Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > IFO/VOB Editors

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th April 2006, 09:35   #341  |  Link
President
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ukraine.
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoNS
Hmmm, President, that's strange. I'm running the app on a Danish version of Win2000 SP4 without problems.
Anyone else having similar problems?
It amazed me too:-((. What global differences between versions? I try to clean windows registry, but not found any suspicious key. I'm shocked:-(. System events log is also empty. What does it matter? May be new app use microsoft .NET or somewhat else?
President is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2006, 16:13   #342  |  Link
jeanl
Registered User
 
jeanl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,079
No no, no .net or anything, but you're not the only one with this problem, unfortunately, and I'm having a hard time figuring out what the heck is going on. Try this however: Remove the DVDSubEdit.ini file (it's in C:\Documents and Settings\YOURNAME\Application Data) and see if the app starts. If it does start, then close it and try to start it again. If it crashes at this point, I think I know what the problem is.

If that's the case edit the .ini file and remove the line
MainWindowPos= x y z o

and try to restart the app. If that does the trick, I'm going to have to look into a way to avoid that pain in the neck annoyance...
jeanl
__________________
A few PgcEdit guides.
DVDSubEdit a free tool to edit subtitles directly inside the vob.
jeanl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2006, 16:35   #343  |  Link
mpucoder
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 3,530
I had that problem with MuxMan, too - invalid or off-screen coordinates. I added a sanity check (within the bounds of the display).
Code:
   // create the window
   DlgSz.cx = 568;
   DlgSz.cy = 326 + 15;
   ConvertDialogUnitsToPixels(hDlgFont, &DlgSz);
   DlgSz.cx += 2*GetSystemMetrics(SM_CXFRAME) + 2*GetSystemMetrics(SM_CXFIXEDFRAME) ;
   DlgSz.cy += 2*GetSystemMetrics(SM_CYFRAME) + 2*GetSystemMetrics(SM_CYFIXEDFRAME)
   	+ GetSystemMetrics(SM_CYMENU) + GetSystemMetrics(SM_CYSMCAPTION);
   x = GetPrivateProfileInt("General","Left", CW_USEDEFAULT, "Muxman.ini");
   y = GetPrivateProfileInt("General","Top", CW_USEDEFAULT, "Muxman.ini");
   if (y < 0) y = 0;
   if ((y+50) > GetSystemMetrics ( SM_CYFULLSCREEN ) ) y = GetSystemMetrics ( SM_CYFULLSCREEN ) - 50;
   if ((x+(short)DlgSz.cx-100) < 0) x = (short)(100-DlgSz.cx);
   if ((x+100) > GetSystemMetrics ( SM_CXFULLSCREEN ) ) x = GetSystemMetrics ( SM_CXFULLSCREEN ) - 100;

   hWnd = CreateWindow( gszMuxmanClass, gszAppName,
	   WS_OVERLAPPED | WS_CAPTION | WS_SYSMENU | WS_THICKFRAME | WS_MINIMIZEBOX /*| WS_MAXIMIZEBOX*/ ,
	   x, y, DlgSz.cx, DlgSz.cy, NULL, NULL, hInstance, NULL ) ;

Last edited by mpucoder; 18th April 2006 at 16:44.
mpucoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2006, 16:58   #344  |  Link
jeanl
Registered User
 
jeanl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,079
Thanks mpucoder. In this case, I'm not sure the problem is invalid or off-screen coordinates. I've seen it happen with perfectly legit values for x y, cx and xy. The crash happens in a call to SetWindowPos (IIRC), and that makes not sense whatsoever...

Jeanl
__________________
A few PgcEdit guides.
DVDSubEdit a free tool to edit subtitles directly inside the vob.
jeanl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2006, 07:30   #345  |  Link
Mtz
Registered User
 
Mtz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: On The Beach
Posts: 714
jeanl, can you use the location of the ini file in the same folder as the user have DVDSubedit.exe?

enjoy,
Mtz
Mtz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2006, 07:32   #346  |  Link
jeanl
Registered User
 
jeanl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,079
Mtz, that wouldn't be a bad idea... I'm not sure why I selected that location, probably because most apps use it... But that makes it difficult to find the ini... I will add a shortcut to open the ini file automatically in notepad...
jeanl
__________________
A few PgcEdit guides.
DVDSubEdit a free tool to edit subtitles directly inside the vob.
jeanl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2006, 11:15   #347  |  Link
President
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ukraine.
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeanl
Try this however: Remove the DVDSubEdit.ini file (it's in C:\Documents and Settings\YOURNAME\Application Data)...
That's right. I deleted both files in this folder. That will do. Thank's.
*************************
Hmmm, sorry, it's me again. Apps start normally one time and crash again at the second start. I deleted "MainWindowPos" line from ini. A situation is repeat. First start nomally, second - crash.
My display resolution is 1280x1024 if it can help you.

Last edited by President; 19th April 2006 at 12:46.
President is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2006, 11:50   #348  |  Link
President
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ukraine.
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeanl
Mtz, that wouldn't be a bad idea...I will add a shortcut to open the ini file automatically in notepad...
One more idea. You place a first line in ini:
DVDSubEdit version 1.321
Apps check this line from each start and delete old or incorrectly modified file (then create a new ini) if any mismatch detected.
In this case users has not necessary know what is the ini-file in general:-).

