Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th November 2002, 16:50   #1  |  Link
beber75
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 16
YV12 and interlaced .d2v source

Hi everybody,

I've read most of the thread concerning YV12 and I found nothing about interlaced source (well not realy nothing, it is discussed in the FAQ (about decom and other filters) saying that we should wait for filters developped for avisynth 2.5).

I'd like to know if some of you have already encode a interlaced source in YV12 and how he managed to deinterlace it.

PS: I usualy use decomb.dll for deinterlacing but if I read the FAQ it shouldn't work with avisynth 2.5 so did someone know an equivalent plugin.

PS2: sorry for my bad english

PS3: sorry if my question is stupid
beber75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2002, 17:08   #2  |  Link
Wilbert
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,304
Your question is not stupid, but you should have more patience. Donald is working on Decomb_YV12 (TomsMoComp_YV12 has no high priority for Tom). It could be done next week, maybe in a few days, who knows ...
Wilbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2002, 21:40   #3  |  Link
trbarry
Registered User
 
trbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Gainesville FL USA
Posts: 2,092
Quote:
TomsMoComp_YV12 has no high priority for Tom
Wilbert -

Sorry, a few days. I work on things in fits and starts and I have some other things going on. But not long.

But you may be confusing it with GreedyHMA. That was the one I said was lower priority and harder to do.

edit: Okay guys, I decided I feel guilty. I'll have TomsMoComp out tonight or tomorrow.

- Tom


Last edited by trbarry; 12th November 2002 at 23:09.
trbarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2002, 23:19   #4  |  Link
cult
Registered User
 
cult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: greece
Posts: 383
Thats great news!!!Thank u Tom!
errr how about unfilter?
cult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2002, 02:18   #5  |  Link
TheUnforgiven
XviDer
 
TheUnforgiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 190
Quote:
Okay guys, I decided I feel guilty. I'll have TomsMoComp out tonight or tomorrow.
wow good news. this will make me switch to yv12 much sooner
__________________
www.the-unforgiven.info
TheUnforgiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2002, 03:53   #6  |  Link
ookzDVD
DVD Rebuilder!
 
ookzDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,147
@Forum,

how about IVTC, is there plugin working @YV12 now ?
ookzDVD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2002, 05:59   #7  |  Link
trbarry
Registered User
 
trbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Gainesville FL USA
Posts: 2,092
Quote:
errr how about unfilter?
I guess I'll do UnFilter next, just because it's easier than SimpleResize.

It turned out I'd stupidly deleted some of my previously made TomsMoComp changes, but I've reconstructed everything and am testing now. More soon.

- Tom
trbarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2002, 08:00   #8  |  Link
trbarry
Registered User
 
trbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Gainesville FL USA
Posts: 2,092
it's not really released, I guess it escaped ...

With some misgivings (and limitations) I just put out a YV12 test version of TomsMoComp. I replaced the old zip with one that has both the old and new versions, use the one from the Avisynth_2.5_Alpha folder for YV12 testing. See:

www.trbarry.com/Readme_TomsMoComp.txt and
www.trbarry.com/TomsMoComp.zip (source and dll's)

This version does NOT yet support the SearchEffort=-1 parm that does a vertical screen doubling. Sorry, that needs more debugging and is turned off.

You will still have to specify whether your clip is TopFirst. I put in code to automatically pick that up from Avisynth if you specified the TopFirst parm as -1, but that does not seem to work correctly with Avisynth 2.5" and "MPEG2Dec3 0.9x, so I probably did it wrong.

I noticed there is a bug with Avisynth 2.5 and MPEG2DEC3 on the Video Essential Montage, the torture test. It causes strange ghosting and wierd effects when it swithes back from video to film source. But it was a problem even without TomsMoComp, so I released this anyway.

I also put in code to say the output clip was progressive, but forgot to test it. (how do I do this?) So you are maybe better off putting an AssumeFrameBased statement after TomsMoComp.

THIS IS A TEST! IT IS ONLY A TEST! Treat accordingly.

As always I'd like feedback, but probably not until tomorrow since I'm totally burnt after all this.

