Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > IFO/VOB Editors

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th May 2003, 08:52   #1  |  Link
2COOL
PGC Navigator in Training
 
2COOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NTSC Land
Posts: 3,552
IfoEdit 0.95 Intermittently Reverts Back to 0.94 (2COOL's Fix).

I think I finally found a permanent fix for this. Just right-click on the IfoEdit.ini file in C:/Windows and check read only. Here is my analysis and reasoning.

I had experienced this previously when I was using Win98 SE prior to upgrading to WinXP SP1. What I did back then was install 0.95 without de-installing 0.94. Ifoedit doesn't even have any registry values. I thought that after a fresh new OS install, I wouldn't get this problem again. But the problem still existed and now and then, 0.95 would revert back to 0.94 without any logical explanations. The "band-aid" fix for this was to delete the IfoEdit.ini file which was located in my C:/Window folder. I mentioned "band-aid" because it was just a temporary quick fix.

Here's what is in my IfoEdit.ini when it's 0.95 and when it reverts to 0.94.
_________________________________________________________________

Ifoedit 0.95
[IfoEditApp]
WP=MCAAAAAAAAAAAAAABAAAAAAAPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPJGAAAAAANEAAAAAAIBEAAAAAFPCAAAAA

IfoEdit 0.94
[IfoEditApp]
WP=MCAAAAAACAAAAAAADAAAAAAAPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPJGAAAAAANEAAAAAAIBEAAAAAFPCAAAAA

_________________________________________________________________
Notice the changes in the 9th and 17th characters for WP? If I deleted the IfoEdit.ini file, a new ini file would be created and I'll be back to 0.95 the next time I start IfoEdit. My WP value will be back to normal.

So when WP changes again when in 0.95, I would get version 0.94 the next time I open IfoEdit. Sometimes, the window woulnd't get maximized by default. How it gets corrupted is beyond me.

<Sigh> It took me this long to figure out how fix IFOedit from changing to 0.94.

It's been 3 days since I've initiated the fix and I haven't reverted back to 0.94 yet. I'm being really optimistic at this point because my theory seems right about the fix.

Here's my first post on this matter back in November 2002.
__________________
2COOL

Last edited by 2COOL; 12th June 2003 at 19:07.
2COOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2003, 11:49   #2  |  Link
SOD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 32
Is there a difference then between 0.94 and 0.95? I've noticed no changes in the programm.
SOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2003, 01:11   #3  |  Link
2COOL
PGC Navigator in Training
 
2COOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NTSC Land
Posts: 3,552
Quote:
Originally posted by SOD
Is there a difference then between 0.94 and 0.95? I've noticed no changes in the programm.
In a previous post long ago, I mentioned that I encountered a different when it reverted to displaying 0.94 but alas I didn't remember what it was then and I don't remember it now. But, even if there wasn't a change in operations, it still was irritating the @%&# outta me everytime I see 0.94 in the title bar instead of 0.95!
__________________
2COOL
2COOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2003, 11:40   #4  |  Link
Buddy
Black Knight Always Wins
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Castle of AAAaaarch
Posts: 166
This problem never occurd until I changed my motherboard a week ago and had to update my VIA drivers. Ifoedit started with version 0.94 what never happend before. I removed the Ifoedit.ini but after a restart I had version 0.94 back again and after restarting ifoedit a few times I've got the 0.95 version back. I'm trying your advice because my ifoedit.ini had some other info than yours and my new ifoedit.ini. Version 0.94 did also only appear on the taskbar it did not open on my screen.
I'm also using Ifoedit version 0.91 for the angles, can't find nothing about that in the ini files.

I've tried this and it works. The only but, and this is a big but, ifoedit "forget" the directory and the progress bar is coming back in the middle of the screen.
What I've than is opening ifoedit and entered my settings and use ifoedit. Close the program and than in windows make the file read only. You will keep your settings

Last edited by Buddy; 12th June 2003 at 14:07.
Buddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.