Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th March 2016, 19:02   #36921  |  Link
Damie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
no screen can do bt 2020 yet..
The panel supports 91% of DCI P3, and 90% is the requirement for the Ultra HD Premium specification. Of course this still means only 66% of BT.2020.

The colors look off if I select BT.709 on the TV menu for this source, where as they look good with BT.2020. I guess this is due to the different RGB primaries.

Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
4:2:0 sub sampling is visible for me. so yeah i avoid double conversations.
The source is YUV 4:2:0, so shouldn't I get the least amount of conversions if I select Ycbcr420 from nvidia control panel?
Damie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2016, 20:01   #36922  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damie View Post
The source is YUV 4:2:0, so shouldn't I get the least amount of conversions if I select Ycbcr420 from nvidia control panel?
No, madVR outputs RGB so setting YCbCr in the control panel adds an RGB to YCbCr 4:2:0 step done by the GPU.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2016, 20:26   #36923  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by leeperry View Post
Smooth Motion + both chroma & luma SuperRes @1 enabled, I don't think I'll ever watch movies in 24Hz anymore

Icing on the cake will be "reconstruction soft" chroma, SSIM 2D 25% downscaling, NEDI doubling, 0.7 "enhance details" and ED2 dithering with both suboptions disabled. I got Reclock on top forcing 24.000 fps, 1080p24 movies look butter-smooth & super detailed, yay!
Wow Ive got so many answers here and all slightly different so Im a bit confused!

Im just a newby so need the help please...
Let me explain what Im trying to do and that might help further.

First Im using JRiver, madVR with the GTX970, its only for movies, no gaming. Im going direct from the PC to a matrix, one out goes direct to the JVC RS600 projector. The other out goes to the Marantz AV8802 which is in the cinema foyer, the out from this goes to a 1080p monitor so we can see whats going on in the cinema....

We have a film club and I make up assorted shorts, clips, trailers etc etc before the feature, always a BD ripped. I add all the clips and feature to a play list.... As the projector is SO SLOW at syncing, sometimes up to 17 secs, its impossible to play all the clips in their native 50, 25, 30, 60, 24Hz as the beginning of each video gets clipped off due to the SLOW SYNC of the projector.

A friend told me to use madvr with smooth motion and set everything to 60Hz in the card, so far so good....

I had this new PC built round all this as my old one currently uses Kodi/openeleq and is impossible to play this way (all set to 60) as it stutters and is not smooth.

At the moment Im testing on the new PC, then once a week I reinstall the old PC when we have club nights as Im not confident I have things setup correctly for the new madvr pc.

So now Ive explained everything with the setup and why I need to play everything at 60Hz to avoid the sync issues, am I on the right track???

Your help here will get me going with confidence, I like the idea of everything playing as smooth as butter if that's achievable... If so Im a very happy guy!!!

Thanks for reading through all of this and hopefully we can nail it.

I know little of the settings and need help clarifying what settings I need for mixed content, smooth playback and the correct dither settings... Thanks heaps!

Last edited by 70MM; 17th March 2016 at 20:34.
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2016, 20:44   #36924  |  Link
Neo-XP
Registered User
 
Neo-XP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 140
Hello,

There is a bug when upscaling or downscaling with spline 4 taps with the newest madVR versions. The image is pixelated when using spline with 4 taps.

This bug appeared in the 88.21 version, 88.20 is OK. I'm upscaling here to 3840x2160 (from full HD source), but the same applies when downscaling to 1920x2000 (from 4K source).

It's obvious when comparing with spline 3 taps and with two different madVR versions.

Spline 3 taps v88.20 :



Spline 4 taps v88.20 :



Spline 3 taps v90.15 :



Spline 4 taps v90.15 :



Am I the only one having this issue ?

Last edited by Neo-XP; 17th March 2016 at 22:05.
Neo-XP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2016, 23:51   #36925  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70MM View Post
Wow Ive got so many answers here and all slightly different so Im a bit confused!

Im just a newby so need the help please...
Let me explain what Im trying to do and that might help further.

