Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th February 2011, 04:32   #1  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,352
FFV1: ffms [error] x264

Im having problems decoding a FFV1 source in x264 r.1867 through ffms:
Quote:
ffms [error]: could not create video source
Do you recommend me lavf over ffms, maybe avs ffms2? isnt FFV1 supposed to be ffmpeg native codec? please update me

FFV1 15mb:
http://www.sendspace.com/file/oaptgp
__________________
i7-4790K@Stock::GTX 1070] AviSynth+ filters and mods on GitHub + Discussion thread
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2011, 04:59   #2  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,565
No problem here using 1913 patched from jeeb:
Code:
ffms [info]: 1280x688p 0:1 @ 24000/1001 fps (vfr)
Try a different build.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2011, 13:18   #3  |  Link
kemuri-_9
Compiling Encoder
 
kemuri-_9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,348
Code:
ffms [info]: 1280x688p 0:1 @ 24000/1001 fps (vfr)
also working fine here in my personal build.
__________________
custom x264 builds & patches | F@H | My Specs
kemuri-_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2011, 13:55   #4  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,352
I made some tests with the default x264-r.1867 x32 build from x264.nl and the 1867 JEEB patch:
Source same as post#1 but a trim of 696 frames:

lavf:
7:10seg
ffmpg
7:15seg
avs:
7:20seg

avs:
Quote:
setmtmode(5,2)
ffvideosource("source.avi",track=0)
All three had different quantization, but almost same SSIM quality, only eventually varying in 0.0001 units.
PSNR of ffmpg and avs were 52.1831dB and lavf 52.1614
My eye told me me ffmpg was slightly the most accurate.

Depending where I look at lavf also looks better, in any case there's more speed gain than quality loss, so I will stick to lavf for now.
__________________
i7-4790K@Stock::GTX 1070] AviSynth+ filters and mods on GitHub + Discussion thread

Last edited by Dogway; 26th February 2011 at 14:15.
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2011, 16:11   #5  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
why 1867? get a newer revision.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2011, 16:15   #6  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,352
yes, well, that's what I had been using for testings lately, its only for consistency. For the last encoding I use to use the most recent build.
__________________
i7-4790K@Stock::GTX 1070] AviSynth+ filters and mods on GitHub + Discussion thread
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2011, 17:24   #7  |  Link
Didée
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogway View Post
PSNR of ffmpg and avs were 52.1831dB and lavf 52.1614
PSNR of [what] against [what] ?

Quote:
My eye told me me ffmpg was slightly the most accurate.
Given that FFV1 is a lossless codec, any sort of difference actually is proof of a problem.
__________________
- We´re at the beginning of the end of mankind´s childhood -

My little flickr gallery. (Yes indeed, I do have hobbies other than digital video!)
Didée is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2011, 17:46   #8  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,352
lossless FFV1 against encoded file through lavf,ffmpg, and avs ffms2 decoders. Fidelity to the original lossless. Im assuming that encoding a file twice (with exact same settings) would give me a 1:1 similarity. Tell me if Im wrong.
For ssim and psnr I load them with ffms2 in avisynth.
__________________
i7-4790K@Stock::GTX 1070] AviSynth+ filters and mods on GitHub + Discussion thread
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2011, 19:02   #9  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,988
Lossless is lossless. You can encode the file as many times as you want, and if decoded properly will be mathematically identical to the original, uncompressed source.

If this is not the case, something in your workflow is not lossless

Derek
__________________
These are all my personal statements, not those of my employer :)
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2011, 19:45   #10  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,352
Maybe I lacked to say I lossy encoded to h.264 through lavf,ffmpg, and avs. But everything else is exactly the same.

Code:
FFV1--->lossy mp4 through --->lavf---> comparison: ffms2 decoded
                              ffmpg
                              avs
__________________
i7-4790K@Stock::GTX 1070] AviSynth+ filters and mods on GitHub + Discussion thread

Last edited by Dogway; 26th February 2011 at 19:51.
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2011, 20:05   #11  |  Link
J_Darnley
Registered User
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 957
So you want to test the same h264 decoder three times (assuming you use lavc through avisynth)?
__________________
x264 log explained || x264 deblocking how-to
preset -> tune -> user set options -> fast first pass -> profile -> level
Doom10 - Of course it's better, it's one more.
J_Darnley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2011, 20:12   #12  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,988
Ahh, yes. This makes sense now

You should get identical (or VERY close to identical) results regardless of how you get the video into x264, provided all other settings are matched.

Your metric scores could be hugely thrown off by an extra or missing frame. I'm guessing this is part of the reason you're doing this test?

Derek
__________________
These are all my personal statements, not those of my employer :)
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2011, 21:07   #13  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,352
so x264 doesn't produce identical encodes runned 2 times?
My test was only for decoding accurateness, but as you say (and I recall reading), once decoded is accurate quality wise. So now I don't know...
Maybe there is a mismatch between r.1867 and r.1867 JEEB builds. But avs, and lavfc decoded encodes are also different, and I used the exact same build. Must precise they are identical in the upper half of the image only.
__________________
i7-4790K@Stock::GTX 1070] AviSynth+ filters and mods on GitHub + Discussion thread

Last edited by Dogway; 27th February 2011 at 18:04.
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2011, 16:39   #14  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,352
just wanted to say that the guilty for not producing 2 identical encodes was gradfun2db. probably addgrainc.
__________________
i7-4790K@Stock::GTX 1070] AviSynth+ filters and mods on GitHub + Discussion thread

Last edited by Dogway; 28th February 2011 at 16:55.
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
error, ffms, ffv1, x264

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.