Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd August 2019, 11:03   #121  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by mparade View Post
Does anyone know if there is any solution for this yet? The same is happening to my 2990WX at the moment. Maybe if using Coreprio?
According to guy from level1techs ( https://youtu.be/cTmnyOZ0pE4?t=34m ) you should
1) install Linux
2) setup virtual machine on linux
3) install windows 10 on virtual machine
Done.

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 3rd August 2019 at 13:15.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2019, 12:05   #122  |  Link
TEB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Palmcoast of Norway
Posts: 327
https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pa...502-7742&num=4

Looks like Phoronix´s benchmark isnt able to saturate all these cores... but nevertheless.. impressive numbers for the new EPYC 7xx2 series
TEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2019, 20:10   #123  |  Link
jfcarbel
Programmer
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
Again
Was this done on a Windows 7 or Windows 10 machine?

I think I read that Windows 10 performs much faster for the Ryzen 3000
jfcarbel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2019, 22:09   #124  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfcarbel View Post
Was this done on a Windows 7 or Windows 10 machine?

I think I read that Windows 10 performs much faster for the Ryzen 3000
Within margin of error. Do not expect miracles.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2019, 22:41   #125  |  Link
jfcarbel
Programmer
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
Within margin of error. Do not expect miracles.
Thanks, so not significant.

So is your windows 7 updater able to get Windows 7 running well with the Ryzen 3000 CPUs?
jfcarbel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2019, 22:52   #126  |  Link
-QfG-
QfG Group Germany
 
-QfG-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 36
Example for a bad Encoding CPU (i7700k) ~70hours for an 2h video



I would say, minimum 8 cores (I9900k or Ryzen 7 3xxx for example)
__________________
i7700k@4,8 Ghz / ASUS STRIX Z270e / 16GB DDR4 Corsair / ASUS STRIX GeForce GTX1070 8GB GDDR5
-QfG- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2019, 23:40   #127  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfcarbel View Post
Thanks, so not significant.

So is your windows 7 updater able to get Windows 7 running well with the Ryzen 3000 CPUs?
Yep. However If you have x570 then you will have to add this step to get USB 3 ports to work
https://www.sevenforums.com/drivers/...l?#post3441921
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2019, 19:57   #128  |  Link
NikosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,699
For those who are still wondering which is the fastest platform for HEVC encoding:

8K real-time HEVC encoding at 79fps with just one CPU (!)

https://www.tomshardware.com/news/am...ing,40400.html
__________________
Win 10 x64 (18362.449) - Core i3-9100F - nVidia 1660 (436.15)
HEVC decoding benchmarks
H.264 DXVA Benchmarks for all
NikosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2019, 17:55   #129  |  Link
archer75
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
I have a question that hopefully someone can help me with.

I have two computers, a PC I built and a 2018 mac mini. Using handbrake on both, using the same settings with the same file and encoding with HEVC 10bit I get very different results.

The PC uses an Intel 5820 and the Mac uses an Intel 8700.

The encode that comes out of the macs 8700 is quite a bit smaller file size than the one produced by the 5820 and it also has noticeably better image quality. Why is that? I'm considering an upgrade and knowing why the file is both smaller with better quality would help me in choosing which processor for a new build.

Last edited by archer75; 16th October 2019 at 17:57.
archer75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2019, 17:59   #130  |  Link
Nico8583
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 744
Do you use the same handbrake version with the same third-party tools version ?
The OS are different so executable must be different (I don't know MAC OS very well).
Nico8583 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2019, 19:29   #131  |  Link
Nico8583
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 744
I think the OS but I'm not sure.
Nico8583 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2019, 05:52   #132  |  Link
RanmaCanada
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 102
Is one using quicksync and the other using pure software? Realistically there should be no difference between the 2 if you are using the exact same settings, profiles, etc.
RanmaCanada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2019, 01:02   #133  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,964
How big is the file size and quality gap? Does one of the systems have way more cores than the other? There used to be quality regressions using frame threading, although this has gotten quite a big better in recent years.
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2019, 11:47   #134  |  Link
DotJun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 23
Does anyone know why avx2 is being used when set to auto detect on my intel 7820x? I typically set it to avx512, but forgot to do so on my last batch.
DotJun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2019, 11:56   #135  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,621
Because AVX512 is not generally recommended, so you need to enable it manually if you want to use it. Basically you should test to see if you benefit from it or not, seems to depend on the case quite a lot.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2019, 12:13   #136  |  Link
DotJun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
Because AVX512 is not generally recommended, so you need to enable it manually if you want to use it. Basically you should test to see if you benefit from it or not, seems to depend on the case quite a lot.

Ok, I didn’t know it was excluded from auto detection, thanks for the info and I tested it a while back. My results showed a slight improvement in FPS, even with a negative offset, so I just stuck with it.
DotJun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2019, 13:24   #137  |  Link
hajj_3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 901
Quote:
Originally Posted by DotJun View Post
Ok, I didn’t know it was excluded from auto detection, thanks for the info and I tested it a while back. My results showed a slight improvement in FPS, even with a negative offset, so I just stuck with it.
AVX512 makes the processor too hot so the clock speed of the AVX portion is reduced and as a result it isn't very fast. I think Intel might have fixed that in their latest processors.
hajj_3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2019, 13:45   #138  |  Link
DotJun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by hajj_3 View Post
AVX512 makes the processor too hot so the clock speed of the AVX portion is reduced and as a result it isn't very fast. I think Intel might have fixed that in their latest processors.

Yep, that’s the reason for the negative offset. From the small amount of testing I did, avx512 still came out with slightly higher FPS even with a couple hundred mghz lower clock due to offset.

Though I will admit that I wouldn’t be able to run 512 if my computer wasn’t located in a 65-70f temp room.
DotJun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2019, 00:43   #139  |  Link
RanmaCanada
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by DotJun View Post
Yep, that’s the reason for the negative offset. From the small amount of testing I did, avx512 still came out with slightly higher FPS even with a couple hundred mghz lower clock due to offset.

Though I will admit that I wouldn’t be able to run 512 if my computer wasn’t located in a 65-70f temp room.
Ha with winter coming, you can just place it outside and run without an offset :P haha.
RanmaCanada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2019, 08:16   #140  |  Link
DotJun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 23
I had a chance to do a small sample test and here are my results:

system: 7820x oc'd to 4.4ghz with 32g of memory. A -3 offset was used for both avx2 and avx512 as explained below.

10 minute 1080p sample on auto detect: 5.38fps
10 minute 1080p sample on avx512: 5.72fps

5 minute 4k sample on auto detect: 0.84fps
5 minute 4k sample on avx512: 0.92fps

crf and slower settings were used on all samples.

The odd part is that both auto detect (avx2) and avx512 needed the same -3 offset or windows becomes unstable and crash. Also, avx2 ran 5-10c hotter than avx512, which is the opposite of what I thought would happen.

Results might be different on a longer sample clip, but I really didn't want to invest too much time into it since for whatever reason avx2 was pushing out more heat than what I am comfortable with.
DotJun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.