Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 ASP

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd June 2003, 20:27   #1  |  Link
Zarxrax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,169
Weird blocks when vhq enabled

I have tried enabling vhq mode 1 and mode 4, and this feature always causes blocks very similar to the shit blocks that were in divx3.11a
I KNOW that I have read something about this back when vhq was first released, but I've searched, and nothing comes up. Also since everyone is saying vhq shouldnt negatively effect quality anymore, im not quite sure whats wrong. I'm using koepi's 14052003 build.
Zarxrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2003, 20:30   #2  |  Link
JohnMK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 551
In dark places? Encode Star Wars: Attack of the Clones, 1 hour+43/44 minutes in, you should see some pretty horrible blocking. This was with VHQ4 enabled.

Last edited by JohnMK; 3rd June 2003 at 20:32.
JohnMK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2003, 22:35   #3  |  Link
Zarxrax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,169
No, not in dark places, but in spots where there is lots of motion. Its like luma inverted blocks or something.
Zarxrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2003, 22:50   #4  |  Link
Defiler
Asker of Questions
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 433
Me too:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=41616
__________________
"The real trick to optimizing color space conversions is of course to not do them." --trbarry, April 2002
Defiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2003, 23:37   #5  |  Link
Zarxrax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,169
Ah, I didn't check that thread because the title made it sound like a different problem.
Mods delete this thread if you want.
Zarxrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2003, 00:15   #6  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
@ all
this is a Trellis Quantization problem if you don't want it don't use it i got exactly the same problems a week ago and reported it in the channel

http://www.mufflastig.com/CruNcher/X...ellisquantbug/
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2003, 00:52   #7  |  Link
Defiler
Asker of Questions
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 433
You've verified that simply turning off Trellis is enough to prevent the problem?
Defiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2003, 17:28   #8  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
@ Defiler
jep exactly but only for this encode and only for this special scene wich is a Strobo light effect Scene where Lights go off and on very quickly if i read now that also this problems can occour with VHQ i belive it could have something todo with the R-D cause VHQ also uses R-D now maybe there is some problems with Motion Estimation in such scenes i can't say that for sure but for this encode rurning off trellis helped and VHQ was still on Wide Search so its hard to tell if people now say it can also happen with only VHQ on what the problem is i would tip then in a logical manner on the R-D part both useing it but maybe Syskin can bring light into that
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2003, 17:42   #9  |  Link
Defiler
Asker of Questions
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 433
I experienced the same thing. Turning off Trellis, but leaving VHQ=4 solved my problem.
Has anyone seen them with Trellis enabled, VHQ off?
__________________
"The real trick to optimizing color space conversions is of course to not do them." --trbarry, April 2002
Defiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2003, 22:05   #10  |  Link
Calculon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 30
Trellis caused this problem for me as well. I just turned it off and encoded again(a captured episode of Sliders) and it was fine. I had VHQ 4 on both times.
Calculon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2003, 23:51   #11  |  Link
angelyote
The frumious Bandersnatch
 
angelyote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 78
Spirited Away

another me too post.
Noticed some ugly blocking in some of the dark solid areas, like peoples hair. Turned off Trellis and kept VHQ 4 and beauty once more. That's why it's in the debug section though.

Dave
angelyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2003, 02:02   #12  |  Link
Animaniac
Registered User
 
Animaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 286
I just encoded a 2 hour movie with VHQ 4 and R-D, and no weird blocking. I can safely say it's my best encode yet.
Animaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2003, 21:21   #13  |  Link
jrmillerUT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: austin Tx
Posts: 46
what do you mean by Trellis and R-D...
jrmillerUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2003, 21:25   #14  |  Link
mf
 
mf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,729
Quote:
Originally posted by jrmillerUT
what do you mean by Trellis and R-D...
Trellis: Trellis Quantization
R-D: Rate Distortion

Just look it up in google...
mf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2003, 06:22   #15  |  Link
soujir0u
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 213
If you're using ffdshow try using Xvid.dll to decode the video. I got this strange problem with one of my recent encodes...
soujir0u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2003, 10:36   #16  |  Link
BiaTch 5.0
Angel
 
BiaTch 5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia/Argentina
Posts: 162
VHQ4 goes about 3x slower on my PC than VHQ1 so a movie that takes 2 hour to encode would take me 6 with VHQ4, is it worth the time?
__________________
Windows 2000 Pro
AthlonXP 1700+, ASUS/VIA KT266A, Seagate 80GB, Radeon 7000 VE, Creative Audigy, plexwriter 24/10/24A, Pioneer16 DVD.

Last edited by BiaTch 5.0; 19th June 2003 at 10:39.
BiaTch 5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2003, 11:03   #17  |  Link
Gaia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 267
Yes ofcourse but you have to try yourself. It's up to you. I don't care about speed.
Gaia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2003, 12:33   #18  |  Link
stax76
staxrip & mpv.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,248
Quote:
VHQ4 goes about 3x slower on my PC than VHQ1 so a movie that takes 2 hour to encode would take me 6 with VHQ4, is it worth the time?
I made a couple of compressibility tests using DVX which uses a complete different method than Gordian Knot. From VHQ 0 to VHQ 3 there was a constant increase of the compressibility but VHQ 3 and VHQ 4 had the same compressibility but VHQ 4 was a lot slower than VHQ 3 so my conclusion is VHQ 4 is a overkill

edit: I saw a note by a XviD developer that stated comp tests aren't the full truth
__________________
I have a dream by Martin Luther King
one hundred years later...
We can never be satisfied...
With this faith...
Let freedom ring...

Last edited by stax76; 19th June 2003 at 14:15.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2003, 17:15   #19  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
@Dolemite

Vhq in the latest available koepi build is b0rked it has been fixed in the newest internal build and also in the cvs. Its in testing stage @ the moment, because it also contains syskins new ipb decission code which is not in cvs and needs to be tested first.
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2003, 17:29   #20  |  Link
stax76
staxrip & mpv.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,248
@CruNcher

thanks, I'm a XviD n00b using it since two weeks, currently reading all the guides and topics, quite a lot things to read
__________________
I have a dream by Martin Luther King
one hundred years later...
We can never be satisfied...
With this faith...
Let freedom ring...

Last edited by stax76; 19th June 2003 at 17:31.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.