Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VirtualDub, VDubMod & AviDemux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 31st October 2019, 14:35   #921  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 708
About input drivers: see this link https://sourceforge.net/p/vdfiltermod/wiki/direct_copy/
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2019, 17:31   #922  |  Link
TlatoSMD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by shekh View Post
Thanks! Setting it back to standard AVI input in that open file dialogue did the trick.

Okay, so now that VirtualDub2 is fully functional for me, maybe, *MAYBE* its integrated script editor will help me get into AVIsynth for once, after I haven't been able for more than 15 years by now to learn AVIsynth at a sufficicent level to even just open a file.

A clickable GUI and a programming language aka "script" are just so vastly different in approach, plus both Mencoder and AVIsynth always seem to lack *DECADES* behind on their respective documentations, so none of the scripts found in documentation *EVER* work. Plus, AVIsynth and Mencoder aces often seem to have a terrible holier-than-thou attitude, so even if you're trying to contact them for help, in 9 cases out of 10 they will first ridicule the fact that you're actually trying to use commands from the documentation, and then immediately stop talking to you once they realize you're not using Linux, which basically means you're some lower life form not worth their time.
TlatoSMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2019, 08:57   #923  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,964
Apropos ... the input driver concept seems to be the reason why you can't use VirtualDub2 to e.g. remultiplex MKV to MP4 in Stream Copy mode, correct?
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2019, 14:53   #924  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
Apropos ... the input driver concept seems to be the reason why you can't use VirtualDub2 to e.g. remultiplex MKV to MP4 in Stream Copy mode, correct?
The original idea of input driver in VD was like this:
1) input driver has to split source into packets and that`s all
2) video decoder has to take packets and no other metadata and translate that into frames

I may be missing some details but taking into account ordinary h264 video it is just impossible to implement accurate decoder in that way.
However, if focus is stream copy (decoder is not needed) then such input driver can work (splitting into packets is good enough).
At the same time the decoding phase is only good as preview - it is NEVER frame accurate.
This is how original AVI driver works, and also FCCHandler' matroska driver and quicktime driver.

Another approach was ffmpeg input driver - initially developed by FCCHandler according to some history of changes.
The idea with ffmpeg was to ignore packets altogether and deliver correct decoded frames right away (I think so, or maybe the idea was lost between changes).

What is blocking simultaneous support for copy and decode with ffmpeg? The core feature is being able to translate from packets to frames and back (timestamps also would be great): ffmpeg lacks this.
Current "caching input driver" has stretched this in some ways: it does switch to direct mode when packet-frame translation is trivial, this is the case with keyframe-only formats. Doing more than that needs more time and passion.

Why avidemux can work? It uses ffmpeg with some patches applied and afaik some custom made demuxers as well. Might be as good idea to either borrow his work or fix ffmpeg myself, both ways are not simple and stay in my internal 'todo' few years.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2019, 11:09   #925  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 1,764
Hi.
Check here.
__________________
My github.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2019, 18:56   #926  |  Link
nji
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 55
Curve editor doesn't show correct frame number when inserting frames (Bug?)

Scenario:
Open a movie
Select a frame
Insert it (say 5 times)
Insert a filter (apply opacity curve)

=> In "curve editor" frame numbers at positions after insert positions
doesn't correspond to having inserted frames
(Still has the original ones (= -5)).

Bug?
nji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2019, 00:37   #927  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 708
Welcome to the world of VirtualDub timeline coordinates. It has everything of: mistakes, confusing design, unfinished work.
Basic rule of thumb is: everything you do in timeline control (insert, delete, move parts, select range) happens after filters. Curve points are in filters coordinates (or maybe even source?) hard to tell exactly because it does not work as explained in the documantation.
Also before I realized that timeline edits transform already filtered sequence I attempted to specify time positions in final (post-edit) coordinates and this made the situation even worse.

Good idea: never use both curves and timeline edits (except select range) in the same process. Also maybe don't combine any of that with time-scaling filters (deinterlace, interpolate, delete frames etc).
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2019, 10:30   #928  |  Link
nji
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 55
Phew!

This is really a BAD surprise.

First the filters, then the timeline manipulation?
But shouldn't it be just the other way round?

And not being allowed to "mix" both "operations" is like
to forbid the basic operation on movie manipulation...

???

Last edited by nji; 29th November 2019 at 11:06. Reason: Completly rewrite
nji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 12:55   #929  |  Link
jdawn1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 6
Is it possible to direct stream copy AAC audio?
IM using Vdub 2 to re-encode 4k video shot on my phone which is H264 120mbit using x265.

I was using handbrake ,but for some reason handbrake messes up contrast and colors, whereas vdub gets it perfect. This is without any filters.
I get way better results from vdub, for some reason handbrake is causing remapping of colors or something.

But when I direct stream copy the audio the only option on save video is WAV format, and it doesn't work anyhow.
jdawn1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 00:19   #930  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdawn1 View Post
Is it possible to direct stream copy AAC audio?
IM using Vdub 2 to re-encode 4k video shot on my phone which is H264 120mbit using x265.

I was using handbrake ,but for some reason handbrake messes up contrast and colors, whereas vdub gets it perfect. This is without any filters.
I get way better results from vdub, for some reason handbrake is causing remapping of colors or something.

But when I direct stream copy the audio the only option on save video is WAV format, and it doesn't work anyhow.
Short answer: not possible (with different input driver for audio it may work or lead to other problems).
You can re-compress as AAC, select "Audio: Full processing mode" and then choose compression.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 06:19   #931  |  Link
jdawn1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 6
Thanks for the answer.
I did more testing on handbrake vs vdub with x265.
with the same settings, I get 0.37fps on vdub and 0.21fps on handbrake (VerySlow, 10 bit, 25 crf)
vdub matches the colors and contrast so the output is superior. The file size is also about 15% smaller.

The results are even worse when resizing to 2560 from 3840, both use Lanczos 3
handbrake: 0.45fps, terrible contrast lost, 17.7MB
vdub: 0.82fps, matching contrast and colors perfectly, 15.9MB

Hopefully vdub can do batch of input folders like handbrake!
jdawn1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.