Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 7th December 2019, 19:52   #58041  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,058
just check it: https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/samsung
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2019, 20:24   #58042  |  Link
WuNgUn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 48
@Huhn
From what I know of Samsung TV's, running in game mode makes concession to image quality and motion backlighting for the sake of low latency.
I would recommend against it

Edit: my bad....misunderstood PC colours and game mode on the TV. Obviously not the same thing!

Last edited by WuNgUn; 7th December 2019 at 20:36.
WuNgUn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2019, 20:34   #58043  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 811
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
And what is there?

My model is fine. I checked rtings before buying it.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2019, 20:49   #58044  |  Link
WuNgUn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
.





try this on a desktop with the GPU at 0-255: http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/black.php



tell me what you see
For me, RGB full at 8 bits, the blacks are indistinguishable...
Going to YCbCr 422 gives me all the blacks...
Going 444 messes everything up in playback... Maybe a driver issue?
Does this...

WuNgUn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 00:12   #58045  |  Link
WuNgUn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 48
In fact, both ycbcr color setting mess up video playback now!
Ugh!
WuNgUn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 00:48   #58046  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,755
You need a limited range RGB option? That cannot be right. Something must be messed up.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 01:03   #58047  |  Link
WuNgUn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
You need a limited range RGB option? That cannot be right. Something must be messed up.
Yeah, I have a limited and full range RGB mode...
But that doesn't display black levels properly.
Reverted to an older driver and running 4:4:2 at 10 bit now without issue.
WuNgUn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 11:08   #58048  |  Link
Asterra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 14
Hey all. What's the trick to preventing MadVR-slash-MPC-BE (latest versions) from adjusting the refresh rate on fullscreen? I turned this on for a little while, discovered either Nvidia or Windows 10 can't output 24Hz to my TV without zooming the desktop in slightly, and now I want to just return to bad old 60Hz. The problem is that even though I've turned off all the options that turned the thing on, it's ignoring me and changing the refresh rate to the video's framerate regardless, meaning for the time being I can't use fullscreen.

(And obviously if anyone has insight into why the desktop is being zoomed in when I pick 23,24,25,50Hz, that would potentially be even more helpful. But it's outside the scope of this thread.)
Asterra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 11:29   #58049  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 811
What is your TV? There is an issue of Samsung TV with latest new version 1290 at least on 50 Hz, didn't test 23Hz and 24 Hz mode.

It depends of where you entered the refresh rates to be changed, this can be eiter in MPC-BE oder madVR, lookup each options and remove the entered values.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 11:33   #58050  |  Link
Asterra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
What is your TV? There is an issue of Samsung TV with latest new version 1290 at least on 50 Hz, didn't test 23Hz and 24 Hz mode.
Fair point. Samsung Q70R, and yeah it auto-updated to the latest I'll try another factory reset. You happen to recall where people were talking about this issue? I had eliminated the TV as the culprit because 24Hz (etc.) output from the Nvidia Shield did not get zoomed in; it displayed frame-perfect as expected.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
It depends of where you entered the refresh rates to be changed, this can be eiter in MPC-BE oder madVR, lookup each options and remove the entered values.
I made that change in MPC-BE. It's reverted. If the option also exists in madVR then I'm simply blind.
Asterra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 11:40   #58051  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 811
Yes yesterday, go from this post on https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...12#post1892212
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 11:47   #58052  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 811
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asterra View Post
I'll try another factory reset.
It doesn't help, I tried it, and there is no way downgrade the firmware, Samsung support told me that.

At least my Q9FN is still on 1270 and working just fine. Only waiting helps for devices already updated to 1290.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Asterra View Post
If the option also exists in madVR then I'm simply blind.
here the list all displaymodes... in madVR options
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 11:49   #58053  |  Link
Asterra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
What is your TV? There is an issue of Samsung TV with latest new version 1290 at least on 50 Hz, didn't test 23Hz and 24 Hz mode.
(Ignore this) Well I'm over the moon. Factory reset did indeed make the 24Hz problem go away. I guess now the trick is to figure out what's the last software update that didn't make things to to s***. And where to get it.

Edit: Nope, I misinterpreted what I was seeing. The display started out in 24Hz due to not being identified, and during this moment only, it was displaying the full desktop. The moment I changed refresh rate to 60, that was the end of my reprieve. Factory reset did not revert the software.

Last edited by Asterra; 8th December 2019 at 12:08.
Asterra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 12:00   #58054  |  Link
Asterra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
It doesn't help, I tried it, and there is no way downgrade the firmware, Samsung support told me that.
Hmm. I feel bad now. It worked for me so it hurts to see somebody still suffering what I went through.

Here's an item that might randomly end up being important: After I did my factory reset, the TV flatly failed to identify my PC's port as "PC" or anything at all, even though it had zero problems with this on three prior occasions. (The only difference is that I initially had the PC plugged into the allegedly more capable HDMI4, and then swapped back to HDMI1. It failed in both cases though.) Perhaps this lack-of-identification might end up being a critical component of kludging a solution. I'll add that even though the device wasn't identified properly, I'm getting 4:4:4 color resolution regardless.

