Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion. Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules. |
|
|
#1 | Link |
|
..DVD GOD..
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,838
|
what on earth is this??, DVDshrink clone?!??!?
I saw this a while back and added to my favourites for one to watch
http://www.dvdsqueeze.com/ I've just been back and noticed this time it's exactly the same as DVDShrink!!!!!!!!!!!! this is the thread I saw that told me about DVDSqueeze http://forum.digital-digest.com/show...threadid=17116 this is the pop-up link http://www.dvdcopydecrypter.com/ price supposedly retailing at $139.95 but Special low, LOW online pricing today! is quoted I've seen DVDSqueeze is a rip-off but is this the same? Last edited by MackemX; 22nd April 2003 at 02:12. |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 | Link |
|
..DVD GOD..
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,838
|
shocking!
this DVDSqueeze is just a collection of all the free softwares such as DVDecrypter, SmartRipper, DVDShrink etc but they are charging $89.95 for these programs and a few guides definitely a rip-off as mentioned before, but how can they do it? have they asked the authors of all the programs? |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 | Link | |
|
..DVD GOD..
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,838
|
Quote:
![]() so is it No to I've seen DVDSqueeze is a rip-off but is this the same? ot No to have they asked the authors of all the programs? I'm presuming you mean No to the 2nd one
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#5 | Link |
|
..DVD GOD..
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,838
|
they have actually changed the name to DVDCopyDecrypter, so what are they playing at?
look a the copyright notice at the bottom of the page http://www.dvdcopydecrypter.com/ All images Copyright © 1999-2003 DVD Copy Decrypter, Ltd. www.DVDCopyDecrytper.com LOL ![]() I pity the fool's who part with their money ![]() have you seen the affiliate links page, they are taking the P http://www.dvdsqueeze.com/ads.htm p.s. I'm putting the link on my website
Last edited by MackemX; 22nd April 2003 at 02:32. |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 | Link |
|
*
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 268
|
I'm wondering how did they change the name? Just replaced strings with Ressource Hacker or how is it done? I also wonder if dvdshrink could build in some sort of detection if it's the original exe and always apply level 50 compression if not
|
|
|
|
|
|
#9 | Link |
|
Moderator
![]() Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 3,405
|
This kind of activity is as old as Divx itself. DVDx is the target of choice these days. Have a look at this sticky in the General forum http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=47777
All about how 321Studios got their start. And here is another one, about a program that claimed better results on a CD than could be obtained with a DVD burner! http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=41719 Last edited by mpucoder; 22nd April 2003 at 03:01. |
|
|
|
|
|
#11 | Link | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Falcon Country
Posts: 28
|
Re: what on earth is this??, DVDshrink clone?!??!?
Quote:
All of the links to http://www.dvdcopydecrypter.com/ all point to DVDSqueeze. It appears those con artist have developed a new scam. Buyer Beware![]() These guys have even marketed their scams to a retail outlet. I personally have seen them at CompUSA! (I knew the manager at my local CompUSA and told him the deal... He pulled them from the shelf .)On a side note... if they have ripped someone else off, and that's a big if, wonder who? If the GUI is factual, I would like to know who did it. It is masterful indeed! jaagee |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#12 | Link | |
|
..DVD GOD..
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,838
|
they are probably trying to sell the fancy flash media GUI, but have overstepped the line
Quote:
selling a program that is a fancy GUI, is nothing much by itself if people like fancy GUI's including the freeware programs to use with the GUI software may be debatable but changing the actual name of the program is a bit naughty I think p.s. I'm creating some fancy Flash stuff now for my GUI program, easy if you know how
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#14 | Link | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Falcon Country
Posts: 28
|
Re: Just a thought
Quote:
I would not even entertain the idea. They are a bunch of scam artist that have marketing experience. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!! |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#18 | Link | |
|
..DVD GOD..
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,838
|
Re: Just a thought
Quote:
http://forum.digital-digest.com/show...threadid=17116 I have aquired a copy of DVDSqueeze 4.0 using a certain P2P program just to check it out and this is the folder after installation this is the $39 DVDSquueze 4.0, how many of these progs are free? http://www.deano.dsl.pipex.com/temp/dvdsqueeze.png and in the $89 version it obviously includes DVDShrink & Nero but are AHEAD aware of the fact that they are reselling Nero for $20 a shot I wonder? Last edited by MackemX; 22nd April 2003 at 18:45. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#19 | Link |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 210
|
I hate people that bundle freeware together and sell it, but to actually alter the software NAME and headers is lower then low. I think the same has happened with other software in the past too.
Can you contact their biller or bank to stop them ? Their biller is http://www.clickbank.com Look at the package box for DVD Squeeze, that is just a Ulead software box, the EXACT same box packaging except for the text. They even use Yahoo as their email address, sheesh. Last edited by JonRead; 23rd April 2003 at 01:28. |
|
|
|
|
|
#20 | Link | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Falcon Country
Posts: 28
|
Quote:
They even ripped off Ulead's box? If that isn't sorry I don't know what is. You can't even make this stuff up!!! I really was so mad about being duped that I really never focused on the packaging. Good Eye... JonRead
|
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|