Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Linux, Mac OS X, & Co
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 27th April 2004, 22:49   #1  |  Link
KpeX

5.1 AC3 > 5.1 AAC under linux?

Hi -

Has anyone succeeded in converting 5.1 AC3 to 5.1 AAC under linux (using FAAC)? FFMPEG doesn't appear to support 5.1 AAC encoding, only stereo, and I haven't found anything that supports piping a 5.1 pcm stream to FAAC.
KpeX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2004, 08:11   #2  |  Link
-NoXy-

hi, this is my first post here on the forums and i'm a noob :-)
I have to say that it was hard not to be able to post for 5 days but worth it - i learned a lot.
but still i might have the answer to ur question though i ve never heard of AAC be4 and i dont know the exact definition for a 5.1 output (supposed 6 channels~ correct me if im wrong).
after some minutes of reading man pages and an 'emerge faac' i came up with this:

mkfifo audiodump.wav
faac audiodump.wav test.aac & mplayer dvd://1 -vo null -vc null -ao pcm -channels 6 >/dev/null
rm audiodump.wav

and i got a 6 channels dump or so it seems as mplayer tells me its 6 channels and faac does a clean remapping of the channels.

hope it helped

Last edited by -NoXy-; 28th April 2004 at 08:14.
-NoXy- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2004, 19:58   #3  |  Link
KpeX

Thanks for the suggestion, I didn't have time to test until recently. Although the pipe appears to work, unfortunately, the resultant stream is pure static.
Old 8th May 2004, 16:25   #4  |  Link
The Shemeta

That works for me. finally i am able to create 5.1ch AAC file. the problem is that faad2 has problem playing them for now. hopefully it will be fixed soon. this is what i used:

mkfifo audiodump.wav