Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th April 2008, 05:29   #4181  |  Link
Chumbo
Registered User
 
Chumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 585
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLKMGK View Post
Hrm, I'm pretty sure I've seen it in some H.264 HD-DVD. I'll double check later with Transformers maybe, right now I'm proceeding without it and am not using a Graph file either. Thanks!
Maybe you saw the frame count in EVOdemux since it's an HD DVD? Yeah, you can use DGAVCDec for h264 instead of a graph.
__________________
Chumbo

Last edited by Chumbo; 8th April 2008 at 05:32.
Chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 06:26   #4182  |  Link
woah!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chumbo View Post
Maybe you saw the frame count in EVOdemux since it's an HD DVD? Yeah, you can use DGAVCDec for h264 instead of a graph.
EVO, 2 video tracks, 4 audio tracks, 2 subtitle tracks, 0:50:34
"Where No Man Has Gone Before"
1: Chapters, 6 chapters without names
2: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: h264/AVC, 480p24 /1.001 (15:11), -17ms
4: TrueHD, English, 5.1 channels, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB, -84ms
5: AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 192kbit/s, 48khz, -84ms
6: AC3, Spanish, 2.0 channels, 192kbit/s, 48khz, dialnorm: -30dB, -84ms
7: E-AC3, 2.0 channels, 192kbit/s, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB, -84ms
8: Subtitle, English
9: Subtitle, Spanish
Creating file "Y:\movie.txt"...
Extracting primary video track...
Extracting audio track number 4...
Removing dialog normalization...
Muxing video to Matroska...
Applying RAW/PCM delay...
Encoding AC3...
Extracting subtitle track number 8...
Creating file "Y:\movie.ac3"...
Creating file "Y:\movie.sup"...
Added fps value to MKV header.
Video track 2 contains 72733 frames.
Video track 3 contains 90871 frames.
eac3to processing took 7 minutes, 58 seconds.
Done.

came from the log so it does seem to do h264 no???
woah! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 11:50   #4183  |  Link
umaximus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 34
@madshi

Is it safe to join seamless branching titles by 'copy b method.. Will the future version of eac3to be able to mux the audio without gaps/overlaps on already joined files? Or should we wait with any kind of joining. How come there is no sync issues with ''copy /b'' & tsRemux on seamless branching discs (i have made several titles like ratt, deja vu, cars, etc, with no playback problems)?
umaximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 15:00   #4184  |  Link
edo1080
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 83
I tested to extract the AC3 core from a .eac3 DD+ stream demuxed from an HD DVD (Blades of Glory) unsing the -core switch and it works. Could this mean the DD+ has a DD AC3 core on HD DVD too?

Quote:
E-AC3, 5.1 channels, 1:33:09, 768kbit/s, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
Removing dialog normalization...
Decoding with DirectShow (Nero Audio Decoder 2)...
Disabling DRC for Nero (E-)AC3 decoding...
DirectShow reports 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48khz
Encoding AC3...
Creating file "C:\The Bourne Blu Ray\Audio.ac3"...
eac3to processing took 11 minutes, 12 seconds.
Done.
This is what the log reports, anyway it seems decoding first with nreo decoder and then encoding; but how can eac3to encode if it has no built-in encoder?

Last edited by edo1080; 8th April 2008 at 15:12.
edo1080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 15:21   #4185  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by umaximus View Post
@madshi

Is it safe to join seamless branching titles by 'copy b method.. Will the future version of eac3to be able to mux the audio without gaps/overlaps on already joined files? Or should we wait with any kind of joining. How come there is no sync issues with ''copy /b'' & tsRemux on seamless branching discs (i have made several titles like ratt, deja vu, cars, etc, with no playback problems)?
When joining multiple .m2ts files there's a chance a small audio piece (usually a frame) to exist in both previous and next .m2ts files. Suppose we have AC3 audio (which has the longest frame of all audio types - 32 ms), this can result in max 16ms (half frame) de-sync in each join point. Multiply by the .m2ts files and here it is the problem. For example if a movie consists of 10 files (9 joints) and AC3 audio , if all parts overlap by a frame, you can have a max of 9x16ms= 144ms de-sync. In other audio types frame duration is a lot sorter (~5ms) which means the problem is tiny and can't be noticed. Of course there's a chance that audio frames don't overlap, so no problem at all.

Hope i made it clear enough to understand it.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 15:24   #4186  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by edo1080 View Post
I tested to extract the AC3 core from a .eac3 DD+ stream demuxed from an HD DVD (Blades of Glory) unsing the -core switch and it works. Could this mean the DD+ has a DD AC3 core on HD DVD too?



