Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 9th March 2018, 19:14   #1721  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by tormento View Post
@Lord_Mulder

Do you plan to add HDR support?
I have no idea. What changes in GUI you would be required to "add HDR support"

(If you are referring to "HDR support" support in x264 or x265, you would have to ping the x264/x265 developers. That's not my business)
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 9th March 2018 at 19:17.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2018, 00:02   #1722  |  Link
AYColumbia
Registered User
 
AYColumbia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 46
Hi,
I just installed the latest NVIDIA driver 397.31 and now avs2yuv_x64.exe crashes. I found the info below in the event viewer. Note that rolling driver back to prior version 391.35 works fine. I confirmed this on my laptop (GeForce GTX 960M) and my media server (Geforce GTX 650).
Code:
Faulting application name: avs2yuv_x64.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x57b61de5
Faulting module name: nvcuda.dll, version: 24.21.13.9731, time stamp: 0x5adc2e79
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00000000001280ef
Faulting process id: 0x5c4
Faulting application start time: 0x01d3ddb05c0c63d7
Faulting application path: c:\MultiMediaTools\Simple x264 Launcher v2\toolset\x64\avs2yuv_x64.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\nvcuda.dll
Report Id: 282ad1ed-1fca-41a4-bc35-68fffdc1550e
Faulting package full name: 
Faulting package-relative application ID:
I run the line below to get info I need like # of frames which has been working flawlessly until the new driver.
Code:
cmd /c ""c:\MultiMediaTools\Simple x264 Launcher v2\toolset\x64\avs2yuv_x64.exe" -frames 1 "media_p1.avs" NUL 2>&1"
The avs file only has two lines, i.e.,
Code:
LoadPlugin("c:\MultiMediaTools\DGDecNV\x64 Binaries\DGDecodeNV.dll") 
DGSource("media_p1.dgi")
I was able to load/play the avs file in vdub64 just to be sure. Let me know if you need any other info.
AYColumbia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2018, 12:55   #1723  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 980
Quote:
Originally Posted by AYColumbia View Post
Hi,I just installed the latest NVIDIA driver 397.31 and now avs2yuv_x64.exe crashes.
Same here. Did not try to rollback yet but same symptoms.

MeGUI_x64 gives errors too.

EDIT: rollback to 391.35 and error disappeared. Very strange indeed.
__________________
@turment on Telegram

Last edited by tormento; 27th April 2018 at 13:11.
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2018, 07:18   #1724  |  Link
Jim_Pansen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 20
Feature Request: field to locate the chapter index files

Hi Mulder,

thank you very much for this helpful tool.

Could you please add a regular field to locate a chapter index file to can assign it to a job more easy?
Parameter --qpfile QPFILE_NAME
http://www.x264bluray.com/advanced-features/chapters

The parameter would be best controlled in the GUI since the cmd line is not much handy for modifications.
An the file must be changed for each file!

Another feature request is to can define different speed for first pass in 2-pass mode.

Thanks to consider about it
best regards
Jim

Last edited by Jim_Pansen; 28th April 2018 at 08:07.
Jim_Pansen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2018, 09:04   #1725  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by AYColumbia View Post
I just installed the latest NVIDIA driver 397.31 and now avs2yuv_x64.exe crashes.
It seems that this version of the driver is full of problems. I have read here (in French) that if you install it for a GTX 1060, the installer asks to reboot the computer after each reboot! nVidia is currently working on a solution. Perhaps the solution will fix the avs2yuv bug too.
In the meantime, the article suggests to skip this update, or, if it has already been installed, use the Display Driver Uninstaller and then re-install the previous version (v391.35).
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV

