Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Yesterday, 15:54   #51061  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by IggySLO View Post
I may have similar issues as the users above me. With regards to HDR, if I "let madvr decide" or "passthrough HDR to the display", I get a white noise image on the TV when I start an HDR-content video. If I then simply restart the playback the video works fine every time. Sometimes it even works on 1st try, but it more often starts with this white noise.

This doesn't happen if I use any of the other options for HDR in madVR, so I'm pretty sure that it's a software issue with madVR and not something in the HDMI chain for example.

I use the latest MPC-HC and madVR. PC > hdmi > AVR > hdmi > TV

Interestingly, this started to happen when I bought a new TV. I previously had a Sony 65X850C which did accept HDR (even though I'm not sure it's even in the spec sheet, but HDR logo did appear if I looked into the picture setup). The new TV is Sony 65A1. BTW, I updated the nvidia drivers, but no change.
If this started to happen when you got a new display, it doesn't necessarily mean madVR is to blame. It treats every display the same way. Perhaps, your display is misinterpreting the color values and metadata it is given? Did you try like the poster above to switch between RGB and YCbCr in the GPU control panel?
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 17:15   #51062  |  Link
d3rd3vil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 73
Any news on passing through dual layer Dolby Vision stuff maybe?
d3rd3vil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 18:31   #51063  |  Link
IggySLO
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
Did you try like the poster above to switch between RGB and YCbCr in the GPU control panel?
Nothing makes any difference sadly, only the hdr settings in madvr. I don't get why I have to click the file twice in order to get it to play normally.
IggySLO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 20:27   #51064  |  Link
Polopretress
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
Was the same GPU driver used in both cases and did you check that the GPU clocks were the same?
Yes. Exactly the same configuration except the update to 1803.
Of course, i had to set the custom modes for custom resolution @23.97602 and @24.00000 due to the fact that the update removes them.
Polopretress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 20:36   #51065  |  Link
hannes69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by d3rd3vil View Post
Any news on passing through dual layer Dolby Vision stuff maybe?
Yes, madshi is working with a team of 10 people exactly on that feature since 3 weeks of course, what else?
hannes69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 21:19   #51066  |  Link
d3rd3vil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 73
Well if no one seems to be able to convert dual to single layer then I thought maybe a passthrough is the only way we got here
d3rd3vil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 00:47   #51067  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,750
Quote:
Originally Posted by d3rd3vil View Post
Any news on passing through dual layer Dolby Vision stuff maybe?
Did you use search? See madshi post anything about it?
If anything happens you'll know, I wouldn't bother bringing it up again otherwise, just let it go.
ryrynz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 01:47   #51068  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 226
I am having issue with the Nv HDR and OS HDR with potplayer windows 1803 . with both of them the HDR color is not correct . it shows white dots artefacts randomly on same locations . changing the Nvidia display settings to YCbCr 422 10 bit works fine also when using the Nv OS mode as long I set the color manually in the NVCP and not default . using 397.93 drivers

Last edited by x7007; Today at 02:00.
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:38   #51069  |  Link
gfxnow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
mpc-hc most likely I think, I'd rate mpc-be as the better player though.
Don't know how they compare but yes at least MPC-BE is being actively developed.
gfxnow is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.