That said, now I'm having trouble getting madVR to change the refresh rate on the fly like it was doing before...

Okay, addendum: Even though I didn't reconnect the TV to wireless, it somehow downloaded its update in the background anyway and now I have to do it all over again. I suppose now we'll see if my luck repeats.

Edit 2: I was misinterpreting what I saw. The "factory reset" caused the phenomenon of the display not being recognized, which in turn caused it to start out at 24Hz rather than 60, and for whatever reason, during this post-reset window only, it was showing the full desktop. Changing the refresh rate to 60 and back caused the zooming phenomenon to return.

Last edited by Asterra; 8th December 2019 at 12:10.
Asterra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 12:17   #58055  |  Link
Asterra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
It doesn't help, I tried it, and there is no way downgrade the firmware, Samsung support told me that.
As a proof of concept, I tried this: Changing the refresh rate, then swapping to a new port. In this case, HDMI3, which I hadn't used before. The TV failed to recognize it, and I'm staring at full-frame 4K23 again.

So... get a HDMI switch maybe?

I'll be contacting Samsung about this, just to light a little extra fire under their pants and make sure they understand it's more than just one person griping about this. I already had a long chat with them about how the "Movie" Display Mode cannot be picked for anything except "TV" of all things, rendering Rtings' recommended settings unusable. Eventually I'll have a chat with them about how their TV uses vertical dithering that essentially prevents it from being able to actually deliver 4:4:4.

Last edited by Asterra; 8th December 2019 at 12:29.
Asterra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 15:22   #58056  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 811
The issue only appears when when the HDMI port is labeled as PC (PC Icon) if you want to get 4:4:4 color on the Samsung, and 60 Hz is fine, but 50 Hz for sure and maybe others are affected, too, I told Samsung that they should check it too.
After the HDMI port is labled to PC, switch the TV off and on again and then the issue appears, you can also switch to "TV" of input selection and back to HDMI port, then the issue also appears. This hole thing did reqire some testing but I did a factory reset, to be sure I am not crazy, but aftea few trial and error I knew whats going on and wrote an polite Email to Samsung, made clear that I am not an average user, more a power user who knows what he's doing and a polite person called me to made a call back meeting to a specialist of Samsung, who was sure, that there is no problem, but they can make screenshots when you allow them to go on your TV and I showed him the AV settings of a Settop box (it's only a small TV in bedroom, but affected since 1290) he soon got that there is an issue becuase I had still the Q9FN which was on still on 1270, because I capped the LAN cable, turned it then on and turned off auto update and had luck there was still 1270 on it and for the meeting I showed him the exactly same things like on the small one, and there it worked all perfect and he wrote a very detailed error decription for the devs on Samsung, so the devs can see when the issue appears. I am pretty sure that will get fixed soon.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 15:28   #58057  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 811
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asterra View Post
So... get a HDMI switch maybe
Doesn't help, see my previous post when the issue appears

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asterra View Post
I'll be contacting Samsung about this, just to light a little extra fire under their pants and make sure they understand it's more than just one person griping about this.
Good idea, but be sure to be and also stay polite, even when the person you are talking may not know about all that stuff you know. Just explain what what is 4:4:4 compared to 4:2:0 and then let them to some tests.

I was lucky to get one affected TV and one not affected TV, so perfect for reporting a bug to them.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 16:25   #58058  |  Link
olli66
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 15
Hi guys, I am expiring a problem that is caused by a Win 10 update. Same problem I faced a year ago. A Windows update ruined the mad vr hdr passthrough. Back then I solved it with a combination of deinstalling windows updates and installing an older NVIDIA driver which was supposed to be the latest compatible one. Now it is the same problem as back then. Tapping in the dark which windows update caused it. Anyone with the same problem and someone who can tell if it is possible at all to have hdr passthrough with the latest win 10 updates? If not, which update broke it?
olli66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 17:56   #58059  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 811
Here are also some guys who had that issue, perhaps you also ask there, perhaps these guys have found the solution which perhaps also works for you. Here a link to exactly the post and newer ones:
AMD, Intel and Nvidia driver issues and last recommended version

Hope it helps
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 17:59   #58060  |  Link
Asterra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
I was lucky to get one affected TV and one not affected TV, so perfect for reporting a bug to them.
Did you notice that when your TV goes into zoom-mode, the nature of its dithering changes? (I'm making an assumption here but I'm pretty confident the same panel hardware is used universally across their lineup.) In every mode that is pixel-perfect, the dithering used by the TV is a very annoying vertical variety that results in: Horizontal lines of alternating light/dark, particularly blatant on light blues, and the inability to provide accurate colors when they don't align well with this vertical dithering (the two areas up-right from the "1" are supposed to look identical -- zoom out until you see how they differ). But when the TV is in zoom-mode, we get crosshatch dithering -- bright/dark patterning in an x-shape on top of the other issues.
Asterra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.