Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > IFO/VOB Editors

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th February 2003, 03:06   #1  |  Link
2COOL
PGC Navigator in Training
 
2COOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NTSC Land
Posts: 3,552
Correcting Menu Language Buttons After Stripping Unwanted Audio(s) Guide

Correcting Menu Language Buttons After Stripping Unwanted Audio(s)

[Feb 10 2004]: Guide has been updated

Here’s a common scenario. You're keeping your menu but need to strip out some unwanted audios so that you can fit your movie nicely on a DVDR. So in below example, before stripping, we have 3 audios present. This information is found in your movie’s IFO/VTS Overview/Title Set (Movie) Attributes section. Your English and French audio is available for selection in your language menu and your Director’s commentary is available in your bonus materials menu. All you really want to strip is 1 or 2 languages so that you can fit your movie easily on a DVD but the audio(s) you want stripped,is right in the middle. So in this guide, assuming your French audio has been stripped out properly ,I'll explain how to fix your new IFO.

Figure 1
  • Example:

    VTS Overview

    Title Set (Movie) attributes:
    Audio 1: English (Dolby AC-3) 6ch 48Kbps DRC (ID: 0x80)
    Audio 2: Français (Dolby AC-3) 6ch 48Kbps DRC (ID: 0x81)
    Audio 3: English (Dolby AC-3) 2ch 48Kbps DRC director's comments (ID: 0x82)

You find that when you play your DVD after stripping, your French button now plays your Director’s Commentary and your Director’s Commentary button now plays your English 5.1 audio. That’s because your audio, Audio 3, had shift up into Audio 2’s place and Audio 3, since no value is assigned, actually uses your default (32768). Below is the before and after audio values as shown in IfoEdit. This example is commonly found in your movie’s IFO / VTS_PGCITI / VTS_PGC_1 / Audio Stream status section.

Note: The maximum of audio streams a DVD can have is 8. Here's the order of values for them.

Figure 2

1st and default: 32768
2nd: 33024
3rd: 33280
4th: 33536
5th: 33792
6th: 34048
7th: 34304
8th: 34560

Figure 3

Code:
(Original IFO) Before Stripping
Audio stream 1 status	          32768	[8000]  English 5.1    
Audio stream 1 uses stream nr.:   0	
Audio stream 2 status	          33024	[8100]  French 5.1    
Audio stream 2 uses stream nr.:   1	
Audio stream 3 status	          33280	[8200]  Director’s Commentary    
Audio stream 3 uses stream nr.:   2	
Audio stream 4 status	          0	[0000]
Audio stream 5 status	          0	[0000]
Audio stream 6 status	          0	[0000]
Audio stream 7 status	          0	[0000]
Audio stream 8 status	          0	[0000]
Figure 4

Code:
(New IFO) After Stripping
Audio stream 1 status	          32768	[8000]  English 5.1    
Audio stream 1 uses stream nr.:   0	
Audio stream 2 status	          33280	[8200]  Director’s Commentary 
Audio stream 2 uses stream nr.:   1	
Audio stream 3 status	          0	[0000]
Audio stream 4 status	          0	[0000]
Audio stream 5 status	          0	[0000]
Audio stream 6 status	          0	[0000]
Audio stream 7 status	          0	[0000]
Audio stream 8 status	          0	[0000]
Do you see the audio shift with French 5.1 stripped out? Well we need to fix your Director’s Commentary button so that it really plays what it says it is and to do that, we need to put back our Audio stream 3 back to where it originally was so here's what we will do first in VTS_PGC_1.
________________________________________________________
1. Note: Start with the last existing audio first. The flow of editing will be easier this way.

Double-click on Audio stream 2 to bring up "Edit Value" input box.
________________________________________________________
2. Ctrl + X (CUT) or right-click on highlighted value and select "Cut".
________________________________________________________
3. Click on "OK".
________________________________________________________
4. Double-click on Audio stream 3 to bring up "Edit Value" input box.
________________________________________________________
5. Ctrl + V (Paste) or right-click on highlighted value and select "Paste".
________________________________________________________
6. Click on "OK".
________________________________________________________
When done, you should now have this.

Figure 5
Code:
Audio stream 1 status	          32768	[8000]   English 5.1       
Audio stream 1 uses stream nr.:   0	
Audio stream 2 status	          0	[0000]
Audio stream 3 status	          33280	[8200]  Director’s Commentary
Audio stream 3 uses stream nr.:   2	
Audio stream 4 status	          0	[0000]
Audio stream 5 status	          0	[0000]
Audio stream 6 status	          0	[0000]
Audio stream 7 status	          0	[0000]
Audio stream 8 status	          0	[0000]
________________________________________________________
7. If your VTS has more than one PGC, you must repeat Steps 1 to 6 for all of them.
________________________________________________________
8. Now, we need to correct your movie's audio data in VTSI_MAT (Video TitleSet Information Management Table). Go to / VTSI_MAT.
________________________________________________________
9. Scroll down to address [00000203] and you should see this line, Number of audio streams in VTSTT_VOBS. After stripping, IfoEdit had updated this value and with the example shown Figure 4, there is a value of 2 now instead of 3, as in Figure 3. Since we had just put back our Audio stream 3 (Figure 5), we need to correct this value. The "Number of audio streams in VTSTT_VOBS" corresponds to the last audible audio stream so in my example, that would be 3. Double click on line, and enter new value.

