Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-2 Encoding

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 31st March 2004, 06:20   #1  |  Link
Amnon82
Paldo-GNU/LinuxMaintainer
 
Amnon82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,580
Daily FFMPEG BUILDS

Here is the newest FFMPEG Build:

CVS 12.04.04 MinGW - AC3 Encoding/Decoding enabled

Have Fun

P.S.

It supports padding now.
So You can add borders on each side of the frame.


Last edited by Amnon82; 12th April 2004 at 11:36.
Amnon82 is offline  
Old 31st March 2004, 09:56   #2  |  Link
katjarella
woman @ german doom9
 
katjarella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 117
DANKE !!!
__________________
katjarella by Creyskull Visuell Design
katjarella is offline  
Old 31st March 2004, 14:10   #3  |  Link
tickey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 54
Re: Daily FFMPEG BUILDS

Quote:
Originally posted by Amnon82
Here is the newest FFMPEG Build:

CVS 31.03.04 MinGW - AC3 Encoding enabled

Have Fun
I think AC3 encoding was always enabled. AC3 DECODING wasn't until you did yesterday.
Is that what you mean or am I wrong?
PS, I have not had time to look for the command line for proper 5.1 decoding, will try and do it 2day.
tickey is offline  
Old 31st March 2004, 14:49   #4  |  Link
celtic_druid
Registered User
 
celtic_druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,173
Option is --enable-a52 (enable GPL'ed A52 support [default=no]) so I would assume that it is for both decoding and encoding, unlike aac where you have faad and faac.
celtic_druid is offline  
Old 31st March 2004, 17:08   #5  |  Link
tickey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally posted by celtic_druid
Option is --enable-a52 (enable GPL'ed A52 support [default=no]) so I would assume that it is for both decoding and encoding, unlike aac where you have faad and faac.
The subject came up here: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...0&pagenumber=1


From: http://ffmpeg.sourceforge.net/faq.html
Quote:
1.7 Why Audio is not decoded in VOB files ?
AC3 decoding is optional as the codec is currently released under the GPL. Enable it with ./configure --enable-a52. Take care: by enabling AC3, you automatically change the license of libavcodec from LGPL to GPL
Apparently AC3 decoding is not automatically enablabled.
Try it in ffmpeggui you will see it will not read ac3 or avi w/ac3 audio.

Avalon enabled it in his build @ the above link.
It works great on AC3 2 channel and very fast(4xbesweet)but the gui was not written to handle this function so it mishandles ac3 5.1 and the result is not acceptable in that case.
So we are looking for the proper command for ac3 5.1 channel decoding and then Avalon said he will make the gui 4 it.
I just haven't had the time to go looking 4 it and testing out the options, maybe later 2day.
tickey is offline  
Old 31st March 2004, 17:21   #6  |  Link
Mug Funky
interlace this!
 
Mug Funky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: i'm in ur transfers, addin noise
Posts: 4,555
nice. i appreciate you compiling and hosting these binaries...

one question about the ac3 thing... is ffmpeg able to be piped to through stdin? i'd LOVE to be able to encode ac3 through foobar2000's CLI option.
__________________
sucking the life out of your videos since 2004
Mug Funky is offline  
Old 1st April 2004, 00:20   #7  |  Link
Amnon82
Paldo-GNU/LinuxMaintainer
 
Amnon82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,580
nice to see that people like the small things I can do.

@tickey: It was 04:00 AM as I compiled the Build of today. Encoding/decoding ... It was to early to get a clear mind...
Next update maybe tomorrow morning...
Amnon82 is offline  
Old 1st April 2004, 06:25   #8  |  Link
Amnon82
Paldo-GNU/LinuxMaintainer
 
Amnon82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,580
New version online. Anyway, did somebody here a SVCD encode?
For example I've a 16:9 Source and want a SVCD in the right aspect ratio. I managed to get the rigth resolution with cropping:

464x430 but I didn't get managed to add borders to get a valid 480x576 resolution.

It will be nice to find out how to do proper resizing in ffmpeg. Or isn't there a way encoding 4:3 SVCD out of 16:9 without Eggheads?
Amnon82 is offline  
Old 1st April 2004, 15:54   #9  |  Link
Mozart
DVD2SVCD Former Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brasil
Posts: 562
addborders is called by people in the linux world as "padding". There is a post at ffmpeg-devel-maillist from somebody who created a patch for ffmpeg so that it could be able to "pad" a video encoding.
Mozart is offline  
Old 1st April 2004, 22:18   #10  |  Link
Amnon82
Paldo-GNU/LinuxMaintainer
 
Amnon82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,580
K, Mozart my friend. Can You link me the patch? I'll try to build it into the windows version. Then we all have this feature also in windows.
If You can link also the source of the patch.
Amnon82 is offline  
Old 2nd April 2004, 07:18   #11  |  Link
Amnon82
Paldo-GNU/LinuxMaintainer
 
Amnon82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,580
Today I'm trying something new. this is the line I used for compiling ffmpeg:

./configure --enable-a52 --enable-pp

So preprocessing is now also activated.

