Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th December 2016, 13:14   #1021  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 2,360
https://www.mathworks.com/help/stats/robustfit.html
just in case if anyone's curious about the mathematic definition of each weighting function...
__________________
If I got new ideas, will post here: https://github.com/IFeelBloated
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2016, 13:23   #1022  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khanattila View Post
v0.7.7 wmode=1 -> Welsch
v1.0.0 beta1 wmode=1 (my fault) -> Bisquare
v1.0.0 beta2 wmode=0 -> Welsch
+3/5% bitrate difference from 0.7.7.

I invite other members to test some samples and report here.
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2016, 13:27   #1023  |  Link
WolframRhodium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 111
I find strange stains at the border when using v1.0.0-beta.2, especially when "a" is large.

examples:
http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/193750
Just look at the top border of the filtered image. There are also some stains at the left/right border, but is nearly invisible.

The problems happens on both "channels".

Last edited by WolframRhodium; 14th December 2016 at 13:42.
WolframRhodium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2016, 13:35   #1024  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,526
How is possible to denoise a normal DGDecNV output on both Y and UV? If I left auto, it uses Y only, if I try YUV it tells me

error: KNLMeansCL: 'channels = YUV' require a YV24 pixel format!
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2016, 13:41   #1025  |  Link
Khanattila
Registered User
 
Khanattila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by WolframRhodium View Post
I find strange stains at the border when using v1.0.0-beta.2, especially when "a" is large.

examples:
http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/193750
Just look at the top border of the filtered image. There are also some stains at the left/right border, but is nearly not visible.

The problems happens on both "channels".
I would say that the "Improved denoising image quality around edge" must be fixed
__________________
github.com
Khanattila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2016, 13:56   #1026  |  Link
Khanattila
Registered User
 
Khanattila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by tormento View Post
How is possible to denoise a normal DGDecNV output on both Y and UV? If I left auto, it uses Y only, if I try YUV it tells me

error: KNLMeansCL: 'channels = YUV' require a YV24 pixel format!
As has always been...

a) Processes each channel independently.
b) Process "Y" and "UV" separately.
c) Converting to RGB, processing, and them back to YUV.
d) Other more elaborate methods.
__________________
github.com
Khanattila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2016, 13:58   #1027  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khanattila View Post
I would say that the "Improved denoising image quality around edge" must be fixed
do some padding before the actual process, trivial to fix
__________________
If I got new ideas, will post here: https://github.com/IFeelBloated
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2016, 14:01   #1028  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khanattila View Post
As has always been...

a) Processes each channel independently.
b) Process "Y" and "UV" separately.
c) Converting to RGB, processing, and them back to YUV.
d) Other more elaborate methods.
e) ask kindly the programmer to add the feature
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2016, 14:02   #1029  |  Link
Khanattila
Registered User
 
Khanattila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by feisty2 View Post
do some padding before the actual process, trivial to fix
It would be a step back, and that's what I want to avoid
__________________
github.com
Khanattila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2016, 20:13   #1030  |  Link
real.finder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mesopotamia
Posts: 1,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by tormento View Post
How is possible to denoise a normal DGDecNV output on both Y and UV? If I left auto, it uses Y only, if I try YUV it tells me

error: KNLMeansCL: 'channels = YUV' require a YV24 pixel format!
you can use SMDegrain_prefilters(4) and play with it settings
__________________
See My Avisynth Stuff
real.finder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2016, 14:49   #1031  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by real.finder View Post
you can use SMDegrain_prefilters(4) and play with it settings
I was playing with plain beta before feeding it to SMDegrain.
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2016, 00:32   #1032  |  Link
real.finder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mesopotamia
Posts: 1,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by tormento View Post
I was playing with plain beta before feeding it to SMDegrain.
even so

SMDegrain_prefilters =\\= SMDegrain

with SMDegrain_prefilters(4) you will get only KNLMeansCL output clip, and there is knlm_params to use other KNLMeansCL params

and you can feed that clip in SMDegrain if you want

like this

Code:
knlclip=SMDegrain_prefilters(4, knlm_params=", wmode=0")
SMDegrain(prefilter=knlclip)
__________________
See My Avisynth Stuff
real.finder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2016, 03:04   #1033  |  Link
WolframRhodium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 111
Feature request:
Extra "mask" clip option
For each pixel in the output clip, if the value of corresponding pixel in "mask" is 0 (black), just copy the value from input clip; else, use NLM normally.

Hope this will reduce computation complexity a lot in some cases, althought the can also be achieved by mt_merge(source, KNLMeansCL(source), mask) but that's too slow when there's only few pixels need to be processed

Last edited by WolframRhodium; 16th December 2016 at 05:20.
WolframRhodium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2016, 13:43   #1034  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by real.finder View Post
Code:
knlclip=SMDegrain_prefilters(4, knlm_params=", wmode=0")
SMDegrain(prefilter=knlclip)
WOW! Never noticed SMDegrain_prefilters
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2016, 12:18   #1035  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 2,360
floating point support is corrupted in v1.0 beta2
__________________
If I got new ideas, will post here: https://github.com/IFeelBloated
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2016, 13:11   #1036  |  Link
Khanattila
Registered User
 
Khanattila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by WolframRhodium View Post
Feature request:
Extra "mask" clip option
For each pixel in the output clip, if the value of corresponding pixel in "mask" is 0 (black), just copy the value from input clip; else, use NLM normally.

Hope this will reduce computation complexity a lot in some cases, althought the can also be achieved by mt_merge(source, KNLMeansCL(source), mask) but that's too slow when there's only few pixels need to be processed
It could be interesting.

Quote:
Originally Posted by feisty2 View Post
floating point support is corrupted in v1.0 beta2
What kind of problem? Loss of precision or anything else?
__________________
github.com
Khanattila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2016, 13:42   #1037  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khanattila View Post
It could be interesting.



What kind of problem? Loss of precision or anything else?
an error message bitching about "input format not supported"
__________________
If I got new ideas, will post here: https://github.com/IFeelBloated
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2017, 08:36   #1038  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 2,360
can you fix the floating point support soon?
wanna give that new wmode a shot.
__________________
If I got new ideas, will post here: https://github.com/IFeelBloated
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2017, 17:28   #1039  |  Link
Khanattila
Registered User
 
Khanattila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by feisty2 View Post
can you fix the floating point support soon?
wanna give that new wmode a shot.
Ok, I release the beta.3 in the next days.
__________________
github.com
Khanattila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2017, 21:12   #1040  |  Link
dipje
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 270
@khanattila: What about the results of that 'benchmark only' build you did?

Are you going to put 'optimal' settings inside the plugin based on detected gpu / generation. are or you going to open up parameters like those so we can find our own optimal distribution with the final release?
dipje is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.