First Im using JRiver, madVR with the GTX970, its only for movies, no gaming. Im going direct from the PC to a matrix, one out goes direct to the JVC RS600 projector. The other out goes to the Marantz AV8802 which is in the cinema foyer, the out from this goes to a 1080p monitor so we can see whats going on in the cinema....

We have a film club and I make up assorted shorts, clips, trailers etc etc before the feature, always a BD ripped. I add all the clips and feature to a play list.... As the projector is SO SLOW at syncing, sometimes up to 17 secs, its impossible to play all the clips in their native 50, 25, 30, 60, 24Hz as the beginning of each video gets clipped off due to the SLOW SYNC of the projector.

A friend told me to use madvr with smooth motion and set everything to 60Hz in the card, so far so good....

I had this new PC built round all this as my old one currently uses Kodi/openeleq and is impossible to play this way (all set to 60) as it stutters and is not smooth.

At the moment Im testing on the new PC, then once a week I reinstall the old PC when we have club nights as Im not confident I have things setup correctly for the new madvr pc.

So now Ive explained everything with the setup and why I need to play everything at 60Hz to avoid the sync issues, am I on the right track???

Your help here will get me going with confidence, I like the idea of everything playing as smooth as butter if that's achievable... If so Im a very happy guy!!!

Thanks for reading through all of this and hopefully we can nail it.

I know little of the settings and need help clarifying what settings I need for mixed content, smooth playback and the correct dither settings... Thanks heaps!
you only need smoothmotion the rest is not needed. the default dithering settings are fine.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2016, 02:50   #36926  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
you only need smoothmotion the rest is not needed. the default dithering settings are fine.
What about these settings that leeperry said should be used??

Smooth Motion + both chroma & luma SuperRes @1 enabled, I don't think I'll ever watch movies in 24Hz anymore

Icing on the cake will be "reconstruction soft" chroma, SSIM 2D 25% downscaling, NEDI doubling, 0.7 "enhance details" and ED2 dithering with both suboptions disabled. I got Reclock on top forcing 24.000 fps, 1080p24 movies look butter-smooth & super detailed, yay!
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2016, 03:39   #36927  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70MM View Post
What about these settings that leeperry said should be used??

Smooth Motion + both chroma & luma SuperRes @1 enabled, I don't think I'll ever watch movies in 24Hz anymore

Icing on the cake will be "reconstruction soft" chroma, SSIM 2D 25% downscaling, NEDI doubling, 0.7 "enhance details" and ED2 dithering with both suboptions disabled. I got Reclock on top forcing 24.000 fps, 1080p24 movies look butter-smooth & super detailed, yay!
If you are using JRiver, I'm not sure you have access to image enhancements and upscaling refinement due to it using an older version of madVR. If you do have access to these settings, they are an acquired taste with no right or wrong setting. Personally, I don't like SuperRes for chroma upscaling but others do.

I think NEDI doubling and SSID 2D downscaling refer to supersampling. Supersampling involves image doubling a source and then downscaling it back to the original resolution (1080p -> 2160p -> 1080p). The result may impress or it may not.

Reconstruction soft is considered the best chroma upscaler by some. This is less debatable but still a matter of preference.

There are many ways to set up a 1080p source.

This is leeperry's preference:

1080p -> 2160p Supersampling:
  • Chroma: Reconstruction (soft), SuperRes (1)
  • Image: N/A
  • Double Luma: 2x supersampling - NEDI
  • Double Chroma: 2x supersampling - NEDI
  • Downscaling: SSIM 2D 25% + AR + LL
  • Upscaling refinement: enhance details (0.7), SuperRes (1)
  • Artifact removal - Debanding: Off
  • Image enhancements: Off
  • Dithering: Error Diffusion 2
This is my preference:

1080p:
  • Chroma: NNEDI3 32 neurons
  • Image: Jinc3 + AR
  • Image doubling: Off
  • Upscaling refinement: Off
  • Artifact removal - Debanding: Medium/High
  • Image enhancements: crispen edges (0.6) + AR
  • Dithering: Error Diffusion 2
As you can see, there is no "correct" set up when it comes to many settings. You have to try them yourself.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2016, 03:45   #36928  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
If you are using JRiver, I'm not sure you have access to image enhancements and upscaling refinement due to it using an older version of madVR. If you do have access to these settings, they are an acquired taste with no right or wrong setting. Personally, I don't like SuperRes for chroma upscaling but others do.

