Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 ASP

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th February 2003, 19:12   #1  |  Link
hayami
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 26
Packed Bitsream of B-frame...

Is it still not working?
I've tried to encode a clip with bframe and PB on, it seems there is no problem. (kinda sick of that black screen whenever playback of file with bf)
What's the problem with it? e.g. not compatible with Divx5 or the stream it produce is not MPEG-4 compliant?

Just being curious, since the last update on it was like half a year ago
hayami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2003, 23:05   #2  |  Link
Morbo
I Will Destroy You!!
 
Morbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Puny Earthling's Planet
Posts: 164
B-frames are still buggy(depends alot here on source),I noticed in IAGO's guide it says NOT to select it(if memory serves).

Cheers!!!
__________________
Jesus Saves,but Buddah makes incremental backups!
Morbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2003, 11:27   #3  |  Link
sysKin
Registered User
 
sysKin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,167
Quote:
Originally posted by Morbo
B-frames are still buggy(depends alot here on source)
Could you explain more? Currently, the following bframe related bugs are known:
- max and min i-frame interval don't work
- when lumimasiking is used, they sometimes have strange quantizers
- well yes, packed bitstream doesn't work - anyone needs it?
...and that's it.

If you are refering to something which isn't here _please_ tell me. I'm far from knowing everything

Radek
__________________
Visit #xvid or #x264 at irc.freenode.net
sysKin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2003, 14:21   #4  |  Link
symonjfox
IUUULEEEENZ
 
symonjfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 452
It's important to me to know if B-Frames created using XviD version from 11/2002 to now are or not MPEG 4 compilant.

I explain: I started using XviD from November and I always used B-Frames. They worked fine for me, but I'd like to know if one day, while converting these AVI to MP4, I will get any kind of compatibility issues.

And again, is it there an MP4 Transmuxer that support B Frames? I know that Mp4ip cannot at this moment.
__________________
PC1:AMD Athlon II x4, 4GB DDR2, Ati Radeon 4830, 4 hard disks
symonjfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2003, 17:25   #5  |  Link
DaveEL
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 581
Quote:
Originally posted by sysKin

- well yes, packed bitstream doesn't work - anyone needs it?

Radek
Yes everyone as it should mean we can decode b-frames in avis without any delays (as long as the encoder knows how to drop the frames used as padding to deal with vfw expecting 1 frame in 1 frame out).

DaveEL
DaveEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2003, 17:33   #6  |  Link
Rober2D2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Spanish Republik
Posts: 94
I have used packed bitstream in short tests. I found no problems when using XVID decoder, but ffdshow and divx decoder can't handle them correctly. I seems they playback frames in wrong order.

If virtualdub is able to handle packed bitstream correctly it should be easier to edit films with B-Frames.
Rober2D2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2003, 11:22   #7  |  Link
kilg0r3
! - User - !
 
kilg0r3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,081
Is this a de- or an encoding issue?
__________________
Keep your tone warm and your sigs decent!
kilg0r3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2003, 11:43   #8  |  Link
Isibaar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally posted by sysKin
- well yes, packed bitstream doesn't work - anyone needs it?
...and that's it.
Radek [/B]
Could someone please explain why packed bitstreams don't work? I've fixed this half a year ago and packed bitstream worked back then. But it's of course possible that packed bitstream is broken again...

Anyway, please keep in mind that packed bitstream did not work with ffdshow when I checked it (half a year ago), but I think this was not my fault because DivX 5.0.2 played XVID packed bitstream without a problem.

If DivX cannot play XVID packed bitstream avis correctly, this can have two reasons:

a) DivX uses a strange versioning system. XVID tried to imitate this in order to make playback possible with DivX, but I'm not sure if we have updated this to match DivX versions > 5.0.2

b) DivX has often problems correctly playing XVID streams that make use of 4 vector mode. This is also not our fault, but a bug/incompatibility of the DivX decoder. To check if this is the problem, make a test encode with XVID and switch to motion search precision 4 (high). This disables 4 MV search, so if DivX then still incorrectly plays this XVID stream, it could indeed be our problem ;-))
Isibaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2003, 12:41   #9  |  Link
kilg0r3
! - User - !
 
kilg0r3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,081
i can only say that it doesnot work with ffdshow. -> not xvid's fault
__________________
Keep your tone warm and your sigs decent!
kilg0r3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.