Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th September 2008, 22:49   #1441  |  Link
Yoshiyuki Blade
Novice x264 User
 
Yoshiyuki Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: California
Posts: 169
Hmm... FAQ above the one I mentioned in my last post has me a bit concerned:

Quote:
Q. What is new in GeForce 8400, GeForce 8500 and GeForce 8600 GPU video processors?
These GPUs feature a new video engine that includes a bitstream processor (BSP) and an improved programmable video processor (VP).
Are they referring to VP2? If so, the early generation 8 series cards won't be capable of this technology.
__________________
"I'll take a potato chip... and eat it!"
Yoshiyuki Blade is offline  
Old 12th September 2008, 06:23   #1442  |  Link
nm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoshiyuki Blade View Post
Are they referring to VP2? If so, the early generation 8 series cards won't be capable of this technology.
Yes. See this table for GeForce 8 cards that have/don't have VP2: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compari...its#Features_3

Last edited by nm; 12th September 2008 at 06:26.
nm is offline  
Old 12th September 2008, 06:31   #1443  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
I think the decode will still work on VP1, though not as efficiently.
Guest is offline  
Old 12th September 2008, 06:44   #1444  |  Link
squid_80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne, AU
Posts: 1,963
Doesn't the CUDA video decoder need compute capability 1.1?
squid_80 is offline  
Old 12th September 2008, 09:28   #1445  |  Link
canTsTop
Registered User
 
canTsTop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by canTsTop View Post
4. Can be done something for preventing audio/video synchronization lost and DGAVCDecode crash for TS recordings with errors? Here is sample http://www.mediafire.com/?7wohntw2ijw
When i play it with MPC+ffdshow it shows corrupted frames (i don't mind it) but wont crash and audio/video synchronization is back after errors.
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
The crashing I can mitigate with a try/except block. I'll put that on the to-do list. The sync issues are more difficult. The reason MPC can do it is because MPC still has the timestamps in the stream. But when you demux you lose them. It's better I think to preprocess the stream with a tool such as ProjectX. I may write one.
Crazy idea. Is it possible to add future then saving project to decode audio to wav with correct time stamps so it matches video?
canTsTop is offline  
Old 12th September 2008, 12:20   #1446  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Sorry, but I can't follow your point, as your English appears malformed.
Guest is offline  
Old 12th September 2008, 14:19   #1447  |  Link
canTsTop
Registered User
 
canTsTop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 120
Sorry for bad English... I meant: is it possible to decode audio using timestamps in TS file so audio and video be in sync. Like MPC synchronize audio after errors, to decode this synchronized version of audio. Probably its crazy idea...
canTsTop is offline  
Old 12th September 2008, 14:28   #1448  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
I'm not thrilled about the idea of doing audio decoding in DGAVCIndex. I have on my to-do list insertion/deletion of audio to demux a zero-delay stream, but it's not high on my priority list. And it would be for the start of the stream only. I think error correction for corrupted streams belongs in a separate application.
Guest is offline  
Old 12th September 2008, 14:31   #1449  |  Link
Schmendrick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 91
@canTsTop: What ProjectX does with Mpeg2Ts-streams is that it fills up missing or faulty video and audio frames, shifts the audio relative to the video to keep synchronity when both streams are demuxed, thus loose their time stamps and then are remuxed again. If at random frames in the original streams are missing or faulty then the desynchonization becomes unrepairable. If you keep the time stamps a proper decoder can resynchronize video and audio.

As long as you have faulty clips the streams should always be retained at least within their Programme Elementary Stream container.

Another problem is that the video frames in e.g. satellite H.264-streams are not transmitted in the order as the clip has been made, but rather in the order how the stream has been encoded. According to the time stamps I have found e.g. the following frame order within such a video stream: 7, 8, 3, 4, 1, 2, 5, 6, 15, 16, 11, 12, 9, 10, 13, 14, 23, 24, 19, 20, 17, 18, 21, 22,..... The audio stream is usually laging behind the video by up to one second.
To be able to properly synchronously cut such streams even if they are error free you would have to reorder the frames and shift the audio packets relatively to the video packets to be able to do a cut properly. The begining in front of an I-frame and the end after an I-frame or a P-frame.

Schmendrick

Last edited by Schmendrick; 12th September 2008 at 14:38.
Schmendrick is offline  
Old 15th September 2008, 07:26   #1450  |  Link
LOGiC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 121
@all,

are there any known problems with the Indexing of bigger AVC/H264 files ? I tried to index a 1080p 8GB file, but when trying to load the indexed file into meGUI, it just gave me a green screen and no picture, but it works fine with i.e. 4,5GB 720 files. Any ideas ?

