Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > DVD2AVI / DGIndex

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th August 2009, 22:32   #81  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
I've got the source cropping implemented but there's an irritating bug that occurs only in the non-debug build. Why is it never the other way around?

Investigating...
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2009, 05:30   #82  |  Link
halsboss
likes to tinker
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: girt by sea
Posts: 635
Thankyou for this marvelous tool, neuron2. May I ask if the GPU does deblocking (eg of interlaced sources) and if so whether you are considering it as a new feature at some point ?

Also, am I right in understanding that it only resizes non-interlaced sources or sources where deinterlacing is specified; ie it does not (yet?) resize interlaced sources ?

Last edited by halsboss; 5th August 2009 at 05:38.
halsboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2009, 12:18   #83  |  Link
Revgen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near LA, California, USA
Posts: 1,545
Resizing works. Though it's slightly slower than avisynth's bilinear resizer.
__________________
Pirate: Now how would you like to die? Would you like to have your head chopped off or be burned at the stake?

Curly: Burned at the stake!

Moe: Why?

Curly: A hot steak is always better than a cold chop.
Revgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2009, 14:40   #84  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by halsboss View Post
Thankyou for this marvelous tool, neuron2. May I ask if the GPU does deblocking (eg of interlaced sources) and if so whether you are considering it as a new feature at some point ?
It's not available in the API.

Quote:
Also, am I right in understanding that it only resizes non-interlaced sources or sources where deinterlacing is specified; ie it does not (yet?) resize interlaced sources ?
You could do a double rate deinterlace and resize and then reinterlace it in your script.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2009, 14:41   #85  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revgen View Post
Resizing works. Though it's slightly slower than avisynth's bilinear resizer.
Are you sure about that? How are you testing that? Nvidia told me it is essentially free. If what you say is true, then there is no point to having this feature. I'll make some tests today.

Last edited by Guest; 5th August 2009 at 15:27.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2009, 16:31   #86  |  Link
Revgen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near LA, California, USA
Posts: 1,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Are you sure about that? How are you testing that? Nvidia told me it is essentially free. If what you say is true, then there is no point to having this feature. I'll make some tests today.
Well Vdub said it was faster.

I downsized the KingKong.mkv (VC1) to 1280x720p from 1920x1080p. It was 60fps with Nvidia and 62fps with avisynths bilinear resizer. Then again, I'm using a less expensive 8400 GS and my PC is a quad-core QX6850 with a 1300mhz bus. I only bought the card for cheap just to use your program since my other one was a 6200.

I also tried mpeg-2 clips. Sometimes avisynth and nvidia were the same or avisynth was at 94fps and Nvidia at 91fps.

Difference isn't that big.
__________________
Pirate: Now how would you like to die? Would you like to have your head chopped off or be burned at the stake?

Curly: Burned at the stake!

Moe: Why?

Curly: A hot steak is always better than a cold chop.

Last edited by Revgen; 5th August 2009 at 16:36.
Revgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2009, 16:35   #87  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
You didn't tell me how you measured the fps!

I did a test by making the script and adding assumefps(2000) at the end and then playing it in VirtualDub and measuring the time taken to play it completely. For the one test I did on an 8500 I got this:

GPU resize: 53 seconds
bilinearresize(): 82 seconds
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2009, 16:37   #88  |  Link
Revgen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near LA, California, USA
Posts: 1,545
^Like I said before, I have a very fast CPU combined with a low-end card. It may just be my circumstances. I used virtualdub.
__________________
Pirate: Now how would you like to die? Would you like to have your head chopped off or be burned at the stake?

Curly: Burned at the stake!

Moe: Why?

Curly: A hot steak is always better than a cold chop.

Last edited by Revgen; 5th August 2009 at 16:39.
Revgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2009, 16:39   #89  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
OK, for the third time, I ask:

How are you measuring the fps?
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2009, 16:39   #90  |  Link
Revgen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near LA, California, USA
Posts: 1,545
^Virtualdub.
__________________
Pirate: Now how would you like to die? Would you like to have your head chopped off or be burned at the stake?