Good luck, and good night.

- Tom

Last edited by trbarry; 17th November 2002 at 19:07.
trbarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2002, 14:37   #9  |  Link
Marc FD
XviD fan
 
Marc FD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: France
Posts: 907
tom, please, avoid to say "Avisynth 2.05" and "MPEG2DEC3_YV12".

to avoid confusion, simply say : "Avisynth 2.5" and "MPEG2Dec3 0.9x".

thanks.

BTW,


> I noticed there is a bug with Avisynth 2.05 and MPEG2DEC3_YV12 on the
> Video Essential Montage, the torture test. It causes strange ghosting
> and wierd effects when it swithes back from video to film source. But it
> was a problem even without TomsMoComp, so I released this anyway.

i noticed it a while ago. it's not a MPEG2Dec3 bug, because it happens with XviD too. the problem is in Avisynth internals. i think some planar code is missing in the cache, or something like that. (looks like missed memcpy's for U and V planes for me)
Marc FD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2002, 14:47   #10  |  Link
HarryM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Czech rep.
Posts: 390
Re: it's not really released, I guess it escaped ...

Quote:
Originally posted by trbarry
With some misgivings (and limitations) I just put out a YV12 test version of TomsMoComp. I replaced the old zip with one that has both the old and new versions, use the one from the Avisynth_205_Alpha folder for YV12 testing. - Tom
Very thanks!

Now I have all for YV12!

Practically I need only 3 filters

mpeg2-decoding: Mpeg2Dec3_YV12
filtering: Convolution3d_YV12
deinterlacing: TomsMoComp_YV12

I am pleased...
HarryM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2002, 14:57   #11  |  Link
hakko504
Remember Rule One
 
hakko504's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SWEDEN
Posts: 1,612
@trbarry

Would it be possible for you to implement a correct BOB mode in TomsMoComp? Right now you can use it to create a smart bob function, but there are some minor details that isn't right if I do it the way I currently does it.
Code:
function Bob1(clip clip)
{
Top=clip.TomsMoComp(1,15,1)
Bottom=clip.TomsMoComp(0,15,1)
return Interleave(Top,Bottom)
}

function Bob2(clip clip)
{
double=clip.separatefields.DoubleWeave
return TomsMoComp(1,15,1)
}
Assuming (as usual) that the input clip cosists of 1t1b 2t2b etc, then Bob1 will create the sequence 1t1b 1t1b 2t2b 2t2b... where the fields in italics are the ones altered by TomsMoComp. Bob2 on the other hand will create the following sequence: 1t1b 2t1b 2t2b 3t2b which is slightly more like it, the fields appear in the correct order, but this time only the bottoms fields are adjusted. As far as I can tell a true smart bob should create this sequence: 1t1b 2t1b 2t2b 3t2b

Other than that, I just want to say thank you to all involved in AviSynth 2.5a. With a proper deinterlacer available it is finally time to switch completely, as I usually only do quick conversions with source->deinterlace->resize most of the time.
__________________
/hakko

http://www.boardgamegeek.com
hakko504 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2002, 18:10   #12  |  Link
trbarry
Registered User
 
trbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Gainesville FL USA
Posts: 2,092
Hakko -

I'm not sure I understand your notation, it seems it would be more of a weave than a bob. But I am indeed looking into a version of TomsMoComp that puts out double the frame rate, for all values of SearchEffort.

I think of a bob as something that creates an entire frame from only one field, in any fashion. Is this what you also mean? It wouldn't include sequences like 2t3b???

- Tom
trbarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2002, 18:22   #13  |  Link
lighty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mars
Posts: 186
@trbarry

Well it seems that TomsMoComp YV12 crashes my VirtualDubMod (latest) without any message. It happens both with Avisynth 2.5 alpha 07/11 and 11/11.

So I still haven't had any chance to test it...

OK- so it seems that stupid Windoze got to set automatic restore point and while doing it it seems that it had restored old YUY Avisynth dll. Stupid M$ product.
My apologies to you trbarry. I will go testing ASAP!

