Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Old 15th December 2004, 22:50   #1  |  Link
Antitorgo

AviShader (Hardware assisted avisynth plugin)

Hi folks, been a long time lurker.

I've been really interested in the prospect of doing hardware assisted plugin for AviSynth, and have been playing around with the ATI Video Shader demo that uses the pixel shaders on modern graphics cards to do video manipulation. The demo has some pretty cool HLSL files that do some processing of some sort, and even have one that will perform an FFT/iFFT and I was getting like 15fps on my laptop.

So, being that I'm a developer, and have a little bit of free time on my hands, I've started development on what I'm calling "AviShader". It is a plugin that I'm basing off of the SimpleSample plugin that Si put together (great job BTW), and the ATI Video Shader demo.

I'm wondering if anyone else has done any work in this area (I don't think so), and wanted some advise/input/thoughts from you folks on things you'd like to see, or things I should watch out for. I'm aware of the usual arguments that reading video memory is too slow etc, etc. However, I'm not sure how slow it really is. If I could get 5fps on something that does the same thing as IIP and uses very little of my CPU, that would be a huge improvement. Plus, with PCIX, I think the video card slow read issue isn't going to apply much longer (Look at the nVidia's TurboCache that the anounced today, it renders to system memory).