Last edited by r0lZ; 28th April 2018 at 09:13.
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2018, 14:21   #1726  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by AYColumbia View Post
Hi,
I just installed the latest NVIDIA driver 397.31 and now avs2yuv_x64.exe crashes. I found the info below in the event viewer. Note that rolling driver back to prior version 391.35 works fine. I confirmed this on my laptop (GeForce GTX 960M) and my media server (Geforce GTX 650).
Code:
Faulting application name: avs2yuv_x64.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x57b61de5
Faulting module name: nvcuda.dll, version: 24.21.13.9731, time stamp: 0x5adc2e79
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00000000001280ef
Faulting process id: 0x5c4
Faulting application start time: 0x01d3ddb05c0c63d7
Faulting application path: c:\MultiMediaTools\Simple x264 Launcher v2\toolset\x64\avs2yuv_x64.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\nvcuda.dll
Report Id: 282ad1ed-1fca-41a4-bc35-68fffdc1550e
Faulting package full name: 
Faulting package-relative application ID:
I run the line below to get info I need like # of frames which has been working flawlessly until the new driver.
Code:
cmd /c ""c:\MultiMediaTools\Simple x264 Launcher v2\toolset\x64\avs2yuv_x64.exe" -frames 1 "media_p1.avs" NUL 2>&1"
The avs file only has two lines, i.e.,
Code:
LoadPlugin("c:\MultiMediaTools\DGDecNV\x64 Binaries\DGDecodeNV.dll") 
DGSource("media_p1.dgi")
I was able to load/play the avs file in vdub64 just to be sure. Let me know if you need any other info.
Well, avs2yuv_x64.exe is just the "wrapper" around Avisynth.DLL. So, if you see crashes in avs2yuv_x64.exe, it is almost certainly not a problem in avs2yuv_x64.exe itself but a crash in Avisynth.

Furthermore, as long as you are using the "official" stable version of Avisyth, crashes in Avisynth are caused by "buggy" plug-ins more often than not.

Here the case seems quite clear: You are using "DGDecodeNV.dll" plug-in (GPU-based decoder DLL) and that seems to not work correctly with latest NVIDIA driver. The crash of avs2yuv_x64.exe is just the symptom of the underlying problem.

I cannot say whether there is a bug in "DGDecodeNV.dll" (which I don't have) that happens to trigger with latest NVIDIA driver, or whether the latest NVIDIA driver is bugged. Comments by others seem to indicate the latter...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 28th April 2018 at 14:33.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2018, 14:29   #1727  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim_Pansen View Post
Hi Mulder,

thank you very much for this helpful tool.

Could you please add a regular field to locate a chapter index file to can assign it to a job more easy?
Parameter --qpfile QPFILE_NAME
http://www.x264bluray.com/advanced-features/chapters

The parameter would be best controlled in the GUI since the cmd line is not much handy for modifications.
An the file must be changed for each file!
This seems a bit specific for me to justify another GUI option.

If you need to use a different "--qpfile" for each input file, you can use the variables "$(INPUT)" or "$(OUTPUT)" in your custom parameters...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim_Pansen View Post
Another feature request is to can define different speed for first pass in 2-pass mode.

Thanks to consider about it
best regards
Jim
x264 and x265 automatically applies "faster" settings to the first pass of a 2-Pass encode, unless you specify "--slow-first-pass" option.

The idea is that you can use the same settings (Preset) for both passes and still the encoder automatically uses "faster" settings in the first pass for those settings that won't effect the 2nd pass...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 28th April 2018 at 14:32.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2018, 19:03   #1728  |  Link
AYColumbia
Registered User
 
AYColumbia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 46
@r0lZ,
Thanks for the info. I'll wait for the next driver release.

@LoRd_MuldeR,
I think you're right as what you said makes sense. Hopefully next driver release fixes the current mess.

Last edited by AYColumbia; 28th April 2018 at 19:06. Reason: Added LoRd_MuldeR note
AYColumbia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2018, 19:15   #1729  |  Link
Jim_Pansen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
This seems a bit specific for me to justify another GUI option.
Mmmh, it's needed to define precise chapter points for Blu-ray compatible streams.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
If you need to use a different "--qpfile" for each input file, you can use the variables "$(INPUT)" or "$(OUTPUT)" in your custom parameters...
Thank you for the hint, but sorry, I don't know exactly what to do.
Sure I know how to drop the parameter into the line of custom parameters.
But I must admit, I'm not familar with the syntax, is it propritairy?
I can put it into the custom parameter line and add the job to queue.
But what happens next? Where has the files and folders to be defined?
Will simpleX264 launcher ask me for that?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
x264 and x265 automatically applies "faster" settings to the first pass of a 2-Pass encode, unless you specify "--slow-first-pass" option.

The idea is that you can use the same settings (Preset) for both passes and still the encoder automatically uses "faster" settings in the first pass for those settings that won't effect the 2nd pass...
Thanks!