This is what the log reports, anyway it seems decoding first with nreo decoder and then encoding; but how can eac3to encode if it has no built-in encoder?
No, no core inside. eac3to uses aften ac3 encoder that comes with the package. The -core switch you type is just ignored.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 15:38   #4187  |  Link
edo1080
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 83
Thanks nautilus for this explaination. It's what I needed.
edo1080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 16:05   #4188  |  Link
the_provider
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beastie Boy View Post
If ...
works OK, then use the command

Code:
eac3to.exe "C:\HEART\HEART T01 DELAY 0ms.dts" "C:\HEART\Z_HEART T01 DELAY 0ms.ac3" -448
Replace 448 with whatever bitrate you wish to use.
Thank you for your swift reply but when desired bitrate is mentioned it doesn't work.
I also tried to mention explicitly the filter and I got the same result in all 3 attempts (default, sonic, libav).

In fact the ONLY combination that works is:

C:\HEART>"C:\Program Files\eac3to\eac3to.exe" "C:\HEART\HEART T01 DELAY 0ms.dts" "C
:\HEART\HEART T01 DELAY 0ms.ac3" -libav

Any attempt to set bitrate or other filter returns a
"This audio conversion is not supported." message.
I have installed ffdshow filter package.

Any other ideas?

Thank you in advance.
Best regards.
the_provider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 16:42   #4189  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
Do you use the keymakers gui? It has a bug and it doesn't put a space between the output filename and the -448. Switch to the alternate gui (eac3to and more gui - see separate thread in the audio section) or use the cmd version.

Best decoder for dts is sonic. If you have it let it decode instead of selecting any other. Don't use the -keepdialnorm option. There's no point.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 17:21   #4190  |  Link
crazydane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
I Am Legend - Theatrical vs. Alternate ending version

So I ripped this title using AnyDVD and kept the following 2 files:

00000.m2ts 15,964,734 KB
00006.m2ts 17,032,122 KB

I then joined them with the copy /b command, and proceeded to demux the video & audio with eac3to (soundtrack converted to flac).

All went well and I then used mkvmerge as usual to create my final .mkv container.

The movie plays back flawlessly in mpc and wmp11 and there are no sync issues. BUT, I ended up with the alternate ending version as opposed to the theatrical one. I have watched both versions via my stand-alone BD player and I don't really mind ending up with the alternate ending version for my backup.

My question is, for titles with alternate endings (I think it is only the last couple of chapters on this title), how the heck can one pick one over the other?

As I recall, I think there was a 00003.m2ts file at around 2GB or so, which probably contained the theatrical ending and somehow when playing this version on a standalone player, the 00003.m2ts file gets swapped in near the end?

Sorry for the slightly off topic question, but I'd love for eac3to be able to deal with alternate ending movies like this someday!

And Madshi, that you for this wonderfull tool! I have been ripping my BD titles using only AnyDVD, eac3to and mkvmerge with no issues with any of the 30 or so titles I have done so far!
crazydane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 17:28   #4191  |  Link
SoToS
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
please also GUI renew!
SoToS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 17:55   #4192  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazydane View Post
So I ripped this title using AnyDVD and kept the following 2 files:

00000.m2ts 15,964,734 KB
00006.m2ts 17,032,122 KB

I then joined them with the copy /b command, and proceeded to demux the video & audio with eac3to (soundtrack converted to flac).

All went well and I then used mkvmerge as usual to create my final .mkv container.

The movie plays back flawlessly in mpc and wmp11 and there are no sync issues. BUT, I ended up with the alternate ending version as opposed to the theatrical one. I have watched both versions via my stand-alone BD player and I don't really mind ending up with the alternate ending version for my backup.

My question is, for titles with alternate endings (I think it is only the last couple of chapters on this title), how the heck can one pick one over the other?

As I recall, I think there was a 00003.m2ts file at around 2GB or so, which probably contained the theatrical ending and somehow when playing this version on a standalone player, the 00003.m2ts file gets swapped in near the end?

Sorry for the slightly off topic question, but I'd love for eac3to be able to deal with alternate ending movies like this someday!

And Madshi, that you for this wonderfull tool! I have been ripping my BD titles using only AnyDVD, eac3to and mkvmerge with no issues with any of the 30 or so titles I have done so far!
No no no no...