Last edited by Amnon82; 2nd April 2004 at 07:23.
Amnon82 is offline  
Old 2nd April 2004, 14:21   #12  |  Link
Mozart
DVD2SVCD Former Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brasil
Posts: 562
have a look at here.

It is possible to get a lot of information from mailist. The only problem is that it is a huge mess... For example: if you want to get a .mpv output, use -f mpeg1video -vcodec mpeg2video video.mpv

[edit]sourceforge mail list goes down from time to time. If you cannot connect at this moment, try again latter.[/edit]

Last edited by Mozart; 2nd April 2004 at 17:51.
Mozart is offline  
Old 2nd April 2004, 21:51   #13  |  Link
Amnon82
Paldo-GNU/LinuxMaintainer
 
Amnon82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,580
Mozart the problem is how to use a maillist. (maybe stupied...). I mailed to one and now I got emails about this thema. I think thats the way it goes or not. It is not a forum like here where somebody post a question and somebody else answers it. I'll take a look on the link you given me.
Amnon82 is offline  
Old 2nd April 2004, 22:33   #14  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,983
I don't know about this specific one, but from those I know, you'll probably have to write your mail not to one member, but to a specific mailing list address, to have all members at once informed.

But I don't remember the name of that famous, so often used, mailing-list daemon - how was it called...
LigH is offline  
Old 2nd April 2004, 23:02   #15  |  Link
Amnon82
Paldo-GNU/LinuxMaintainer
 
Amnon82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,580
I see. This is also what I found out. This system is creasy, but if it works...
Amnon82 is offline  
Old 5th April 2004, 18:16   #16  |  Link
tickey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 54
Some results re ffmpeg ac3 decoding/encoding.
AC3 2.0 channel@X_bitrate to AC3 2.0 channel@X_bitrate-pass
AC3 5.1 channel@X_bitrate to AC3 5.1 channel@X_bitrate-pass
AC3 2.0 channel@X_bitrate to mp2 2 channel@X_bitrate-pass
AC3 5.1 channel@X_bitrate to mp2 2 channel@X_bitrate-fail: appends 3x2 channels end to end
mp3/avi 2 channel@X_bitrate to AC3 2.0 channel@X_bitrate-pass
mp3/avi 2 channel@X_bitrate to mp2 2 channel@X_bitrate-pass

I couldn't sort out the ac3 5.1 channel to mp2 (for svcd/vcd people).
If someone has the command line for this that works, please post.
Myself I use the AC3 5.1 channel@X_bitrate to AC3 5.1 channel@X_bitrate for reducing the size of my ac3 for my KDVDs(3 short/2 long movies/dvd).

Just as a short comparison I tested AC3 5.1 channel@X_bitrate to AC3 5.1 channel@X_bitrate on the new BeSweet on a short/fixed 10 min ac3 file-just reintroduced today.
BeSweet:82 secs
FFMpeg:approx. 60 secs

Special thanks to Avalon for enabling this great feature in ffmpeg.
Sample cli
Code:
path\ffmpeg.exe -ab 256 -ar 48000 -ac 6 -acodec ac3 -i path\input.ac3 path\output.ac3
Transodes an ac3 5.1 to ac3 5.1
It is also being discussed here.
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...0&pagenumber=2
I will also post this in the audio section, as that's were it belongs but I wanted to wrap up loose ends in this tread.

Last edited by tickey; 5th April 2004 at 18:22.
tickey is offline  
Old 5th April 2004, 19:14   #17  |  Link
Amnon82
Paldo-GNU/LinuxMaintainer
 
Amnon82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,580
tickey you're a realy thankfull man...
Amnon82 is offline  
Old 5th April 2004, 22:36   #18  |  Link
lithoc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 95
Does it has volume level for each channel? For FR,FL,Center,SR,SL and Subwoofer? I find BeSweet have this feature.
lithoc is offline  
Old 6th April 2004, 00:04   #19  |  Link
Amnon82
Paldo-GNU/LinuxMaintainer
 
Amnon82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,580
I didn't test this ac3encode feature. I don't think so...
Amnon82 is offline  
Old 6th April 2004, 04:46   #20  |  Link
tickey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally posted by lithoc
Does it has volume level for each channel? For FR,FL,Center,SR,SL and Subwoofer? I find BeSweet have this feature.
Not that I know of. If you need those features use besweet.
Adjusting those settings do not always yeild a good result.
Myself, I don't adjust those settings so i use ffmpeg.
tickey is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.