Do you consider about capabilities to can re-edit jobs already in queue?
Do you even consider about to can save and restore queues like a project?

best
Jim

Last edited by Jim_Pansen; 28th April 2018 at 19:21.
Jim_Pansen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2018, 19:28   #1730  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim_Pansen View Post
Thank you for the hint, but sorry, I don't know exactly what to do.
Sure I know how to drop the parameter into the line of custom parameters.
But I must admit, I'm not familar with the syntax, is it propritairy?
I can put it into the custom parameter line and add the job to queue.
But what happens next? Where has the files and folders to be defined?
Will simpleX264 launcher ask me for that?
It is explained in the program



Instead of writing a specific file name, such as --qpfile "c:\foo\bar\baz.qpfile", you can, for example, write --qpfile "$(INPUT).qpfile".

This is going to load the file "<whatever_the_input_file_is>.qpfile" as the qpfile.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim_Pansen View Post
Do you consider about to re-edit jobs already in queue?
Just select "Restart Job", which effectively clones the existing into a new one and also allows you to edit the job.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim_Pansen View Post
Do you even consider about to can save and restore queues like a project?
Not at this point, sorry.
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2018, 21:31   #1731  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
x264 and x265 automatically applies "faster" settings to the first pass of a 2-Pass encode, unless you specify "--slow-first-pass" option.
This is not true for x265 anymore.

http://x265.readthedocs.io/en/defaul...slow-firstpass
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2018, 22:14   #1732  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
In what way? Seems to do exactly what one would expect:

x265:
Quote:
--slow-firstpass, --no-slow-firstpass

Enable first pass encode with the exact settings specified. The quality in subsequent multi-pass encodes is better (compared to first pass) when the settings match across each pass. Default enabled.

When slow first pass is disabled, a turbo encode with the following go-fast options is used to improve performance:
[…]
x264:
Quote:
--slow-firstpass

Don't force these faster settings with --pass 1:
[…]
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 28th April 2018 at 22:17.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2018, 22:18   #1733  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,121
Quote:
Enable first pass encode with the exact settings specified. The quality in subsequent multi-pass encodes is better (compared to first pass) when the settings match across each pass. Default enabled.


Quote:
Version 2.0
Release date - 13th July, 2016

- multi-pass: First pass now uses slow-firstpass by default, enabling better RC decisions in future passes
http://x265.readthedocs.io/en/defaul...ml#version-2-0
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2018, 23:27   #1734  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,929
Okay, so x265 now has "--slow-firstpass" enabled by default, and you actually have to pass "--no-slow-firstpass" in order to get faster settings in the first pass.

Doesn't change the basic idea though: We still can use the same settings for both passes, and simply add "--no-slow-firstpass" in order to speed up the first pass (instead of adding "--slow-firstpass" in order to not peed up the first pass).
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2018, 02:59   #1735  |  Link
Jim_Pansen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
This is going to load the file "<whatever_the_input_file_is>.qpfile" as the qpfile.
This works really fine!
I did not realize the mouse-over description!
Thank you very much!

Jim
Jim_Pansen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2018, 16:14   #1736  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 980
397.55 out

Any hero to try?

EDIT: Tried and same error. Back to past.
__________________
@turment on Telegram

Last edited by tormento; 5th May 2018 at 10:20.
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 17:34   #1737  |  Link
AYColumbia
Registered User
 
AYColumbia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by tormento View Post
397.55 out

Any hero to try?

EDIT: Tried and same error. Back to past.
I use DGDecNV so I checked the forum there and sure enough someone did report issues that are fixed in the latest DG tools slipstream of 2053. If you're using this, then grab the latest. I did and it does now work fine with 397.31 which didn't prior. I normally don't install hot fix releases but just the official releases but I'm sure it'll work fine with .55 too.
AYColumbia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2018, 16:08   #1738  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,929
Simple x264 Launcher v2.87
https://github.com/lordmulder/Simple...ases/tag/v2.87

Quote:
Version 2.87 [2018-05-11]
* Updated x265 to version 2.7+348
* Updated NVEncC to version 4.01
* Updated build environment to Visual Studio 2017 with Update-7
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2018, 23:52   #1739  |  Link
jorX
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
In my XP - SP3 install, any version following the 2.84 doesn't works;
It says: "process exited with error code: -1073741511" without further explanation(s).
Any hints?
Thank you
jorX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2018, 08:07   #1740  |  Link
lansing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 993
How do I set bit depth for NVEncC? I tried to put "--output-depth 10" on the custom parameter but it gave me the warning "forbidden parameter".
lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.