Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th March 2006, 01:43   #21  |  Link
Soulhunter
Bored...
 
Soulhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,812
@ dbzgundam

Thanks! But Im not the author, I just posts for him...


@ Didée

Already wrote a requested to milan...


Bye
__________________

Visit my IRC channel
Soulhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2006, 07:27   #22  |  Link
DeathWolf
Registered User
 
DeathWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: France
Posts: 85
for those that need an alternate url for the 1.0(since sendspace is inneficient):

gradfun2db-v1.0.zip
DeathWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2006, 16:41   #23  |  Link
Scarfac3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Israel
Posts: 30
Thanks DeathWolf ^^
Scarfac3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2006, 02:50   #24  |  Link
Inc
Squeeze it!
 
Inc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 472
I also know this banding fiasko from Photoshop.
Exactly on those smooth gradients where Image contrast/saturation manipulations where done on 8bit/channel RGB images instead on 16bit/channel.

So if you want to also use it as preprocessor, after the postprocessing do apply a "minimal" touch of noise spray on such areas. Thats why in Photoshop in the gradient tool the option "dither" exists.

Last edited by Inc; 19th March 2006 at 03:56.
Inc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2006, 01:53   #25  |  Link
mla0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
is there a documentation for this? or at least something that would tell the required things for this filter to work?
mla0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2006, 02:34   #26  |  Link
DeathWolf
Registered User
 
DeathWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: France
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by mla0
is there a documentation for this? or at least something that would tell the required things for this filter to work?
It's made to be used in the avisynth section of ffdshow.
Go in there and just write grad2funb() after placing the filter in the avisynth plugins directory and it should auto-apply.
Technically you could use it normally in avisynth too but the effects get cancelled by any typical compressions. It's made to be used when viewing(and is optimized for speed in that optic)
DeathWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2006, 10:52   #27  |  Link
Alain2
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathWolf
Technically you could use it normally in avisynth too but the effects get cancelled by any typical compressions.
Is this for sure? (Meaning is the effect completely canceled when encoding in yv12 in x264 for instance?)

Foxyshadis said in his thread we could replace the last addgrain of his deband script with this GradFun2db...
Alain2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2006, 11:12   #28  |  Link
Soulhunter
Bored...
 
Soulhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,812
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alain2
Is this for sure? (Meaning is the effect completely canceled when encoding in yv12 in x264 for instance?)
Yes, quantization (destroys the fine +/-1 differences) + in-loop filtering (smoothing) = banding!


Bye
__________________

Visit my IRC channel
Soulhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2006, 11:46   #29  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,175
It's only for high bitrate matrices, where such fine details would be kept, not for normal compression where it gets eaten for lunch. It makes some noticeable difference at mid-high bitrates but it's not really good until exorborantly high. Or at playback, of course. (At the time I thought it was more of a dither+grain filter, but it's dither-only.) Since I'm not working on that show now, I haven't had the incentive to improve the last step of the filter (which I think is quite suboptimal).

Really, YV16/YV24 is the only way to truly remove visible banding in encodes. (If lavc could decode to YV24 and convert straight to RGB that would be awesome.)
__________________
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order. ~ Ed Howdershelt
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2006, 01:41   #30  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,950
Something is strange it looks like the filter misses regions of the right and left side btw overused you get a really nice (Dream Effect)
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2006, 08:10   #31  |  Link
Didée
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,390
True. Try gradfun2db(str=255) to "see" how&where it processes, and where not.
__________________
- We´re at the beginning of the end of mankind´s childhood -

My little flickr gallery. (Yes indeed, I do have hobbies other than digital video!)
Didée is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2006, 08:46   #32  |  Link
Soulhunter
Bored...
 
Soulhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,812
Yeah, it leaves a 16pix border on each side... :\


Bye
__________________

Visit my IRC channel
Soulhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2006, 09:28   #33  |  Link
Mug Funky
interlace this!
 
Mug Funky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: i'm in ur transfers, addin noise
Posts: 4,547
quick and hacky workaround (hope you like black edges)

Code:
function gradfunk (clip c, float "strength")
{
	strength=default(strength,1.2)
	
	c.addborders(16,16,16,16)
	gradfun2db(strength)
	crop(16,16,-16,-16)
}
btw, this is a very fast filter. perhaps it could form the basis of a rewrite of spatialsoften, which is very very slow in comparison.

[edit]

strength is a float, not an int. d'oh
__________________
sucking the life out of your videos since 2004

Last edited by Mug Funky; 29th March 2006 at 09:35.
Mug Funky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2006, 23:11   #34  |  Link
mimage
Registered User
 
mimage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 118
Thanks a bunch for this filter! It is so awesome and is very helpful for me.

I hope it's ok to ask here.. is there any filter like this for Vdub?
mimage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2006, 04:37   #35  |  Link
Jeremy Duncan
Didée Fan
 
Jeremy Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,079
I tried it a few days ago, and my Celeron M 1.4 Ghz Notebook could not play it without stutter. And I saw a bit of banding still. If only it could be optimized to play on my Notebook.
Jeremy Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2006, 04:39   #36  |  Link
Jeremy Duncan
Didée Fan
 
Jeremy Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mug Funky
{
strength=default(strength,1.2)

c.addborders(16,16,16,16)
gradfun2db(strength)
crop(16,16,-16,-16)
}[/code]
Is this added to the .dll, or in the avisynth section of ffdshow ?
Jeremy Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2006, 05:21   #37  |  Link
Mug Funky
interlace this!
 
Mug Funky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: i'm in ur transfers, addin noise
Posts: 4,547
it goes in your avs script, then you call "gradfunk" instead of "gradfun2b".

actually, it just occured to me that that workaround will not do anything unless you have a very dark frame.

reason - the black on the edges gets blurred exactly 16 pixels, making the first 16 pixels very likely to be over the threshold, and not used. you can confirm this by using it on some grainy footage with a high threshold.

i think edge mirror-ing will make it a lot better, but that might just slow it down such that it's not as useful.
__________________
sucking the life out of your videos since 2004
Mug Funky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2006, 11:43   #38  |  Link
Jeremy Duncan
Didée Fan
 
Jeremy Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mug Funky
it goes in your avs script, then you call "gradfunk" instead of "gradfun2b".
Can somebody Please post the notepad script with the changes Mug Funky made.

I want to copy and paste it into a notepad file called gradfunk.avs

Jeremy Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2006, 13:23   #39  |  Link
DeathWolf
Registered User
 
DeathWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: France
Posts: 85
http://kosmos.kawaii-shoujo.net/gradfunk.avsi
there you go

the function to use with mirroring is: gradfunkmirror

Last edited by DeathWolf; 11th April 2006 at 13:34.
DeathWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2006, 14:25   #40  |  Link
Jeremy Duncan
Didée Fan
 
Jeremy Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathWolf
http://kosmos.kawaii-shoujo.net/gradfunk.avsi
there you go

the function to use with mirroring is: gradfunkmirror
This is what I'm doing. I'm putting this in FFDShow:
Import("G:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\gradfunkmirror.avs")

And opening Media Player Classic to play X-men 2.
As soon as I open Media player Classic and open the dvd, it closes.

And I doing it right ?

Jeremy Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.