Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th January 2003, 23:02   #1  |  Link
Frisco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 32
MJPEG with Avisynth 2.5

Hey

I an using Pinnacle DC10 to captured MJPEG-AVI. When I Decompres to DivX, in VirtualDub, I use the Morgan MJPEG codec. Whit this avs :

avisource("d:\video 2.avi")

In Avisynth 2.07 there is no problem, but whit Avisynth 2.5 the picture is blue.

Thanks Frisco
Frisco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2003, 23:06   #2  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Don't know about Morgan but I do the same thing with the PicVideo MJPEG codec and everything is fine. Make sure that your Morgan codec is the one actually being used.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2003, 23:12   #3  |  Link
sh0dan
Retired AviSynth Dev ;)
 
sh0dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dark Side of the Moon
Posts: 3,480
Use the SwapUV() after you loaded the file. Morgan has swapped the UV channels.
__________________
Regards, sh0dan // VoxPod
sh0dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2003, 01:11   #4  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
You're absolutely right, sh0dan. Sorry I missed it. I just now went to approve attachments and saw there was one and it is a clear case of swapped UV.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2003, 22:36   #5  |  Link
Frisco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 32
Quick answer

It is working. Thank you, for the quick answer.

Frisco
Frisco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2003, 23:16   #6  |  Link
sh0dan
Retired AviSynth Dev ;)
 
sh0dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dark Side of the Moon
Posts: 3,480
It's also known as the easiest way to make humans look like aliens.
__________________
Regards, sh0dan // VoxPod
sh0dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2003, 23:49   #7  |  Link
Bidoche
Avisynth 3.0 Developer
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: France
Posts: 639
LOL
Bidoche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2003, 23:53   #8  |  Link
sh0dan
Retired AviSynth Dev ;)
 
sh0dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dark Side of the Moon
Posts: 3,480
Just say "This Island Earth" as part of Mystery Science Theatre 3000 - The movie. They actually use this trick to make a foreign planet look even more foreign! Don't know how they did that on film, however.
Just a curiosity though.
__________________
Regards, sh0dan // VoxPod
sh0dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2003, 19:26   #9  |  Link
adamschroeder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8
another solution

I know this is an old thread but I recently ran into the same problem. While the SwapUV() function fixed the color, the quality of the clip was still much less than if I would have opened it in Virtual Dub.

I don't know if it is just my machine but forcing the AVI source to decode in RGB instead of YUV fixed both the color problems and the quality problems.

So if anyone else runs into this problem using the Morgan codec try using this as you AVISource command.

AVISource("d:\video source name.avi",true,"RGB32")
adamschroeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2004, 11:06   #10  |  Link
Kb_cruncher
replecant
 
Kb_cruncher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 332
Thanks for the fix adamschroeder, i was going out of my mind trying to find a solution for this.
__________________
"There are no such things as problems,only solutions"-my father

Last edited by Kb_cruncher; 27th January 2004 at 11:16.
Kb_cruncher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2004, 14:49   #11  |  Link
sh0dan
Retired AviSynth Dev ;)
 
sh0dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dark Side of the Moon
Posts: 3,480
Morgan has Released a 3.0.12 beta which fixes the YV12 output bug. If their forums are up it can be found there.

btw - you should get correct data by using pixel_type="yuy2". No need to go RGB.
__________________
Regards, sh0dan // VoxPod
sh0dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2004, 16:49   #12  |  Link
acrespo
Brazilian Anime Ripper
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Brazil
Posts: 237
The morgan multimedia forum have problems and don't show all messages. I already tried download this new beta version but I didn't have success and support email didn't respond any email I send.
__________________
Capture cards:
Compro VideoMate Gold+ (Philips SAA7134 based) (not active)
Hauppauge PVR 150MCE (not active)
ATI TV Wonder Elite (active)
acrespo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2004, 17:46   #13  |  Link
sh0dan
Retired AviSynth Dev ;)
 
sh0dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dark Side of the Moon
Posts: 3,480
I put it up at: http://cultact-server.novi.dk/kpo/av...gV3beta312.exe

I'll leave it there until they officially release it.
__________________
Regards, sh0dan // VoxPod
sh0dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 03:45   #14  |  Link
Kb_cruncher
replecant
 
Kb_cruncher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 332
I still get undesirable yv12 output with 3.0.12 beta.Instead of blue face aliens i get green virtical stripes now that look a bit like window blinds

[EDIT]I am using avisource and when i comment out "CovertToYV12" i still get the same effect.Does this mean it is not a YV12 bug afterall?

Of course pixel_type="yuy2" fixes the issue thankyou sh0dan
__________________
"There are no such things as problems,only solutions"-my father

Last edited by Kb_cruncher; 29th January 2004 at 03:52.
Kb_cruncher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 08:31   #15  |  Link
BlindWanderer
Brain Dead
 
BlindWanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally posted by sh0dan Just say "This Island Earth" as part of Mystery Science Theatre 3000 - The movie. They actually use this trick to make a foreign planet look even more foreign! Don't know how they did that on film, however.
Just a curiosity though.
if the film was shot in Technicolor maybe they swapped the channels (Technicolor shoots onto 3 reels simultaneously).
__________________
I'll sell my soul for a cabbit.
BlindWanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 12:57   #16  |  Link
Mug Funky
interlace this!
 
Mug Funky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: i'm in ur transfers, addin noise
Posts: 4,555
technicolor 3 colour dye transfer is RGB though, with the green channel copied as black and white onto the rest for extra contrast (kinda like luma).

this would give a similar but different effect to swapped UV i think...
__________________
sucking the life out of your videos since 2004
Mug Funky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 14:38   #17  |  Link
sh0dan
Retired AviSynth Dev ;)
 
sh0dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dark Side of the Moon
Posts: 3,480
Quote:
Originally posted by Kb_cruncher
I still get undesirable yv12 output with 3.0.12 beta.Instead of blue face aliens i get green virtical stripes now that look a bit like window blinds

[EDIT]I am using avisource and when i comment out "CovertToYV12" i still get the same effect.Does this mean it is not a YV12 bug afterall?

Of course pixel_type="yuy2" fixes the issue thankyou sh0dan
It is because of faulty chroma upsampling in preview. The data inside AviSynth is correct - however the data is converted wrongly after it leaves AviSynth. To get it viewed correctly in vdub for instance, use ConvertToRGB24(interlaced=true). If your material is ending up in CCE, you should use ConvertToYUY2(interlaced=true).

If you deinterlace your material at some point in your script you won't have this problem.
__________________
Regards, sh0dan // VoxPod

Last edited by sh0dan; 29th January 2004 at 14:42.
sh0dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.