Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th May 2016, 13:37   #38181  |  Link
Uoppi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by QBhd View Post
It should just be an odd occurrence. If most of what you are watching is wrong levels, then maybe you have the wrong setup...

QB
Don't know what could be wrong with the setup. Black levels are calibrated OK and it's just this specific washed-out encode.

Anyway, shoud be easy to test with DSplayer and keyboard command CTRL + SHIFT + ALT + i. Wondering if it works for someone else.
Uoppi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2016, 13:41   #38182  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by StinDaWg View Post
I have an odd but very specific bug to report. Using the latest AMD drivers (5/23 I believe), madVR v0.90.20, and HD7750.

When playing back 1080i content (either regular or film deinterlacing, doesn't matter), I get 1 line pixel flickering around all 4 borders, unless "use a separate device for presentation" is checked. This only affects D3D9 exclusive mode. Windowed and D3D11 are fine.
do you have a sample?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2016, 15:38   #38183  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Is the "cleanup image borders by cropping" option not a good solution? It is probably meant to clean up faded or distorted edges of analogue captures but it could work well here too?
It does but manually only so ideally I'd like to remux MKV music videos out of those big captured TS files and tag them accordingly in order to hide all borders/logos leftovers once and for all.

Anyway, my long delay when closing PotP or changing the frame rate in Reclock was due to some sloppy USB audio drivers from CEntrance and strangely it was still hiccuping when the DAC was disconnected, it really only stopped acting up after I uninstalled them.

Also, ever since I upgraded from mVR .19 to .20 I found the picture too sharp, I just did some A/B comparisons on very sharp and realistic looking 1080p30 content and as much as toggling the new deringer in .19 outrageously improves the picture as if it was cleaning fog from the camera optics .20 looks way oversharp and digital. I'll try to find some test patterns if need be, I'll stick to .19 for now.

Last edited by leeperry; 27th May 2016 at 15:41.
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2016, 17:52   #38184  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
madshi, would you be so kind as to provide a full explanation about the video and audio clock calculations?

I know the refresh rate is displaying the refresh rate after deviation is taken into account, so if one knows the exact timings he used, he can get to the percentage of deviation. Is this right? How do you come up with the value for "display"? Why is it shown as an absolute value instead of a percentage, as it happens for the audio clock?

What about the audio clock deviation? Both audio and video are measured against the system clock, right?

I'm using a GTX 660 with HDMI audio onboard and I'm seeing very similar values in deviation (based on the above assumptions) for both audio and video. Meaning if I input exact timings for the resolutions/refreshes needed I see excellent results when bitstreaming (1 frame drop/repeat every x days or every 18 hours at the worst), which kinda makes sense according to your previous descriptions. If the two clocks (video and audio) deviate by a similar amount, playback is smooth.
I'd just like to understand the process fully.

Thanks so much for your help and for all the work you put in madVR.
Some more info. I'm trying, together with user hannes69 from Kodi forums, to understand exactly the process behind the numbers madVR displays.

Considering you have stated in the past that:

1) "display" shows the refresh rate adjusted for the video clock deviation measured against the system clock

2) "clock deviation" shows the deviation for the audio clock, again measured against the system clock.

I'll make an example of what we found for a 59.940 video content played back with bitstreaming audio at 59.940 display refresh rate.

Display: 59.94174
Clock Deviation: +0.00276%
1 frame drop every 3.17 hours
movie 59.940 fps

audio clock deviation 27.6ppm
video clock deviation: (59.94174 - 59.94) / 59.94 = 29.03ppm
total deviation: video clock dev - audio clock dev = 28.86ppm - 27.6ppm = 1.43ppm

frames in 3.17 hours = (3600 * 59.940) * 3.17 = 684,035.28

1 frame dropped every 684,035.28 frames. Accuracy of 1 / 684,035 = 0.0000014619, that is 1.46ppm (I guess this is well within the margin of error in madVR approximations once it reaches the x.xx hours stage).

The above tells me that you are using the approximation of 59.940 in the internal calculations, and not the 60/1.001 value. Is this correct?
If using the 60/1.001 value we would have:

audio clock deviation 27.6ppm
video clock deviation: (59.94174 - (60/1.001)) / (60/1.001) = 28.03ppm
total deviation: video clock dev - audio clock dev = 28.03ppm - 27.6ppm = 0.43ppm

frames in 3.17 hours = (3600 * (60/1.001)) * 3.17 = 684,035.96

1 frame dropped every 684,036 frames. Accuracy of 1 / 684,036 = 0.0000014619, that is again 1.46ppm

0.43ppm clock difference audio/video seems too low if compared to what drop/repeats at every 3.17 hours indicate, while 1.43 is very similar.
So, are you using 59.940 for internal calculations? Does this hold true for 23.976 as well?

