Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 1st July 2003, 00:40   #1  |  Link
midiguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 407
the link doesn't work
I wanted to try it!
__________________
It's me, It's me, It's:
M
I
D
midiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2003, 00:51   #2  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
I got frustrated this morning. I'll finish adding the resize engine and I'll reupload it.

New features:
* Resize in producer (not tested)

ToDo:
* Crop in producer
* Set producer.exe at IDLE
* The about frame
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2003, 01:07   #3  |  Link
midiguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 407
hey sirber, here's a feature request.
Could you add two avisynth filters? (dub and copysame)?
If you read what I posted in the DropDupe thread, well, I said:

Quote:
You could use a current filter (like dup or copysame or whatever) that already has all the bugs worked out, and let that decide what the duplicate frames are. Then just set up the DropDupe RV9 filter to only drop frames that are EXACT duplicates (100% exact) so then the avisynth filter would really be doing all the work and you wouldn't have to worry about any current bugs. Of coarse, this would just be a temporary solution until everything is worked out with the DropDupe filter.
And then could you also add a setting for DropDupe that would make it only make duplicate frames to frames that are EXACTLY the same (to the pixel)? This, to me at least, would be an important feature until all the bugs are worked out with dropdupe.
__________________
It's me, It's me, It's:
M
I
D
midiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2003, 01:08   #4  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
I don't use AVISynth at all. This GUI only create a job file for each file in the list and start producer, with some error checking

Not advanced stuff
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2003, 01:32   #5  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
IDLE coding is working, I had to dump my old Shell&Wait. I'll test it with a full encode and release RC1.
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2003, 18:51   #6  |  Link
unmei
frying subs
 
unmei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ch-2500
Posts: 891
this looks good, good, good
the best simple GUI for producer so far

but i have a feature (say change) request too: would you please not limit the bitrate or set the limit to something higher (1000-1500 kbit/s). I would really like to use this for my RV9 encodes, but i wont go as low as 475kbit/s. If there is no way to encode at, say 600 or 1000 kbit/s i cannot use this great GUI.

Hint: don't be stubborn, i know this limit has nothing to do with Real Video and it won't give you much work to change it, please do not willingly exclude people who do not think the same way about how much bitrate a anime deserves >< .

(If you think adding more radio buttons would make it too big, you could use a drop-down if you dont want to allow free selectable bitrate via a slider, text field or the like. If you need inspirationyou can also look at my -ok, way more complex - GUI DNA-PG ..sorry it does'nt have dropdupe and EHQ)

[edit]
i just realized i cannot load mkv or avs, could you include that in the input file formats ? would be nice
[/edit]
__________________
-nyo

Last edited by unmei; 1st July 2003 at 18:55.
unmei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2003, 19:32   #7  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
I'll add avs and mkv, but I don't know if producer will like them. I'll also use a simple textbox for total bitrate seelction.

As you know, IMHO, animes don't deserve more then 450kbps, at 640x480, 24FPS. I'm not stubborn, I do things like I want mouhahahahah

Stay tuned for RC3!
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2003, 19:40   #8  |  Link
31 Flavas
RV10 Nerd
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 247
it is perhaps "pushy" for Sirber to limit the program to 475k tops, but there is a point to be said here, 475k espically with EHQ isn't as bad as you may think it is.

I got the fansubs for .hack//sign from my friend (Divx 3.11 @ ~~1000k, 640x360, 180 meg) and compaired them to my RV9 450k VBR EHQ (634x344, 90 meg) dvd rips. You have to nitpick at things like slightly wrong aspect ratio on mine and slightly less resolution to tell them apart. (Yes, I use the dvd's subs and the fansub's have their own different font, so you can tell them apart right there, but cut me some slack ok? )

That's 90 meg (per episode) you save and can use to more download more anime/mp3/games/porn or whatever.

Try it before you dismiss it is all i'm saying. If you just have to use 1000k-1500k, put it to good use, don't do any resizing, and instead use RV9 anamorphic to go 720x480 -> 720x540 on playback.

[edit] or 720x480 -> 888x480, if your source is widescreen [/edit]

Last edited by 31 Flavas; 1st July 2003 at 19:45.
31 Flavas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2003, 19:44   #9  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
So... have I to change my bitrate settings or not? for me it's ok the way it is...
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2003, 19:47   #10  |  Link
31 Flavas
RV10 Nerd
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 247
it's your program sirber. Do with it as you want, I just don't want people to blaketly dismiss 200k - 475k RV9 EHQ video.
31 Flavas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2003, 20:45   #11  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
I'll add 500 and 600kbps, but NOTHING more. Learn instead of wasting bits
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2003, 21:46   #12  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
RC3 out.

Known bugs:
* Closing RealAnime while encoding will result in a msgbox at the end, because of messed API calls.
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2003, 22:06   #13  |  Link
unmei
frying subs
 
unmei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ch-2500
Posts: 891
Quote:
I'm not stubborn
no, you're obviously NOT as you added the 500/600
I think i'll be happy with 600, maybe thats a good range for rv9 even. So far i only tested 450 and 1500 (w/o EHQ) and 450 was too low for me, but codecs sometimes gain a lot out of a few bits.

and avs is happily eaten by producer. matroska -> i don't know yet
havent had time to test RC3 so far, but ill d/l it now

thanks for implementing my requests

*edit: added the NOT (lol at sentence without it)
__________________
-nyo

Last edited by unmei; 1st July 2003 at 22:18.
unmei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2003, 22:09   #14  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
you can go up to 675, but it's almost a bitrate for DVD encoding. Most animes look superb at 450kbps, using a 64kbps surround track, while older ones, like Ranma, are OK at 350kbps, using a 32kbps voice track.
__________________
Detritus Software

Last edited by Sirber; 1st July 2003 at 22:11.
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2003, 22:24   #15  |  Link
unmei
frying subs
 
unmei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ch-2500
Posts: 891
hehe you guys already brought me to somehow accept real video, but you won't convince me of the low bitrates :P
__________________
-nyo
unmei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2003, 22:32   #16  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
try! Life is for trying new things, like low-bitrate encodes!
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2003, 23:15   #17  |  Link
midiguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 407
I like real video but not at such low bitrates
Just because you don't see pixelation or noise doesn't mean the video is encoded well... because of the in-loop filtering and uncontrollable post-processing, you will just see blur instead of the normal artifacts.

Hey sirber, why don't you just let people put in whatever bitrate they want. Like a textbox to input a value?
__________________
It's me, It's me, It's:
M
I
D
midiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2003, 23:19   #18  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
because I made that software for my needs, and I decided later to make it public. Also, RV9 don't PP that much: I can see well preserved MPEG4 squares at 450kbps with some bad sources...
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2003, 01:27   #19  |  Link
midiguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally posted by Sirber
because I made that software for my needs, and I decided later to make it public. Also, RV9 don't PP that much: I can see well preserved MPEG4 squares at 450kbps with some bad sources...
It doesn't always post-process that much if it has enough bits to work with. But if it has to post-process very excessively to cover up a lot of (it's own) artifacts (especially at very low bitrates and high resolutions), then it will (in my opinion).
__________________
It's me, It's me, It's:
M
I
D
midiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2003, 01:46   #20  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
IMO, RV9 don't PP, but just don't add details when bitrate is too low...
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.