Code:
OLD > Number of audio streams in VTSTT_VOBS	2 
NEW > Number of audio streams in VTSTT_VOBS	3
________________________________________________________
10. Now, scroll down to address [0000020c] Aud_2 attributes. The reason why we are here is that when our original Aud_3 (Director’s Commentary) shifted in Figure 4, it's audio attributes also got shifted to Aud_2. We need to ensure that Aud_3 is updated with the same audio attributes as Aud_2. There is no simple Cut and Paste here so it will be a matter of comparing attributes of one and updating the other. With that said, double click on Aud_2 attributes and you will have your Audio Attributes option window pop up. Just write down each attribute's setting.
  • App Mode
  • Language
  • Coding Mode
  • Sample Rate
  • Quantisation
  • Extension
  • Language Type
  • Multichannel extension
  • Channels
________________________________________________________
11. When done, click OK.
________________________________________________________
12. Double click on Aud_3 attributes. Using the attributes you wrote down in Step 10, correct each one to mirror Aud_2.
________________________________________________________
13. When done, click OK to set.
________________________________________________________
14. Save IFO and BUP
________________________________________________________
15. Play to test. We should now we hearing our Director’s Commentary when selected in our menus.
________________________________________________________
__________________
2COOL

Last edited by 2COOL; 25th February 2004 at 19:58.
2COOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2004, 18:01   #2  |  Link
komanch
Registered User
 
komanch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Europe
Posts: 86
Great guide,
but what about DTS?
I set DTS-audio as default audio (value 32768) and my standalone show me DolbyDigital
When I press my DTS button (on menu) it is mute.
komanch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2004, 19:58   #3  |  Link
Dimmer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 883
Quote:
Originally posted by komanch
Great guide,
but what about DTS?
I set DTS-audio as default audio (value 32768) and my standalone show me DolbyDigital
When I press my DTS button (on menu) it is mute.
Read the guide carefully... You don't change the DTS stream status value to 32768 (0x8000) but rather take an existing DTS status value, for example 33024 (0x8100), and assign it to the audio stream 1 instead of stream 2 or wherever DTS was previously located.
Dimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2004, 20:22   #4  |  Link
komanch
Registered User
 
komanch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Europe
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally posted by Dimmer
for example 33024 (0x8100), and assign it to the audio stream 1 instead of stream 2 or wherever DTS was previously located
For example
my oryginal ifo is

1st: 32768 (default)
2nd: 33024 (DTS)
3rd: 33280
4th: 33536

1st and 3rd strip out.

So my new ifo should look like this?
1st: 33024 (DTS)
2nd: 0
3rd: 0
4th: 33536
komanch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2004, 20:31   #5  |  Link
Dimmer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 883
Yes, if you want to replace the default audio (obviously AC-3 from your description) with DTS, remove stream 3 altogether, and keep stream 4 as is. Remember that in order to select DTS from the menu now you'll have to choose the default audio (Dolby Digital), not DTS.
Dimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2004, 21:19   #6  |  Link
2COOL
PGC Navigator in Training
 
2COOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NTSC Land
Posts: 3,552
@komanch

Try looking at my other guide on correcting the stripped non-consecutive audio streams. Though it was done with DVD Shrink, the post edits should work for after IfoEdit stripping.

You posted you previously had

Quote:
my oryginal ifo is

1st: 32768 (default)
2nd: 33024 (DTS)
3rd: 33280
4th: 33536
So since you had stripped out 1 and 3 through IfoEdit, you should've got this after
  • 1st: 33024 (DTS)
    2nd: 33536
    3rd: 0
    4th: 0

Try doing this ...
  • 1st: 0
    2nd: 33024 (DTS)
    3rd: 0
    4th: 33536

This should help with your default audio as DTS initially without going to your menu to set. So, if you had to select any of your stripped audio (1 & 3) on your language menu, the first existing audio with be heard, which will be audio 2 (DTS). Personally, I would just use MenuEdit or DVDRemake to delete/hide those buttons.
__________________
2COOL
2COOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2004, 18:34   #7  |  Link
d62ks821
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally posted by 2COOL
@komanch
Try doing this ...
  • 1st: 0
    2nd: 33024 (DTS)
    3rd: 0
    4th: 33536
Could do this as well, ...correct?
  • 1st: 33024 (DTS)
    2nd: 33024 (DTS)
    3rd: 33024 (DTS)
    4th: 33536
d62ks821 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.