Sorry, I know we are reaching the human limits of geekiness here... but we would really love to fully understand the underlying math

I also can't understand why my clock deviation sits constantly at about 0.00276% at 59.940 refresh rate while going down to 0.00242% at 23.976 refresh rate. It's the audio clock measured against the system clock. Why should display refresh rate influence the deviation? I have been checking and checking but the difference between the two refresh rates stays there... It's audio and video through HDMI on a GTX660, if it matters.

Last edited by ashlar42; 27th May 2016 at 20:36.
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2016, 22:22   #38185  |  Link
Werewolfy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
madVR v0.90.20 released

http://madshi.net/madVR.zip

Code:
* tweaked deringing algorithm some more
* added workaround for weird crash with latest AMD beta drivers
Not much time for madVR this weekend, so only small changes. Feedback about the tweaked deringing algo welcome.
Thanks for the new version, the tweaked deringing algo is definitely better. Much less artifacts and deringing is still very powerful. Ok sometimes it removes some details but a lot less that others deringing algo I've seen so far so it doesn't bother me, I know it won't never be perfect.

The only real artifact that remains is the one I showed you... Do you need a sample of this video?

But I admit I find that the pros of deringing outperform the cons that remain this time
__________________
Windows 8.1 x64 - Intel Core i5-4670K (4.2 GHz) - 8 GB DDR3 - MSI Geforce GTX 1080 8 GB - Sony KD-55A1

Last edited by Werewolfy; 28th May 2016 at 12:00.
Werewolfy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2016, 21:54   #38186  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,462
Houston, we have a problem(that's with .19 BTW):



Seems boiling down to FS(whatever E or W) + SSIM 2D + black bars detection as either going 1D or disabling the latter works fine, here's a MKV sample.

So I captured a big .TS file off DVB-T2 and only this music video in the sample gave that first problem but once I enable doubling they all go bananas like this in FS:



PS: Oh and I wish I could get black bars to never ever appear not even for a few secs as I'm not watching a movie but simply rolling music videos in big .TS captured files, am I missing an option here?

Last edited by leeperry; 28th May 2016 at 22:11.
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2016, 02:22   #38187  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,657
i get the green screen with always - 2x supersampling image doubling + SSIM 2D target resolution 1920x1080p.
crop black boarder doesn't have an effect on this for me.

this doesn't happen with "always - if upscale is needed" only with "always - 2x supersampling". i guess this has something to do with the 1440x1080p 16/9 source that is displayed at 1920x1080p.

i'm doing this in mpc-hc window mode so the resolution is the problem not FS. i'm on UHD.

i'm using madVR 90.20 and 960 gtx 368.22
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2016, 06:55   #38188  |  Link
baii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by StinDaWg View Post
I have an odd but very specific bug to report. Using the latest AMD drivers (5/23 I believe), madVR v0.90.20, and HD7750.

When playing back 1080i content (either regular or film deinterlacing, doesn't matter), I get 1 line pixel flickering around all 4 borders, unless "use a separate device for presentation" is checked. This only affects D3D9 exclusive mode. Windowed and D3D11 are fine.

Edit: It's not just 1080i29.97 videos, it's also doing it on 720p29.97 videos.

Also, NNEDI3 isn't working at all. It just ignores the settings and uses whatever is set for image upscaling (Jinc, Lanczos, ect). Super-XBR works though.
The driver probably broke opencl. I haven't bothered to upgrade to any of the crimson AMD driver , after testing 5-6 versions for almost half year and none of them can just "work".
baii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2016, 08:20   #38189  |  Link
MariaX9
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 27
After some Days of testing, i am now using this Settings.

Processing
- artifact removal: medium/high,
- reduce ringing artifacts, reduce dark halos
everything other is deafult

Sacling algorithms
- Chroma: super-xbr 100 AR, SR 2
- Downscaling: SSIM 2D 100% AR, LL, AB 75%
- Doubling: luma/chroma always 2x, super-xbr AB25
- Upscaling: Jinc, AR
- Refinement: sharpen edges 0.5, crispen edges 1.0, AB 100%, AR, SR 2

I usually watch 480p and 720p Content. The only settings im not sure about, are the Downscaling AB strength and all the Settings at Refinement. May someone has any suggestions?
MariaX9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2016, 00:39   #38190  |  Link
foozoor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 110
This CrossBilateral mpv shader works very well.
https://gist.github.com/igv/a015fc88...1820ad89555637
I hope you will port it inside madVR soon!

Could you bring the one-pass AdaptiveSharpen back into madVR?
https://gist.github.com/igv/8a77e4eb...bb94c1c50c317e
It uses much less gpu and looks pretty good.