Last edited by lighty; 14th November 2002 at 01:40.
lighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2002, 19:15   #14  |  Link
hakko504
Remember Rule One
 
hakko504's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SWEDEN
Posts: 1,612
@trbarry

Yes, a smart-bob routine can be thought of as a double weave followed by a deinterlacing function, but where the deinterlace shifts it's field-priority, so that odd frames are based on top fields and even frames are based on bottom fields (or vice versa, top/even & bottom/odd). Your question made me think one extra time, and you're quite right, what I'm after is this:
Code:
function Bob3(clip clip)
{
double=clip.Separatefields.Doubleweave
even=double.SelectEven.TomsMoComp(1,15,1)
odd=double.SelectOdd.TomsMoComp(0,15,1)
return Interleave(even,odd)
}
__________________
/hakko

http://www.boardgamegeek.com
hakko504 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2002, 01:59   #15  |  Link
lighty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mars
Posts: 186
@trbarry

Well, it seems that any SearchEffort above 0 causes Access violation error.
Code:
Avisynth read error: Avisynth: caught an access violation at 0x0101131e, attempting to read from 0x64606167
I am using latest Avisyth alpha 11/11 with VirtualDubMod 1.4.11, mpeg2dec3 0.91.

Script is following
Code:
LoadPlugin("C:\PROGRAM FILES\AVISYNTH2\PLUGINS\MPEG2DEC3.DLL")
LoadPlugin("C:\PROGRAM FILES\AVISYNTH2\PLUGINS\TOMSMOCOMP.DLL")
MPEG2Source("D:\Red Dwarf\video_ts\1\11.d2v")
SetMemoryMax(256)

TomsMoComp(1,15,1)
I tried several parameters combination but they all seem to result in the same message in the VirtualDub statusbar. It doesn't crash or anything and one can use search but all I got is black screen.
With SearchEffort set to 0 everything appears to work fine.

Hope this info helps a bit.
lighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2002, 02:40   #16  |  Link
trbarry
Registered User
 
trbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Gainesville FL USA
Posts: 2,092
Lighty -

Dunno. I did most of my testing with SE=5, didn't test 15.

What kind of processor do you have? I have separate code for 3 types and sometimes something sneaks through that maybe should only be an SSEMMX instruction.

Are you saying the exact same script as above will work if you set SE=0?

And has Anybody managed to make this one work with YV12? Maybe I'm compileing with a different header or uploading the wrong release or something.

- Tom
trbarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2002, 02:46   #17  |  Link
trbarry
Registered User
 
trbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Gainesville FL USA
Posts: 2,092
hakko504 -

I think that's pretty much what I was going to implement.

But I'm not sure anymore that SE=15 is the best idea anymore. I think the number of false motion search matches grows over 9 or soo and the it may just use extra CPU time without much benefit. Usually I just tend to use SE=5 these days.

- Tom
trbarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2002, 03:32   #18  |  Link
MaTTeR
AC3 5.1 Addict
 
MaTTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Big Blue Nation_USA
Posts: 2,036
Tom,

I snatched the filter last night as soon as you posted it and was getting the same access violations as well. I tried various MOD-4 & 8 resolutions but no luck. I then reverted back to the YUY2 version and the script ran fine.

I didn't try SE=0 though, tried 5 and 9; both worked with YUY2 filter.
__________________
Need AC3 & SPDIF setup info?
MaTTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2002, 07:27   #19  |  Link
Bulletproof
Registered User
 
Bulletproof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 318
Access violations here too.
Bulletproof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2002, 11:43   #20  |  Link
lighty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mars
Posts: 186
@trbarry

Yes- that's exactly what I'm saying- this script indeed works with SearchEffort 0 (as a matter of fact it works rather fine but I seem to get some color distortion- I'll get back to you on that one as soon as I can get it all to run with any other setting) but not with any value higher than that.

I have AthlonXP+2000 so I guess SSEMMX shouldn't represent any problem since it supports every feat except P4 SSE2.

A bit of a prob here- eh?
lighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.