Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th March 2006, 17:58   #81  |  Link
Egh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by breez
(VMR7 seems to be the fallback renderer of choice in MPC).
i think it's more old preVMR renderer even.
Egh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2006, 02:47   #82  |  Link
futurex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 155
its definitely using haali renderer

i checked the "pin info" with haali, it says input is YUY2, then i checked dscaler's "pin info" and it says YV12 for "video out"

does that mean its not working correctly/efficiently? what should it be?

btw im using dscaler 5.0.0.8, elecard demuxer and ffdshow raw video (i havent set ffdshow to do any processing, it just passing the video through). im using a dvb mpeg2 stream

Last edited by futurex; 27th March 2006 at 02:50.
futurex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2006, 00:00   #83  |  Link
flanger216
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 140
Been playing around with this some more, and I've noticed I get little micro-tears in the video, similar to what VMR9 looks like when v-sync isn't working properly. For what it's worth, v-sync is forced-on in the drivers on my Radeon x1300.
flanger216 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2006, 00:06   #84  |  Link
breez
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by futurex
its definitely using haali renderer

i checked the "pin info" with haali, it says input is YUY2, then i checked dscaler's "pin info" and it says YV12 for "video out"

does that mean its not working correctly/efficiently? what should it be?

btw im using dscaler 5.0.0.8, elecard demuxer and ffdshow raw video (i havent set ffdshow to do any processing, it just passing the video through). im using a dvb mpeg2 stream
Ffdshow is doing the YV12 to YUY2 conversion for you, but it doesn't explain why there is no slowdown at beginning with dscaler...
breez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2006, 00:40   #85  |  Link
KoD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by flanger216
Been playing around with this some more, and I've noticed I get little micro-tears in the video, similar to what VMR9 looks like when v-sync isn't working properly. For what it's worth, v-sync is forced-on in the drivers on my Radeon x1300.
That's the tearing I was speaking about. I hope the next release will have it fixed.
KoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2006, 23:49   #86  |  Link
KoD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 552
Another issue: when playing something, if I pause the file the video still goes on for a little. Then I do a skip back for 5 seconds in MPC using the keyboard, I unpause playback but now the video is no longer synched to the audio. If I pause it again, skip back and unpause, video and audio are synched again.

Last edited by KoD; 5th April 2006 at 23:51.
KoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2006, 06:37   #87  |  Link
futurex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 155
check your cpu load when playing the file. i find it does that on hi def video, certainly not limited to haali's renderer
futurex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2006, 09:50   #88  |  Link
flanger216
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 140
Any plans on adding in some pixel-shader - based deinterlacing? That would be, well, sweet.
flanger216 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2006, 01:44   #89  |  Link
Egh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by flanger216
Any plans on adding in some pixel-shader - based deinterlacing? That would be, well, sweet.
In theory can be done, to my knowledge. I wonder if haali himself wishes to do that, though.
Egh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2006, 02:49   #90  |  Link
flanger216
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egh
In theory can be done, to my knowledge. I wonder if haali himself wishes to do that, though.
Yeah, I just assumed it could be done in a way similar to MPC's pixel-shader deinterlacer. Even a simple blend capability would be useful, IMO.
flanger216 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 17:00   #91  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,073
The new version (7/05/2006) unfortunately still freezes my system for about 15 seconds each time I start playback. Is there anything I can do about that?

My specs: WinXP, ATI Radeon 9800 Pro, AthlonXP 2800+
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 17:33   #92  |  Link
celtic_druid
Registered User
 
celtic_druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,171
Working ok here now.
Win2k SP4, ATI X1600 XT*1, X2 4200+

1-2sec delay.

My previous system I also had an excessive delay. Same video card as you to.
celtic_druid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 17:45   #93  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by celtic_druid
Working ok here now.
Win2k SP4, ATI X1600 XT*1, X2 4200+

1-2sec delay.

My previous system I also had an excessive delay. Same video card as you to.
So it seems to be an incompatibility between Haali Renderer and Radeon 9800 Pro...
Problem is, that it's not only a delay. It freezes the whole system.
For example if I have web-radio playing in background and start some video in MPC with Haali Renderer enabled, the radio will also freeze.

Too sad, because Haali Renderer gives good results...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 8th May 2006 at 17:49.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 17:56   #94  |  Link
celtic_druid
Registered User
 
celtic_druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,171
Don't think it frooze the system here. I could probably put together another PC with the 9800pro in it.
celtic_druid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 18:56   #95  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by celtic_druid
Don't think it frooze the system here. I could probably put together another PC with the 9800pro in it.
Maybe I should say that I use WinXP with SP-2, DirectX 9.0 (April 2006 release) and latest Omega Drivers.

EDIT: Updated to official Catalyst 6.4. No change...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 8th May 2006 at 20:02.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 22:03   #96  |  Link
Haali
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 282
Could it be an incompatibility with some version of ati video drivers? Haali Renderer allocates all available VRAM at start of playback if you don't limit it in the options, so it could cause some strange effects.
Haali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 22:25   #97  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haali
Could it be an incompatibility with some version of ati video drivers? Haali Renderer allocates all available VRAM at start of playback if you don't limit it in the options, so it could cause some strange effects.
I already have lastest official ATI drivers (Catalyst 6.4)
And I also tried latest Omega Drivers (based on Catalyst 6.3)
Problem unchanged with both!

I also limited VRAM to 16MB in the Haali Renderer settings (altough the 128MB of my Radeon 9800 Pro should be enough, eh?), but still no change.

So any suggestions, what can I do ???
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 22:31   #98  |  Link
Haali
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 282
I have no other ideas so far. I understand this happens only on ati 9800 cards, right?
Haali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 22:40   #99  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haali
I have no other ideas so far. I understand this happens only on ati 9800 cards, right?
Well, it happens to me and I have only my ATI 9800 Pro.

If it happends on other 9800 Pro's this card might be the problem.
But I think it's also possible, that my specific PC is the problem.

No idea so far. Are other 9800 Pro user's here?
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 23:00   #100  |  Link
Palikrovol
Registered User
 
Palikrovol's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Spain (Madrid)
Posts: 155
I have a AIW 9800SE with latest Omega drivers (6.3) and i think it's ok.
It gets 8 seconds to play the movie, but is played after all.

CPU increases very much when resize to full screen.
Palikrovol is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
haali, haali renderer

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.