Last edited by foozoor; 30th May 2016 at 01:50.
foozoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2016, 10:35   #38191  |  Link
Shiandow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 752
Quote:
Originally Posted by foozoor View Post
This CrossBilateral mpv shader works very well.
https://gist.github.com/igv/a015fc88...1820ad89555637
I hope you will port it inside madVR soon!
Looks like that's pretty much a verbatim copy of the latest version of the Bilateral chroma scaler I wrote. Well, except for the lines referring to the originals. They could have at least mentioned my name somewhere...

Anyway madshi did say he was interested in the new Bilateral scaler, so with any luck there might be a MadVR version soon.

Last edited by Shiandow; 30th May 2016 at 10:38.
Shiandow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2016, 10:36   #38192  |  Link
mzso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 838
Hi!

I don't see it mentioned, but ProgDVB recently added madVR support. (according to the topic search) So if anyone who has a PC tuner wants try or test they can do. (There's a free version)

Formerly I had trouble finding a well working free tuner app that had madVR, which beside the lack of the usual quality improvement you can expect from madVR meant that I got fugly aliasing on downscaling thanks to the crappy Nvidia/AMD drivers and EVR.

MadVR support at first was pretty buggy, with crashes and wrong aspect ratio. Now to the only issue that remains is that for some reason it has a low-res OSD, compared to the HD one with EVR.
mzso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2016, 15:50   #38193  |  Link
jkauff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 431
I don't see anything in the Settings, but I thought I'd ask: is there any way to set the font size of the OSD? The old size was too small, and the new size is too large. I'd like something a little smaller so it fits in the black border area of SD movies on a 1920x1080 display.
jkauff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2016, 16:15   #38194  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkauff View Post
I don't see anything in the Settings, but I thought I'd ask: is there any way to set the font size of the OSD? The old size was too small, and the new size is too large. I'd like something a little smaller so it fits in the black border area of SD movies on a 1920x1080 display.
Currently there is no way to adjust the font for the OSD.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2016, 17:38   #38195  |  Link
e-t172
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 567
madshi: while doing some experiments with 3DLUTs and calibration curves, I've noticed that the "disable GPU gamma ramps" option does absolutely nothing if a 3DLUT with calibration curves built-in is loaded. madVR will always load the calibration from the 3DLUT into the GPU gamma ramps, no matter what. I guess in a way that makes sense (if one generates a 3DLUT with calibration information, it's because one wants it to be loaded), but it's very confusing to have a checkbox that does nothing. How about graying out the checkbox when a 3DLUT that contains calibration information is loaded?

(When using a 3DLUT that does not contain calibration curves - e.g. when not using ArgyllCMS collink -a nor -H options - the "disable GPU gamma ramps" option does what it says on the tin.)

Last edited by e-t172; 30th May 2016 at 17:48.
e-t172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2016, 17:57   #38196  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,657
even with an 3D LUT loaded that ignored this setting it should still be possible to select.

for example you are creating a new 3D LUT. the 3D LUT will be unloaded automaticly but the new 3D LUT can be created with or with out the gamma ramp depending on the setting selected.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2016, 18:00   #38197  |  Link
e-t172
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 567
Yes. That's why I suggested graying out the option if a 3DLUT that contains calibration information is loaded. The checkbox is still useful when a 3DLUT that does not contain calibration information is loaded.

(That said, if you ask me, using 3DLUTs without integrated calibration curves is quite error-prone and seems like a very good way to shoot yourself in the foot by accidentally messing up the gamma ramps, but that's just my opinion.)
e-t172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2016, 19:38   #38198  |  Link
JarrettH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 837
How does a 3D LUT impact performance? I noticed my render times going up and down sharply while using one.
JarrettH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2016, 19:59   #38199  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,657
depends. i had no notable performance issues at 1080p but with UHD a 3D LUT eats my GPU from time to time depending on a lot of settings.

a 3D LUT with SM creates a lot of problem for me. + 100 ms spikes and stuff like that.

the conclusion was that the driver was doing strange things with "rare" colors. nothing has change since this for me. i worked around it with some settings and setting that take 12 ms without a 3D lut.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2016, 20:43   #38200  |  Link
Dlget
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 55
Hi,My RAM is getting full after playing video say for 1hr.
Got 8GB RAM & at starting of player , it's 25%.
But after 1hr it becomes 95%.
Forwarding ,going into fullscreen or out of full screen takes time like forever.
it's like something is loading into RAM but not releasing.

I'm using
madVR 0.90.20
mpcBE 1.4.6
LAV filter 0.68.1
XYSUb filter 3.1.0.746
Sanear AUdio Renderer
__________________
Win 7 Ultimate x64
Core i5 2500K 4.2Ghz,Asus p8z68 v pro gen 3
Corsair 2x4GB DDR3 @1600Mhz
Asus Gtx 960 strix OC
Dlget is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.