Curly: Burned at the stake!

Moe: Why?

Curly: A hot steak is always better than a cold chop.
Revgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2009, 16:42   #91  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Did you put the big assumefps at the end? May I see the two scripts?
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2009, 17:01   #92  |  Link
Revgen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near LA, California, USA
Posts: 1,545
Okay, just tried the assumefps thing.

Nvidia was 55fps 1 min 20 secs
Avisynth was 63fps. 1 min 10 secs

Basically, it's even worse when I do that.

Keep in the mind the difference between your card and mine

Yours: http://www.nvidia.com/object/geforce_8500.html
Miine: http://www.nvidia.com/object/geforce_8400.html

The memory bandwith is about half what yours has.

NVidia script

Code:
dgsource("King Kong.dgv",resize_w=1280,resize_h=720)
assumefps(2000)
Avisynth script

Code:
dgsource("King Kong.dgv")
bilinearresize(1280,720)
assumefps(2000)
__________________
Pirate: Now how would you like to die? Would you like to have your head chopped off or be burned at the stake?

Curly: Burned at the stake!

Moe: Why?

Curly: A hot steak is always better than a cold chop.

Last edited by Revgen; 6th August 2009 at 00:55.
Revgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2009, 18:29   #93  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revgen View Post
Nvidia was 55fps 1 min 10 secs
Avisynth was 63fps. 1 min 20 secs
Avisynth took 10 seconds longer. Isn't that slower?
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2009, 19:42   #94  |  Link
GZZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 558
Dont know if this is a bug or not (you tell me). If I create a *.dga file, load it up in my avs script. just 2 lines (loadplugin and dgsource) and then start a encoding in x264 (2pass mode). When its encoding (doing 1 pass) I start the avs file in medieplayer classic the image will shutter alot (properly because the gpu is using all its power), but when I close medieplayer classic, my encoding will hang (x264 process goes to 0% cpu) and its not possible to restart the encoding because the CUVIDServer just freeze. DONT try to exit it using the right click on tray icon (you will have to reboot your computer to make it work again, kill it in task manager). Can anyone reproduce all of this ?
GZZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2009, 19:45   #95  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
You cannot invoke multiple instances like that. It is not supported.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2009, 19:50   #96  |  Link
GZZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 558
I just found it, accessing any other AVS file that uses DGDecodeNV.dll doing encoding will kill the CUVIDServer, will multiple instance be allowed or maybe something that will prevent it from freezing, if more then one instance try to access it ?
GZZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2009, 21:31   #97  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
I could possibly throw an error if the server is busy.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2009, 22:39   #98  |  Link
GZZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 558
That would be great, better to get a "Cuda server is busy at the moment" instead of killing an ongoing encoding, just because you execute another avs file that uses DGDecodeNV.
GZZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2009, 00:34   #99  |  Link
halsboss
likes to tinker
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: girt by sea
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
(re deblocking) It's not available in the API.
Darn. Oh well, thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
You could do a double rate deinterlace and resize and then reinterlace it in your script.
OK ! Do you have a hint on avisynth code to reinterlace the resulting TFF PAL 576p50 after the double rate deinterlace and resize ?

edit1: already asked and answered here http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...41#post1110741
Code:
AssumeTFF().SeparateFields().SelectEvery(4, 0, 3).Weave() '-> TFF
AssumeBFF().SeparateFields().SelectEvery(4, 0, 3).Weave() '-> BFF
AssumeTFF().SeparateFields().SelectEvery(4, 1, 2).Weave() '-> BFF
AssumeBFF().SeparateFields().SelectEvery(4, 1, 2).Weave() '-> TFF
edit2: oops, you posted an answer but I only saw it after I posted edit1. Thanks.

Last edited by halsboss; 6th August 2009 at 01:17.
halsboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2009, 00:39   #100  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
OMG, that's been discussed thousands of times:

separatefields()
selectevery(4,0,3)
weave()
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.