Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th April 2006, 15:05   #41  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,175
You don't need this filter for DVDs. Or at least, I've never seen a DVD without some film grain, and almost always lots of it, and it slows playback WAY down.

As for why it crashes, it's really hard to say since there's no error message.
__________________
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order. ~ Ed Howdershelt
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2006, 23:34   #42  |  Link
Alain2
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 236
Corrected version:
Code:
Function gradfunkmirror( clip c, int "strength" )
{
	strength	=	default( strength, 1.2 )
	w			=	c.width()
	h			=	c.height()
	vflip		=	c.FlipVertical()
	hflip		=	c.FlipHorizontal()
	
	stackhorizontal( hflip.crop( w-16, 0, 16, h ).addborders( 0, 16, 0, 16 ),
	\	stackvertical( vflip.crop( 0, h-16, w, 16 ), c, vflip.crop( 0, 0, w, 16 ) ),
	\	hflip.crop( 0, 0, 16, h ).addborders( 0, 16, 0, 16 ) )
	gradfun2db( strength )
	crop( 16, 16, -16, -16 )

	Return last
}
It does work realtime on my computer (xp3700+), but takes a bit more cpu (mpc+gradfun2db = ~13%, mpc+gradfunkmirror=~25%)

Last edited by Alain2; 11th April 2006 at 23:37.
Alain2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2006, 23:52   #43  |  Link
DeathWolf
Registered User
 
DeathWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: France
Posts: 85
isnt that the same though?
it does look proper on my original script iirc
from h-16 to 0 or starting from h-16 with a 16 offset is the same
at least it was in the quick test i just did

Last edited by DeathWolf; 12th April 2006 at 00:00.
DeathWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2006, 01:55   #44  |  Link
Alain2
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 236
I think you should have put -0 if you wanted to get the same than (h-16)->+16, but i may be wrong
Alain2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2006, 03:04   #45  |  Link
Jeremy Duncan
Didée Fan
 
Jeremy Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,079
##Standard gradfunk
function gradfunk(clip c, int strength) {
strength=default(strength,1.2)
return c.addborders(16,16,16,16).gradfun2db(strength).crop(16,16,-16,-16)
}
##Corners will be ignored
function gradfunkmirror(clip c, int strength) {
strength=default(strength,1.2)
vflip = c.FlipVertical()
hflip = c.FlipHorizontal()
return stackhorizontal(hflip.crop(c.width-16,0,16,c.height).addborders(0,16,0,16),stackvertical(vflip.crop(0,c.height-16,c.width,16),c,vflip.crop(0,0,c.width,16)),hflip.crop(0,0,16,c.height).addborders(0,16,0,16)).gradfun2db(strength).crop(16,16,-16,-16)
}


Above the picture is what I'm using.
The picture shows the problem I'm having.
It also shows my ffdshow avisynth setting, and the file.

What am I doing wrong ?
Jeremy Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2006, 03:11   #46  |  Link
Jeremy Duncan
Didée Fan
 
Jeremy Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alain2
I think you should have put -0 if you wanted to get the same than (h-16)->+16, but i may be wrong
Are you talking about here ?
(vflip.crop(0,c.height-16,c.width,16)
Jeremy Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2006, 16:08   #47  |  Link
Xicor
Zoboomafoo
 
Xicor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 36
Your script might be called "script.avs.txt" instead of the correct "script.avs".
__________________
Get Yer Ya Ya's Out!
Xicor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2006, 22:57   #48  |  Link
Alain2
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Duncan
Are you talking about here ?
(vflip.crop(0,c.height-16,c.width,16)
The function you posted is incorporating the correction I made, but original DeathWolf's function contains:
vflip.crop(0,c.height-16,c.width,0)

It is this zero I was talking about.

Oh btw in the function you have you started with
function gradfunkmirror(clip c, int strength)

but then in ffdshow you don't specify a strength... You should write the header as i did (Function gradfunkmirror( clip c, int "strength" )) if you want to be able to omit the strength parameter when calling the function

Last edited by Alain2; 12th April 2006 at 23:02.
Alain2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2006, 03:27   #49  |  Link
Jeremy Duncan
Didée Fan
 
Jeremy Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,079


Same script I posted before with the other picture.
Jeremy Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2006, 03:30   #50  |  Link
Jeremy Duncan
Didée Fan
 
Jeremy Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,079
Here's my setup so you can try it.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...13#post7476913

Last edited by Jeremy Duncan; 13th April 2006 at 10:48.
Jeremy Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2006, 04:54   #51  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,175
you want "strength" not strength. If it's unquoted it becomes a required argument.
__________________
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order. ~ Ed Howdershelt
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2006, 05:41   #52  |  Link
Jeremy Duncan
Didée Fan
 
Jeremy Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,079
"strength" creates a error.

Last edited by Jeremy Duncan; 30th April 2006 at 05:06.
Jeremy Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2006, 11:36   #53  |  Link
Soulhunter
Bored...
 
Soulhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,812
GrandFun in FFDShow



Bye
__________________

Visit my IRC channel
Soulhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2006, 02:34   #54  |  Link
hartford
Registered User
 
hartford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 324
I tried this filter using defaults, ie, "gradfun2db()"

The result was a very screwed-up frame:

http://img56.imageshack.us/my.php?image=gradfun7hz.png
hartford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2006, 02:39   #55  |  Link
hartford
Registered User
 
hartford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 324
Nevermind, _I_ screwed-up; input must be YV12.
hartford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2006, 15:36   #56  |  Link
adrianmak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 127
it is for playback ? instead of using in video encoding e.g. dvd -> xvid/divx
adrianmak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2006, 15:59   #57  |  Link
Daodan
unrecognized user
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: home of Stella Artois
Posts: 303
I think the original purpose was for encoding (?). But since basically the crappy 12 bit color after encoding the bending will appear there again (a bit less though I would say). But it acts also as a spatial denoiser a bit so it can have some uses in the encoding process, but his great strength is at playback.
__________________
zzz
Daodan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2006, 13:26   #58  |  Link
Leak
ffdshow/AviSynth wrangler
 
Leak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austria
Posts: 2,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daodan
I think the original purpose was for encoding (?). But since basically the crappy 12 bit color after encoding the bending will appear there again
What 12 bit color are you talking about? YV12 uses a whopping 8 bit per channel...

np: New Order - Hey Now What You Doing (Waiting For The Sirens' Call)
__________________
now playing: [artist] - [track] ([album])
Leak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2006, 17:20   #59  |  Link
Soulhunter
Bored...
 
Soulhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,812
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leak
YV12 uses a whopping 8 bit per channel...
Dont you mean normal [non subsampled] YUV? >.>


Bye
__________________

Visit my IRC channel
Soulhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2006, 17:54   #60  |  Link
scharfis_brain
brainless
 
scharfis_brain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,605
every YUV colourspace supported by AVS has 8 bits/channel.

but due to subsampling the average amount of data is 12 bits/pixel. But this doesn't say anything about bits/channel!
__________________
Don't forget the 'c'!

Don't PM me for technical support, please.
scharfis_brain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.