Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 20th April 2005, 17:09   #1  |  Link
Bluedan
Registered User
 
Bluedan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: were people always get wet feet
Posts: 328
Multiple media stream selection in DirectShowplayer with Haali's splitter

There (still) seems to be an issue with playback of multiple media stream container in combination with Haali's splitter (v19-04-2005)
Tested it with Matroska, tested MP4 as well some time ago.
Used bsplayer v1.2.2build817 and core media player v4.02.
Same scene:
Chapter definitions are recognized by player, but one is unable to choose between different audio or subtitle streams within the players options.
I know that the switch is possible through the system tray icon.
But I find this not desireable, for I had to minimize the player window to get access to the tray, which is awkward.
Hotkeys in player are essential.
On top of this after having switched subs, bsplayer "looses" the subtitle display - it stops showing them - in case I start seeking.
When I switch audio stream the player does not recognize the "new language" though it plays it.
IIRC, the same behavior applies to MP4 files but I didn't test again 'cause I have no mp4 at hand ATM.
My naive conclusion is that the splitter has to be adapted to player commands. The matroska splitter from gabest had the same functionality
__________________
I'm probably misconfused...
Bluedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2005, 17:52   #2  |  Link
Bluedan
Registered User
 
Bluedan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: were people always get wet feet
Posts: 328
update

Further investigation:

MP4 container: Subs don't show up at all, neither with internal sub renderer (bsplayer) nor with vsfilter autoload (TCM).
When trying to switch subs through Haali tray icon an error message occurs, but only with the first try:

Mkx:
Reconnect error: 80040111

The players don't crash.


BTW: Getting rid of NeroDigitalParser (splitter) in filter graph is a pain in the a**. Even reinstalling Haalis splitter and changing the merrits (Radlight F. Manager) doesn't have the desired effect. Really strange.
Finally I had to unregister Nero's splitter...
__________________
I'm probably misconfused...
Bluedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2005, 20:13   #3  |  Link
JoeBG
stupid
 
JoeBG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cologne
Posts: 638
Re: update

Quote:
Originally posted by Bluedan

Finally I had to unregister Nero's splitter...
That´s what we all did
__________________
cu

Joe
------------------------
freedom is just another word for nothing left to loose
JoeBG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2005, 21:35   #4  |  Link
Bluedan
Registered User
 
Bluedan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: were people always get wet feet
Posts: 328
But how could that be?
The merrit stuff is supposed to work, no?
Or is Nero doing 'dirty' (direct show) tricks?
__________________
I'm probably misconfused...
Bluedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2005, 22:59   #5  |  Link
bond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,779
the filter with the higher merit gets used by default, and nero has a higher merit as haali
__________________
Between the weak and the strong one it is the freedom which oppresses and the law that liberates (Jean Jacques Rousseau)
I know, that I know nothing (Socrates)

MPEG-4 ASP FAQ | AVC/H.264 FAQ | AAC FAQ | MP4 FAQ | MP4Menu stores DVD Menus in MP4 (guide)
Ogg Theora | Ogg Vorbis
use WM9 today and get Micro$oft controlling the A/V market tomorrow for free
bond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2005, 23:24   #6  |  Link
Bluedan
Registered User
 
Bluedan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: were people always get wet feet
Posts: 328
Quote:
the filter with the higher merit gets used by default, and nero has a higher merit as haali
Yes, and I tried to change that with the radlight filter manager.
Afterwards I verified that the merrit values had really changed, but still the Nero Splitter appeared in the filter chain.
AFAIR, both originally carried the value normal, so I assigned normal+1 to Haali and (just for stupidity) NeroDigitalParser to do not use.

But this is not the main issue, for I found a dirty and quick solution for dirty tricks, it's much more the stream switching thing.
I think this is supposed to be different than in its current existence.
I will shut my mouth immediately, if someone tells me that it's on mike's TODO list...

He's my only hope for AVC in matroska.Otherwise I wouldn't have crosse d the lines and left gabest splitter behind.
__________________
I'm probably misconfused...
Bluedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2005, 08:53   #7  |  Link
iapir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 93
About the impossibility to select streams from within your player, it's because your player doesn't support a COM interface that Haali uses (and defined by Microsoft AFAIK). MPC, TCMP and other playes have been updated recently to handle that...
iapir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2005, 09:33   #8  |  Link
Bluedan
Registered User
 
Bluedan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: were people always get wet feet
Posts: 328
Quote:
[...]MPC, TCMP and other playes have been updated recently to handle that...
Certain? I don't know about MPC for I don't have it installed, but I have tested the latest 4.02 version (or is there a newer one for the privileged ?) of TCMP with that with the above mentioned result!
__________________
I'm probably misconfused...
Bluedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2005, 12:18   #9  |  Link
DAvenger
hacked
 
DAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Bratislava, Slovak Republic
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally posted by bond
the filter with the higher merit gets used by default, and nero has a higher merit as haali
With RadLight 4 you can easily set a prefered splitter/decoder for all formats. No need to fight merit issues
__________________
Pokec o sexe, láske a vzťahoch : http://www.mojvztah.sk

Spyware, malware a vírusy : http://www.antispyware.sk

Hudba, texty, akordy, noty, albumy, mp3 a videoklipy : http://www.musicworld.sk
DAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2005, 13:34   #10  |  Link
yaz
n00b ever
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 627
Quote:
Originally posted by DAvenger
With RadLight 4 you can easily set a prefered splitter/decoder for all formats. No need to fight merit issues
yep ... and the same can be done w/mpc too.
the bests
y
yaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2005, 11:58   #11  |  Link
JoeBG
stupid
 
JoeBG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cologne
Posts: 638
Quote:
Originally posted by iapir
TCMP and other playes have been updated recently to handle that...
I can´t see the different audiostreams or subtitels in TCMP, updated yesterday. Youst Zoom Player and MPC can handle all streams from Haali´s splitter.
__________________
cu

Joe
------------------------
freedom is just another word for nothing left to loose
JoeBG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2005, 11:59   #12  |  Link
iapir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 93
I think the TCMP version is not released yet. I guess you should wait for the next release or shout to the CoreCodec guys
iapir is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.