I am Legend Blu-ray is authored by retards. EACH one of the 2 files you mention (00000.m2ts & 00006.m2ts) contain the WHOLE movie, but with different endings (2 scenes are also different btw). The disc doesn't make any use of seamless branching as it should. It's ridiculously authored. I don't know exactly how you can make one file with the 2 versions of the movie (that doesn't contain common parts twice, obviously).

Last edited by nautilus7; 8th April 2008 at 18:01.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 18:07   #4193  |  Link
crazydane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
You're right nautilus. My "I Am Legend.mkv" is 26,154,776 KB and when I checked it out before I just watched part of the beginning and then dragged the slider towards the end and watched it. I bet if I move the slider to the middle, I'll see the ending credits of the theatrical version, followed by the beginning of the alternate version.

You're right though, I can't believe they put 2 full version of the movie on there. What a waste!
crazydane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 18:09   #4194  |  Link
Chumbo
Registered User
 
Chumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 585
Quote:
Originally Posted by woah! View Post
EVO, 2 video tracks, 4 audio tracks, 2 subtitle tracks, 0:50:34
"Where No Man Has Gone Before"
1: Chapters, 6 chapters without names
2: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: h264/AVC, 480p24 /1.001 (15:11), -17ms
4: TrueHD, English, 5.1 channels, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB, -84ms
5: AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 192kbit/s, 48khz, -84ms
6: AC3, Spanish, 2.0 channels, 192kbit/s, 48khz, dialnorm: -30dB, -84ms
7: E-AC3, 2.0 channels, 192kbit/s, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB, -84ms
8: Subtitle, English
9: Subtitle, Spanish
Creating file "Y:\movie.txt"...
Extracting primary video track...
Extracting audio track number 4...
Removing dialog normalization...
Muxing video to Matroska...
Applying RAW/PCM delay...
Encoding AC3...
Extracting subtitle track number 8...
Creating file "Y:\movie.ac3"...
Creating file "Y:\movie.sup"...
Added fps value to MKV header.
Video track 2 contains 72733 frames.
Video track 3 contains 90871 frames.
eac3to processing took 7 minutes, 58 seconds.
Done.

came from the log so it does seem to do h264 no???
That's great. The last couple avc titles I put into mkv containers did not show the frames in the log. I think I was using versions 2.36 and older of eac3to at the time. I wish I had the log, but I no longer have it. I remember because I specifically looked for the frame count. The last one was Hitchhiker's Guide.
__________________
Chumbo
Chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 20:42   #4195  |  Link
umaximus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by nautilus7 View Post
When joining multiple .m2ts files there's a chance a small audio piece (usually a frame) to exist in both previous and next .m2ts files. Suppose we have AC3 audio (which has the longest frame of all audio types - 32 ms), this can result in max 16ms (half frame) de-sync in each join point. Multiply by the .m2ts files and here it is the problem. For example if a movie consists of 10 files (9 joints) and AC3 audio , if all parts overlap by a frame, you can have a max of 9x16ms= 144ms de-sync. In other audio types frame duration is a lot sorter (~5ms) which means the problem is tiny and can't be noticed. Of course there's a chance that audio frames don't overlap, so no problem at all.

Hope i made it clear enough to understand it.
ay yes, i kinda know that but thanks for detailed info.. my concern is if the eac3to could detect this gaps/overlaps, made by joining via copy/b, and fix them.. also, why TSremux doesnt have this problems, or better, how TSremux deals with this de-sync joint points?
umaximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 20:52   #4196  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
I don't really know if eac3to can correct them. I don't think it can. I don't think also that tsremux detects those problems. It's just that the de-sync (if any - remember, it's possible that no de-sync at all to exist) is very small and can't be noticed.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 21:38   #4197  |  Link
wildchild22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 23
Not sure if this is the right place to post this. I am thinking of buying a popcorn hour and as far as I can tell it supports lpcm but not any new hd-dvd or blu-ray hd audio formats. Is it possible to convert dolby digital + to lpcm ?

I am thinking about ripping my hd-dvds and turning all the audio into lpcm so I dont loose quality.

( I have used eac3to to convert dolby digital + to ac3-640 before and its great just not sure if it can do all the conversions to lpcm)
wildchild22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 22:00   #4198  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
Of course that's possible, but space consuming. Does it support AC3 and DTS? The quality loss isn't that significant. It's your choice.

Last edited by nautilus7; 8th April 2008 at 22:02.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 22:50   #4199  |  Link
wildchild22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 23
it does support ac3 and dts. Is this command line correct for lpcm

eac3to whateverfile.dd+ whateverfile.pcm
wildchild22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 23:02   #4200  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
Yes it is.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.