Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 7th October 2017, 12:46   #5621  |  Link
Barough
Registered User
 
Barough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 291
x265 v2.5+25-4b95f82c9fb1 (GCC 7.2.0, 32 & 64-bit 8/10/12bit Multilib Windows Binaries)

x265 [info]: HEVC encoder version 2.5+25-4b95f82c9fb1
x265 [info]: build info [Windows][GCC 7.2.0][32/64 bit] 8bit+10bit+12bit
x265 [info]: using cpu capabilities: MMX2 SSE2Fast LZCNT SSSE3 SSE4.2 AVX FMA3 BMI2 AVX2


Code:
https://bitbucket.org/multicoreware/x265/commits/branch/default
Barough is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2017, 17:00   #5622  |  Link
RieGo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 43
hey there. are there any commands to improve multithreading on x265?
i'm running an i9 @ 12/24x3.5ghz i end up with 70-80% cpu usage at most, using presets medium slow slower slowest / main10
it's running at ~5/6fps on a slower 4k encode
or do you think something else is bottlenecking me?
RieGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2017, 17:08   #5623  |  Link
birdie
.
 
birdie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by RieGo View Post
hey there. are there any commands to improve multithreading on x265?
i'm running an i9 @ 12/24x3.5ghz i end up with 70-80% cpu usage at most, using presets medium slow slower slowest / main10
it's running at ~5/6fps on a slower 4k encode
or do you think something else is bottlenecking me?
This has been discussed numerous times already. x265 doesn't scale past a certain number of cores. You either buy and use UHDKit or run several copies of x265 simultaneously.
birdie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2017, 17:35   #5624  |  Link
RieGo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by birdie View Post
This has been discussed numerous times already. x265 doesn't scale past a certain number of cores. You either buy and use UHDKit or run several copies of x265 simultaneously.
thanks for explaining.
i was thinking x265 team wrote it scales up to 20(??) threads or something, but i wasn't sure
i also tried to disable HT to run with (only) 12 threads, which doesn't sound like much to me, but same result.
i'll run 2 instances of x265 then. :
RieGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2017, 12:56   #5625  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,524
Quote:
Originally Posted by RieGo View Post
thanks for explaining.
i was thinking x265 team wrote it scales up to 20(??) threads or something, but i wasn't sure
i also tried to disable HT to run with (only) 12 threads, which doesn't sound like much to me, but same result.
i'll run 2 instances of x265 then. :
You won't notice huge fps boost because HT on intel cpus gives only extra ~15%


If you see cpu utilization at ~75% then this means that in practice you get ~93% of your CPU.
Code:
100-15/50*(100-75)=92.5

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 8th October 2017 at 13:03.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2017, 18:16   #5626  |  Link
AMED
Registered User
 
AMED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 420
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barough View Post
x265 v2.5+25-4b95f82c9fb1 (GCC 7.2.0, 32 & 64-bit 8/10/12bit Multilib Windows Binaries)

x265 [info]: HEVC encoder version 2.5+25-4b95f82c9fb1
x265 [info]: build info [Windows][GCC 7.2.0][32/64 bit] 8bit+10bit+12bit
x265 [info]: using cpu capabilities: MMX2 SSE2Fast LZCNT SSSE3 SSE4.2 AVX FMA3 BMI2 AVX2


Code:
https://bitbucket.org/multicoreware/x265/commits/branch/default
Barough's link doesn't seem to work for me, just goes to a page saying "Drop to share files".
__________________
A Man Eating Duck
AMED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2017, 11:13   #5627  |  Link
excellentswordfight
Lost my old account :(
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by RieGo View Post
thanks for explaining.
i was thinking x265 team wrote it scales up to 20(??) threads or something, but i wasn't sure
i also tried to disable HT to run with (only) 12 threads, which doesn't sound like much to me, but same result.
i'll run 2 instances of x265 then. :
I ran a few benchmarks on some machines a few weeks ago, I thought that x265 scaled quite nicely.

2x Intel Xeon E5-2690 v3 @ 2.9Ghz (24C48T): 3.36 fps
2x Intel Xeon E5-2643 v4 @ 3.6Ghz (12C24T): 2.37 fps
excellentswordfight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2017, 15:47   #5628  |  Link
Barough
Registered User
 
Barough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMED View Post
Barough's link doesn't seem to work for me, just goes to a page saying "Drop to share files".

