Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Subtitles

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 31st January 2004, 16:32   #1  |  Link
chipzoller
Mr. Woof
 
chipzoller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 784
Convert text subs back to VobSubs?

Isn't there ANY way at all to convert text based subs like SSA or SRT back to bitmap format so VobSub can burn them (via AVS script) permanently to an AVI???



Chip
chipzoller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2004, 19:49   #2  |  Link
Liisachan
李姗倩 Lǐ Shān Qin
 
Liisachan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,140
SRT/SSA -> VobSub (idx+sub) is possible with MaestroSBT + son2vobsub , a new tool by Yusaku.

That way is better than SubLog.

The only problem is, MaestroSBT doesn't support Unicode...
Liisachan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2004, 21:51   #3  |  Link
chipzoller
Mr. Woof
 
chipzoller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 784
Great! Just what I was looking for. Hopefully future versions will support Unicode but this will do for now.

Thank you!
chipzoller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2004, 07:23   #4  |  Link
Liisachan
李姗倩 Lǐ Shān Qin
 
Liisachan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,140
you're welcome chipzoller
but, just out of curiosity, in which scenario do you need to use IDX+SUB to hardsub AVI? I'm not a heavy AVS user, so tell me if i'm wrong, but I think that if what you want to do is just hardsubbing SRT/SSA, something like this would work too, and would be easier and the result would be more beautiful, wouldnt it?
Code:
LoadPlugin("...\vsfilter.dll")
AVISource("...\raw.avi")
TextSub("...\sub.ssa")
Like I said, i dont know well about AVS, so plz forgive me if I'm saying something ridiculous and/or too obvious...
Liisachan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2004, 15:11   #5  |  Link
chipzoller
Mr. Woof
 
chipzoller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 784
Well, I'm attempting to do a high-quality Anime TV series and in that case you would want the subs on all the time.

Yes, I thought of plugging some lines like that into an AVS script but I didn't know how to go about it etc. I still don't know how to go about it. The problem is, if you use SSAs and you already have encoded your AVI, then you have to go back to VirtualDub, select your movie with the SSA filter and subs, then recompress the movie (I just did one pass, fast recompress) because Direct Stream Copy won't put the subs in.

Soooo, I wanted to know how to convert back to VobSub so I wouldn't have to go through all that. I want to extract my subs, edit them, and burn them in the AVI all in one encode.

Any advise?


Chip
chipzoller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2004, 11:10   #6  |  Link
Liisachan
李姗倩 Lǐ Shān Qin
 
Liisachan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,140
i'm not quite sure if i understand what you mean correctly, but if your purpose is higher quality, I'm afraid SSA->IDX+SUB conversion is not a good option, as the reuslt is slightly worse in quality than SSA soft/hard-sub. Softsub is a good option, which is lossless = the best quality possible, at the cost of high cpu load in playing back. And as for hardsub..... if I had to hardsub AVI with HQ subs, I would:
(1) Make a clean (ivtc'ed & filtered) huffyuv raw.
(2) (1)+SSA 1st pass (textsub.vdf VD Full processing mode)
(3) (1)+SSA 2nd pass (textsub.vdf VD Full processing mode)
Liisachan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2004, 14:07   #7  |  Link
chipzoller
Mr. Woof
 
chipzoller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 784
Ok, well do you know if I can add the SSA subs directly to an AVS script and feed it into VD (as in through GordianKnot)? I have looked for the syntax to follow but have not found it. Do you know if it is possible?


thanks,



Chip
chipzoller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2004, 16:19   #8  |  Link
Tri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 107
Easily:
Code:
LoadPlugin("\...\vsfilter.dll")
.
.
.
Textsub("\...\subtitles.ssa")
Vsfilter is here.
Tri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2004, 17:32   #9  |  Link
chipzoller
Mr. Woof
 
chipzoller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 784
Already have VSFilter and am loading it in my AVS script...where do I add the string for text subs?

And this will burn them permanently into the AVI?


Chip

Last edited by chipzoller; 2nd February 2004 at 22:05.
chipzoller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2004, 22:31   #10  |  Link
chipzoller
Mr. Woof
 
chipzoller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 784
Nevermind, I figured it out. Had to remove the "#" to make it load.

Thank you very much for your help and suggestions!


Regards,


Chip
chipzoller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.