG: added IP address information to title bar
Please don't get too excited. This is just one NNEDI3 related bugfix, and a big bunch of improvements for madTPG calibration.

Those of you interested in calibration: The latest Calman version now fully supports automated display calibration through madTPG - yey! Thanks to Manni (@AVSForum) for pushing and pushing at various places to make this work. And thanks to SpectraCal/Calman for being the first commercial calibration software company supporting madTPG!
You're welcome and thanks again for making this happen, it's really great news for enthusiasts using MadVR and Calman to calibrate .
I'm sure others will follow now that Spectracal has jumped in
__________________
Win11 Pro x64 b23H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 24Gb 551.33
madVR/LAV/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500HA>HD Fury VRRoom>TCL 55C805K
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 13:53   #27729  |  Link
fluffy01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 52
What editions of Calman does one need to use madTPG?
I have a Calman Basic edition, and I am wondering if this is enough, or I would need to upgrade to a more expensive edition.
fluffy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 15:31   #27730  |  Link
iSunrise
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 496
Quote:
Originally Posted by fluffy01 View Post
What editions of Calman does one need to use madTPG?
I have a Calman Basic edition, and I am wondering if this is enough, or I would need to upgrade to a more expensive edition.
It's in the release notes:
http://calman.spectracal.com/release...ome-video.html

- Added support for madVR 3D LUTs and madVR TPG in CalMAN Enthusiast.
iSunrise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 20:11   #27731  |  Link
xabregas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by vivan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by MysteryX View Post
While playing a 1080p video on 768p screen, I'm getting these rendering times with chroma upscaling
Jinc 3-taps AR: 7.7ms
Jinc 4-taps AR: 18ms
NNEDI3 32 neurons: 7.6ms
NNEDI3 256 neurons: 7.7ms

I have a Radeon HD 7660M on Windows 7 x64

So basically the highest settings I can have to play 1080p on 768p display with SVP + madVR still leaves half of my video card unused (as I can go up to 16ms rendering time)

It means that NNEDI is not used for some reason. It's way slower than Jinc.

and this is exactly what he's trying to do
He means the opposite, it seems that jinc 4 taps AR is way slower than NNEDI3 256 neurons in his machine...

The reason may be that NNEDI3 dont use extra AR feature, thats whats slowing your machine in Jinc 4 AR i suppose
xabregas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 21:19   #27732  |  Link
cyberbeing
Broadband Junkie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,859
Quote:
Originally Posted by xabregas View Post
He means the opposite, it seems that jinc 4 taps AR is way slower than NNEDI3 256 neurons in his machine...
That's not what his results show though. vivan is correct that NNEDI3 is not being used on MysteryX's system. Since his results are identical, it means OpenCL is broken and madVR is silently falling back to a different upscaling setting. NNEDI3 chroma upscaling is relatively expensive on 1080p video, so there is no way he could have render times less than 8ms on a AMD 7660M even with NNEDI3-32.
cyberbeing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 21:20   #27733  |  Link
vivan
/人 ◕ ‿‿ ◕ 人\
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Russia
Posts: 643
Quote:
Originally Posted by xabregas View Post
He means the opposite, it seems that jinc 4 taps AR is way slower than NNEDI3 256 neurons in his machine...

The reason may be that NNEDI3 dont use extra AR feature, thats whats slowing your machine in Jinc 4 AR i suppose
You just never seen NNEDI actually working Even with 16 neurons it's slower than Jinc8 AR. And 256 will rape even top GPUs.
vivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 22:15   #27734  |  Link
DigitalLF
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 120
MadShi:

Hello! i really love MadVR it just gets better and better! but one thing is missing! a seekbar inside the picture area like in a 2.35:1 movie. Why i wonder is because i'm about to order a 2.40:1 screen!
__________________
Gigabyte G1.Sniper Z87, I7 4770K (3.5ghz), Gigabyte Radeon 280x, Win8.1 x64, ATI 15.7.1, MPC-HC BE 1.4.6 1478, MadVR v0.90.21, LAV Filters 0.68.1,
XySubFilter 3.1.0.746
DigitalLF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2014, 05:15   #27735  |  Link
MysteryX
Soul Architect
 
MysteryX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by vivan View Post
You just never seen NNEDI actually working Even with 16 neurons it's slower than Jinc8 AR. And 256 will rape even top GPUs.
OK NNEDI3 definitely isn't working. I tested with a 288p video by enabling/disabling frame quadrupling with all 4 options to 256 neurons, and rendering time is exactly the same.

For chroma upscaling, it is probably silently falling back to Jinc 3-taps AR since rendering times are the same.

Still... I'm pretty such there is a slight quality increase, unless it's a psychological effect.

Last edited by MysteryX; 24th June 2015 at 06:36.
MysteryX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2014, 09:03   #27736  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by MysteryX View Post
OK NNEDI3 definitely isn't working. I tested with a 288p video by enabling/disabling frame quadrupling with all 4 options to 256 neurons, and rendering time is exactly the same.

For chroma upscaling, it is probably silently falling back to Jinc 3-taps AR since rendering times are the same.

Still... I'm pretty such there is a slight quality increase, unless it's a psychological effect.
it's not used it is really really power demanding.

there has to be a reason why openCL doesn't work on your system.

a 7660m can use openCL that why I miss judge the situation and guess you where trying to use image double because the rendertimes didn't changed. there is simply no reason madVR wouldn't use it for chroma.

if you haven't tried it yet install new driver. and what OS are you using right now?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2014, 02:53   #27737  |  Link
MysteryX
Soul Architect
 
MysteryX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
it's not used it is really really power demanding.

there has to be a reason why openCL doesn't work on your system.

a 7660m can use openCL that why I miss judge the situation and guess you where trying to use image double because the rendertimes didn't changed. there is simply no reason madVR wouldn't use it for chroma.

if you haven't tried it yet install new driver. and what OS are you using right now?
OpenCL is working. SVP is using it.

I'm using Windows 7 64-bits. Radeon HD 7660M.

As for drivers, I'm using LeeKM's modded driver v14.200. It's more stable and faster than any other driver I've tried. Unfortunately, as far as I know, none of LeeKM's more recent drivers support this graphic card. The latest Samsung-approved dual-graphics driver is very old with much lower performance, and although installing the latest driver directly from AMD works for my system, it doesn't work better than this version so I always end up reverting back to this one.

Last edited by MysteryX; 24th June 2015 at 06:36.
MysteryX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2014, 04:05   #27738  |  Link
MysteryX
Soul Architect
 
MysteryX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,559
I just updated to the latest AMD drivers: 14.11.2 Beta (I'm surprised those are working out of the box on a dual-graphics system, but somehow it does)

NNEDI3 still doesn't work.

Last edited by MysteryX; 24th June 2015 at 06:34.
MysteryX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2014, 04:36   #27739  |  Link
MysteryX
Soul Architect
 
MysteryX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,559
With this latest driver, I still get tons of dropped frames on a 1080p TV with a rendering time of 7ms. However... only 1080p videos on 1080p display. 720p videos play fine with 15ms rendering time.

Last edited by MysteryX; 24th June 2015 at 06:34.
MysteryX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2014, 04:44   #27740  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by MysteryX View Post
With this latest driver, I still get tons of dropped frames on a 1080p TV with a rendering time of 7ms
please make a screen shoot with the madVR osd.

Last edited by huhn; 5th December 2014 at 04:53.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.