I think NEDI doubling and SSID 2D downscaling refer to supersampling. Supersampling involves image doubling a source and then downscaling it back to the original resolution (1080p -> 2160p -> 1080p). The result may impress or it may not.

Reconstruction soft is considered the best chroma upscaler by some. This is less debatable but still a matter of preference.

There are many ways to set up a 1080p source.

This is leeperry's preference:

1080p -> 2160p Supersampling:
  • Chroma: Reconstruction (soft), SuperRes (1)
  • Image: N/A
  • Double Luma: 2x supersampling - NEDI
  • Double Chroma: 2x supersampling - NEDI
  • Downscaling: SSIM 2D 25% + AR + LL
  • Upscaling refinement: enhance details (0.7), SuperRes (1)
  • Artifact removal - Debanding: Off
  • Image enhancements: Off
  • Dithering: Error Diffusion 2
This is my preference:

1080p:
  • Chroma: NNEDI3 32 neurons
  • Image: Jinc3 + AR
  • Image doubling: Off
  • Upscaling refinement: Off
  • Artifact removal - Debanding: Medium/High
  • Image enhancements: crispen edges (0.6) + AR
  • Dithering: Error Diffusion 2
As you can see, there is no "correct" set up when it comes to many settings. You have to try them yourself.
Great stuff many thanks for that Warner. I will try both tonight and report back.

Forgot to ask, do you both use projectors?
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2016, 06:18   #36929  |  Link
thewildsun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by leandronb View Post
Hi guys, i am having a problem that i think is related with madvr.
Sometimes when i am playing a tv show and i skip to the next episode, it just shows a black screen, and even returning from fullscreen i can't play the episode. i have to close mpc and open the episode again. this do not happen when i am not in fullscreen.
Maybe is related to the change in refresh rate, i use the option to change refresh rate in madvr.
madvr version 0.89.19.
When i am not in fullscreen i can skip all episodes in a season without any problem, but in fullscreen it sometimes give me this blackscreen.
Using windows 10.
Quote:
Originally Posted by thewildsun View Post
I have the same issue in PotPlayer and Windows 10. It doesn't make a difference if I use the latest LAV nightlies or PotPlayer's internal decoders. The only way I've been able to work around this issue is to uncheck D3D11 in madvr. Has anyone found a way to avoid the issue while keeping D3D11?
Following up on this, I learned that the issue only happens in recent Windows 10 insider builds for me. I tested on the regular Windows 10 1511 update with the latest Nvidia drivers and it worked fine. So most likely this is not a madVR issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mzso View Post
Hi!

So madVR doesn't have profiles as far as I know.
But is there a method/trick I can use to change settings quickly? I mean the scaling algorithms in particular.
I was wondering about this as well. If my goal is to have two profiles ("anime" and "liveaction" for example) with a single keyboard shortcut to switch between them, is this possible? While I can sort of achieve it using profile groups, it's a bit cumbersome because I need to use a different keyboard shortcut to toggle each profile group. I guess I'm looking for something like "global profiles", which would capture all settings into a single profile, rather than dividing them into groups.
thewildsun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2016, 07:19   #36930  |  Link
marlonqpa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
Wrong thread.

Last edited by marlonqpa; 18th March 2016 at 07:22. Reason: Deleted.
marlonqpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2016, 07:26   #36931  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,475
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
Artifact removal - Debanding: Off
I got it set to low/low for that matter but anyway both chroma & luma SR add EE and that very noticeably improves smoothness IME as eye tracking of objects in motion is less distracted, it also gives a sharper look to SmoothMotion making it entirely usable
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2016, 08:31   #36932  |  Link
XTrojan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damie View Post
The panel supports 91% of DCI P3, and 90% is the requirement for the Ultra HD Premium specification. Of course this still means only 66% of BT.2020.