No issues with DL'ing the archive here.
Barough is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2017, 15:48   #5629  |  Link
Barough
Registered User
 
Barough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 291
x265 v2.5+27-0e168bdeb48b (GCC 7.2.0, 32 & 64-bit 8/10/12bit Multilib Windows Binaries)

x265 [info]: HEVC encoder version 2.5+27-0e168bdeb48b
x265 [info]: build info [Windows][GCC 7.2.0][32/64 bit] 8bit+10bit+12bit
x265 [info]: using cpu capabilities: MMX2 SSE2Fast LZCNT SSSE3 SSE4.2 AVX FMA3 BMI2 AVX2


Code:
https://bitbucket.org/multicoreware/x265/commits/branch/default
Barough is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2017, 16:04   #5630  |  Link
d3rd3vil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 78
If I have an m2ts file with 2 layers and HDR10 PLUS Dolby Vision but the TV only recognizes HDR10, is there a way to force Dolby Vision somehow?
d3rd3vil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2017, 17:22   #5631  |  Link
x265_Project
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by d3rd3vil View Post
If I have an m2ts file with 2 layers and HDR10 PLUS Dolby Vision but the TV only recognizes HDR10, is there a way to force Dolby Vision somehow?
If there is metadata for multiple HDR standards, the TV decides which HDR format to use. If it has a choice between HDR10 (static HDR) and Dolby Vision (dynamic HDR), it will certainly choose Dolby Vision.
x265_Project is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2017, 17:45   #5632  |  Link
d3rd3vil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 78
Yeah well but it doesnt. MKVToolNix shows 2 streams one with 4k and one with 1080p. Ofc thats not really accurate cause MKVToolNix doesnt support Dolby Vision but both standards are there. The TV doesnt play the m2ts.

So I have to convert the m2ts to mkv which THEN only seems to support HDR10.

As an example this one: http://4kmedia.org/lg-dolby-vision-uhd-4k-demo/

Once I've used MKVToolNix, the Dolby Vision is gone

Is there at least a way to see if I am using Dolby Vision or not? The TS and the MKV files look pretty much the same in MediaInfo for example. But one has DV the other doesnt....

Last edited by d3rd3vil; 9th October 2017 at 19:43.
d3rd3vil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2017, 10:10   #5633  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,161
are you sure your TV supports Dolby Vision or 12-bit in general? From what Ive read most panels dont.
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2017, 10:24   #5634  |  Link
d3rd3vil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 78
12 bit doesnt matter atm. No TV supports that, thats true.

I got an LG Oled B6. All these Oleds support Dolby Vision. So as I said the TS file has DV and it works fine! After using MKVToolNix, cause the program doesnt support DV, Dolby Vision is gone from the MKV.

But still some information wether the file has DV or not would be nice. But MediaInfo, nor MPC or VLC or any program show anything regarding Dolby Vision....its like it doesnt exist yet. Unfortunate
d3rd3vil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2017, 11:05   #5635  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,310
This entire discussion is rather off-topic for the x265 thread, since x265 cannot encode Dolby Vision, nor is it in any way related to handling your existing Dolby Vision files.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2017, 07:59   #5636  |  Link
jlpsvk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 162
Hi... how can I use extracted Dolby Vision Enhancement layer to encode it to HEVC stream directly with x265?
jlpsvk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2017, 14:17   #5637  |  Link
d3rd3vil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 78
And how to even detect it properly with eac3to
d3rd3vil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2017, 15:30   #5638  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,486
Why do you add a question about eac3to to a thread specifically discussing the development of x265? Stay in each thread, separately, please.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2017, 18:44   #5639  |  Link
jlpsvk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
Why do you add a question about eac3to to a thread specifically discussing the development of x265? Stay in each thread, separately, please.
I asked about using the layer in x265!
jlpsvk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2017, 18:51   #5640  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,486
@jlpsvk: I directed that to d3rd3vil. Being interested in enhancing x265 is a valid intention here. But using eac3to is best discussed in a thread about eac3to, instead. And there I already expressed my doubts that eac3to is the first choice software to treat video streams, because it was originally made to handle audio streams.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.