Last edited by President; 19th April 2006 at 11:52.
President is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2006, 17:02   #349  |  Link
jeanl
Registered User
 
jeanl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,079
President, I know the problem. The first time is OK because the value isn't there, but then the second time you open DVDSubEdit, you get the crash. OK. I'm going to post a quick fix which will lookup a value in the .ini file to tell it whether to read the position or not. This will solve your problem, until I can get to the bottom of that stupid crash. Sorry about that...
Jeanl
__________________
A few PgcEdit guides.
DVDSubEdit a free tool to edit subtitles directly inside the vob.
jeanl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2006, 17:14   #350  |  Link
jeanl
Registered User
 
jeanl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,079
President, go to the home page, and update to version 1.322.
Edit your ini file and at the bottom add the line:
NoSize=1
The app should now start just fine, but it won't remember the last size/position you used. This should fix your problem for now...
Jeanl
__________________
A few PgcEdit guides.
DVDSubEdit a free tool to edit subtitles directly inside the vob.
jeanl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2006, 05:53   #351  |  Link
President
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ukraine.
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeanl
President, go to the home page, and update to version 1.322.
Edit your ini file and at the bottom add the line:
NoSize=1
The app should now start just fine, but it won't remember the last size/position you used. This should fix your problem for now...
Jeanl
Thank you very much. I don't extremely needed this app now (but I'll download update:-) ). I don't hurry you by no means. I just want to help you to improve a very good soft for all users. Thank's once more for fast response in any case.
*****************************
I downloaded update. All is Ok. Problem was killed:-).

Last edited by President; 20th April 2006 at 06:03.
President is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2006, 07:08   #352  |  Link
kumi
Straight to video
 
kumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 637
jeanl:

Would it be possible to add an extra option called "All DCSQTs" to the dropdown DCSQT chooser? I find myself with a track where some of the SPUs have up to 17 DCSQT commands If I want to change a value globally, like color, I have to run through the whole color-picker thing for each DCSQT, as it is right now.
kumi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2006, 07:14   #353  |  Link
jeanl
Registered User
 
jeanl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,079
Kumi, you're not the first one to mention/ask for that... I'll look into it. It might be a bit more complicated than it looks but I'll see... What I can probably include is an option, in the "Apply to all" dialog, to apply to all DCSQTs. Would that be OK?
jeanl
__________________
A few PgcEdit guides.
DVDSubEdit a free tool to edit subtitles directly inside the vob.
jeanl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2006, 09:52   #354  |  Link
kumi
Straight to video
 
kumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 637
Absolutely, that would work just as well. Thanks for considering it :o)
kumi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2006, 14:23   #355  |  Link
Skiro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 18
Is there possible to change text of selected subtitle?
I can erase but i can't change text.
Skiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2006, 14:24   #356  |  Link
jeanl
Registered User
 
jeanl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,079
kumi, I'm looking into it, but I'll need some time.
Skiro. No, not possible, very very very hard!
jeanl
__________________
A few PgcEdit guides.
DVDSubEdit a free tool to edit subtitles directly inside the vob.
jeanl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2006, 01:00   #357  |  Link
Mtz
Registered User
 
Mtz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: On The Beach
Posts: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeanl
Skiro. No, not possible, very very very hard!
jeanl
But if you'll make this someday, you'll "kill" many guides about "adding subtitle to a DVD". Also I wrote 2 guides about that in my native language. But no problem, I'll write another one for DVDSubEdit in my language. In english I'm sure that CoNS will write one. I'm sure many eyes are watching you regarding this when you are releasing new versions of the program.


enjoy,
Mtz
Mtz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2006, 01:04   #358  |  Link
jeanl
Registered User
 
jeanl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,079
Mtz, really I don't know how to do this well.
One way would be to go through subpics and find templates of each letter (assuming you can really cut a letter out from its neighbors, which usually you can't in a clean way) then cut/paste them anywhere you like... But this would be quite tricky, and would require there being subpics already in your DVD, so not good for adding subpics from scratch.
Besides, what people usually want to do is add another stream, which means finding space in the VOB for the new subpic packs, then muxing them in. That's even worse than retiming (where the overall size of the VOB does not change) because you're trying to add stuff here...
Given that there are some great tools (and guides) for doing it, I don't see the point of trying to implement that...
Jeanl
__________________
A few PgcEdit guides.
DVDSubEdit a free tool to edit subtitles directly inside the vob.
jeanl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2006, 23:25   #359  |  Link
Skiro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 18
I think that, if is it possibility to change subtitle whitch is already in VOB's.
Now we can only erase text in existing subtitle, not (that it'll be very useful) change letters in existing subtitle
Skiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2006, 17:44   #360  |  Link
jeanl
Registered User
 
jeanl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,079
Kumi, here's a quick update of DVDSubEdit
http://www.videohelp.com/~DVDSubEdit...bEdit1.323.zip
which implements the "select all DCSQT" feature. Just use the drop-down list to select all DCSQT. The slider and color adjustments will then be applied to all DCSQTs that have a color/contrast command. Apply to all will also apply to all DCSQTs if the corresponding checkbox is selected in the Apply to all panel...
Let me know if this does not work.
jeanl
__________________
A few PgcEdit guides.
DVDSubEdit a free tool to edit subtitles directly inside the vob.
jeanl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.