The colors look off if I select BT.709 on the TV menu for this source, where as they look good with BT.2020. I guess this is due to the different RGB primaries.


The source is YUV 4:2:0, so shouldn't I get the least amount of conversions if I select Ycbcr420 from nvidia control panel?
If you have Rec2020, 10bit+, 4k Movies, I suggest playing them from the TV itself through network or USB, from what I can tell MadVR only improves quality by just a little on these type of movies, but it introduces a lot of hassle that's not worth it for the time being. Wait until HDCP 2.2 and AACS 2.0 gets cracked as the PC world isn't ready yet for the new UHD quality movies.

Last edited by XTrojan; 18th March 2016 at 08:33.
XTrojan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2016, 08:38   #36933  |  Link
MistahBonzai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by leeperry View Post
...anyway both chroma & luma SR add EE...
Pls excuse my ignorance but what is "EE"?
MistahBonzai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2016, 11:09   #36934  |  Link
Clammerz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by thewildsun View Post
I was wondering about this as well. If my goal is to have two profiles ("anime" and "liveaction" for example) with a single keyboard shortcut to switch between them, is this possible? While I can sort of achieve it using profile groups, it's a bit cumbersome because I need to use a different keyboard shortcut to toggle each profile group. I guess I'm looking for something like "global profiles", which would capture all settings into a single profile, rather than dividing them into groups.
One way to go about this is to use the
Code:
filePath
variable:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...17#post1271417

If you have a folder structure like
S:\ANIME\...etc
S:\LIVEACTION\...etc
You could have your profiles say
Code:
if (filepath == "*ANIME\*)"
etc...

Then you wouldn't need a keyboard shortcut at all (if you really wanted to go the shortcut route, have you tried putting multiple profile groups under one hotkey?)
Clammerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2016, 11:16   #36935  |  Link
mueslibrown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70MM View Post
Great stuff many thanks for that Warner. I will try both tonight and report back.

Forgot to ask, do you both use projectors?
I use JRiver and simply replace the madVR instance with the latest version. Its under the plugins folder. I've not had any issues with JRiver by doing this but you'll need to double check that the instance doesn't get overridden when JRiver installs its update.
mueslibrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2016, 11:25   #36936  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by mueslibrown View Post
I use JRiver and simply replace the madVR instance with the latest version. Its under the plugins folder. I've not had any issues with JRiver by doing this but you'll need to double check that the instance doesn't get overridden when JRiver installs its update.
Do you also use any of the video settings in JRiver when the madvr settings are used? Should JRiver video settings be used or all turned off?
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2016, 11:37   #36937  |  Link
hubblec4
Matroska find' ich toll
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,118
I hope it is ok when I ask for hardware support?

Is this graphic card enaugh to play HD content.
Important is the passiv cooling.
__________________
chapterEditor || Matroska-Playback || hSplit || DiscShare
hubblec4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2016, 11:46   #36938  |  Link
FDisk80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Israel
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by hubblec4 View Post
I hope it is ok when I ask for hardware support?

Is this graphic card enaugh to play HD content.
Important is the passiv cooling.
Yea, if you don't go overkill with some madVR settings.
FDisk80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2016, 11:49   #36939  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by hubblec4 View Post
I hope it is ok when I ask for hardware support?

Is this graphic card enaugh to play HD content.
Important is the passiv cooling.
Nothing wrong with 750Ti for madVR. You just won't be able to use the more demanding settings but it's a good card for getting started. Wouldn't surprise me if someone released a GTX 950 passively cooled some time soon.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2016, 11:52   #36940  |  Link
hubblec4
Matroska find' ich toll
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDisk80 View Post
Yea, if you don't go overkill with some madVR settings.
I had used madVR always with default settings (disabled exclusive mode). With my "new" low graphic card don't work well playing
(only with exclusive mode it works good, but I don't like this mode).
__________________
chapterEditor || Matroska-Playback || hSplit || DiscShare
hubblec4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.