Thanks in advance.
LOGiC is offline  
Old 15th September 2008, 11:18   #1451  |  Link
Ranguvar
Registered User
 
Ranguvar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: ::1
Posts: 1,236
I've indexed 1080p files over 15GB, so no.

Bad stream? Try muxing to M2TS/demuxing. If it still won't go, chop a sample, test, and send it in.
Ranguvar is offline  
Old 15th September 2008, 15:33   #1452  |  Link
rebkell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 303
I don't know if this has already been addressed, but on the CLI version, if you leave the dga off of the output file, it will crash, and if you put the .dga extension on the output file, then when demuxing the audio, it will include the .dga as part of the demuxed audio aka
Eureka0102.dga PID 1100 DELAY -39ms.aac

this is on 100a35, it's no big problem, just inconsistent with the gui version, which doesn't put the dga in the demuxed audio file.

It will actually index the file and create the output dga file, without an extension, but I guess it crashes on the audio file, it doesn't create one at all.

Edit: Ok, it does create the audio file when you leave off the dga extension, but it crashes on completion.

Last edited by rebkell; 15th September 2008 at 15:41.
rebkell is offline  
Old 19th September 2008, 02:07   #1453  |  Link
Ranguvar
Registered User
 
Ranguvar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: ::1
Posts: 1,236
Bug report, though I doubt you'll be able to replicate it, since it was random... I've used DGAVCIndex a lot today, and when I opened it this time, I couldn't see it, though it was on the taskbar. Hmm. Odd. What was really odd is that in WinFlip (fancy graphical Alt+Tab like Vista), I could see the window.

I downloaded DGAVCIndex again, ran the new one, and it worked. So, I checked my INI file, as that was the only difference between the two. Lo and behold - my window position was set to -3200,-3200. Changed it to 100,100, as it was in the default INI, and now it works.

Again, doubt you'll be able to replicate/fix, and it may have been on my end, but I'll post this for anyone else if they run across the problem.
Ranguvar is offline  
Old 19th September 2008, 02:22   #1454  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
It happened to me once, too. I couldn't repeat it and the code looks OK so I never bothered about it.

Last edited by Guest; 19th September 2008 at 02:27.
Guest is offline  
Old 19th September 2008, 04:36   #1455  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
@Ranguvar: I think the issue has to do with the ini file. I had this same problem as well, but as soon as I closed the application and deleted my ini to have it regenerated, it worked perfectly fine.

I should note, neuron2, that this problem exists in DGAVCIndexNV too.
__________________
You can't call your encoding speed slow until you start measuring in seconds per frame.
Sagekilla is offline  
Old 19th September 2008, 12:14   #1456  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagekilla View Post
I should note, neuron2, that this problem exists in DGAVCIndexNV too.
Same code for INI file handling. What we need to fix it is a procedure for making it happen. I could also add a sanity check on the values when loading the INI file.
Guest is offline  
Old 19th September 2008, 12:28   #1457  |  Link
krieger2005
Registered User
 
krieger2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 377
The main question for me is where these numbers (-3200) came from. I mean, if DGAVCIndex write them into the ini-file it should get them from somewhere. Maybe it is a OS-Problem then? If so, then a so called "sanity check" whould be the best thing. In general i think such a check is usefull when for exaple if someone lower his resolution, so the DGAVCIndex fall out of the monitor-view. Or if someone give his DGAVCIndex zipped to his friend with different Monitor-Resolution.
krieger2005 is offline  
Old 19th September 2008, 12:40   #1458  |  Link
squid_80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne, AU
Posts: 1,963
Don't break my secondary monitor (whose co-ordinates range from {-1280,0} to {0, 1024}). However do feel free to swear at MS for allowing stupid desktop geometries.
squid_80 is offline  
Old 19th September 2008, 13:08   #1459  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by krieger2005 View Post
The main question for me is where these numbers (-3200) came from.
GetWindowRect().
Guest is offline  
Old 22nd September 2008, 12:45   #1460  |  Link
medp7060
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 158
I have a ts clip of h.264/aac+. DGAVCDec 1.0.0 Alpha 35 demuxed the audio as AAC LATM/LOAS. Strange thing was PowereDVD could not play the resulted aac audio. However, it played the original ts clip well. Any isea what was wrong?
medp7060 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.