Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th August 2002, 12:26   #1  |  Link
johann.Langhofer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 20
Avisynth-Monitor

Hello,
I've written a small extension to monitor an avs-stream. You can download for free, see links below.

Short description of the usage:
Loadplugin ("avsmon.dll")
{your script here}
MonitorFilter

What is the advantage of this Filter:
- You can prview the video (ie. during cce-conversion)
- You can determine an exact audio delay

Best regards,
johann.langhofer@nextra.at
avsmon.gif

avsmon.dll

Last edited by Wilbert; 24th August 2004 at 09:25.
johann.Langhofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2002, 15:24   #2  |  Link
sh0dan
Retired AviSynth Dev ;)
 
sh0dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dark Side of the Moon
Posts: 3,480
Really cool - especially the audio-delay is excellent for me!

I do have some problems:

Code:
Loadplugin ("avsmon.dll") 
clip=avisource("D:\SH0DAN\MPG\Ice Age.avi").converttoyuy2()
bc=blankclip(1000000,70,32).killaudio().converttoyuy2().ShowFrameNumber().greyscale()
MonitorFilter(clip)
layer(clip,bc,"add",200,10,0)
Does not show any picture, but
Code:
Loadplugin ("avsmon.dll") 
clip=avisource("D:\SH0DAN\MPG\Ice Age.avi").converttoyuy2()
bc=blankclip(1000000,70,32).killaudio().converttoyuy2().ShowFrameNumber().greyscale()
layer(clip,bc,"add",200,10,0)
MonitorFilter(clip)
works ok.
__________________
Regards, sh0dan // VoxPod
sh0dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2002, 15:43   #3  |  Link
johann.Langhofer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 20
At the moment I've no idea where the problem could be, but I'll try to fix it..

Best regards
johann.Langhofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2002, 16:45   #4  |  Link
sh0dan
Retired AviSynth Dev ;)
 
sh0dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dark Side of the Moon
Posts: 3,480
No hurry - it already rocks! It would just be great to be able to preview intermediate stages of the filters.

This gives me all new perspectives on an Avisynth GUI. I should really try to do a design-proposal, if I had the time.

Another nice-to-have would be some info like resolution, colorspace, framerate, samplerate, sample depth, channels.

Also a slide for "second-offset" for audio could be useful, especially with the compressed audio support, which has huge sync-problems when skipping in VBR mp3-material.

... I could go on - you really shouldn't listen to me!
__________________
Regards, sh0dan // VoxPod
sh0dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2002, 17:11   #5  |  Link
Koepi
Moderator
 
Koepi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,455
I think that filter rocks, too! I'm reencoding the matrix with it, just to see it work
(Ok, I'm using more aggressive convolution3d settings than in my last test, too ).

I noticed that if you search backwards, the image doesn't get updated... only if you advance above the point where you've already been. Bug or feature?

Best regards,

and thanks for this nice dll

Koepi
Koepi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2002, 21:28   #6  |  Link
WarpEnterprises
C64
 
WarpEnterprises's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austria
Posts: 830
Maybe silly question, but how do you get the GUI to show up?
(or doesn't it work on win98).
WarpEnterprises is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2002, 21:32   #7  |  Link
sh0dan
Retired AviSynth Dev ;)
 
sh0dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dark Side of the Moon
Posts: 3,480
... it just shows up (XP here)
__________________
Regards, sh0dan // VoxPod
sh0dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2002, 21:34   #8  |  Link
johann.Langhofer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 20
thanks for all the suggestions, I'll see what I can do...

for the actual problem:
Loadplugin ("avsmon.dll")
clip=avisource("D:\SH0DAN\MPG\Ice Age.avi").converttoyuy2()
bc=blankclip(1000000,70,32).killaudio().converttoyuy2().ShowFrameNumber().greyscale()
MonitorFilter(clip)
layer(clip,bc,"add",200,10,0)

I think although I'm not so very familar with scripting the MonitorFilter is an I/O filter that means you must (re)assign the variable you use for the clip. I've tested following versions without problems:

version 1:
clip=avisource("D:\SH0DAN\MPG\Ice Age.avi").converttoyuy2().MonitorFiler
bc=blankclip(1000000,70,32).killaudio().converttoyuy2().ShowFrameNumber().greyscale()
layer(clip,bc,"add",200,10,0)

version 2:
clip=avisource("D:\SH0DAN\MPG\Ice Age.avi").converttoyuy2()
bc=blankclip(1000000,70,32).killaudio().converttoyuy2().ShowFrameNumber().greyscale()
clip=MonitorFilter(clip)
layer(clip,bc,"add",200,10,0)

version 3:
clip=avisource("D:\SH0DAN\MPG\Ice Age.avi").converttoyuy2()
bc=blankclip(1000000,70,32).killaudio().converttoyuy2().ShowFrameNumber().greyscale()
MonitorFilter(clip)
layer(last,bc,"add",200,10,0)
johann.Langhofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2002, 23:59   #9  |  Link
Belgabor
VDubMod Devel
 
Belgabor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 826
Well, i think its quite logical it shows no picture, as in sh0dans script its kinda a dead end. I imagine avisynth to be operated-by-draw-at-the-end-of-the-chain, and in that example nothing draws at the MonitorFilter. (Well, this is prolly what johann meant by stating its an i/o filter)

Cheers
Belgabor
Belgabor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2002, 10:53   #10  |  Link
iago
retired
 
iago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: hollywood
Posts: 1,013
@Koepi

Quote:
Originally posted by Koepi
(Ok, I'm using more aggressive convolution3d settings than in my last test, too ).
Maybe the wrong thread to ask that, but since you mentioned it here, what convolution3d settings are you trying with Matrix? (I'm also considering to test convolution3d again, using MPEG quantizers and no lumi in both passes, maybe sharp bicubic, with Fight Club aiming for 1CD.)

thanks and best regards ,
iago

Last edited by iago; 25th August 2002 at 12:00.
iago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2002, 18:34   #11  |  Link
theReal
Piper at theGates of Dawn
 
theReal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Earth
Posts: 2,138
Very cool !!! Thanks !! Avisynth only needed a preview to be perfect
__________________
"Under a government which imprisons unjustly, the true place for a just man is also a prison"
Henry David Thoreau, On the duty of civil disobedience, 1849
theReal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2002, 19:07   #12  |  Link
johann.Langhofer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 20
thx,
an extended version is now ready for testing...

- more statistics
- histogram switch (works for yuy2 only)


avsmon_vers10a
screendump
johann.Langhofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2002, 20:21   #13  |  Link
theReal
Piper at theGates of Dawn
 
theReal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Earth
Posts: 2,138
one question: what is the audio delay switch for?
__________________
"Under a government which imprisons unjustly, the true place for a just man is also a prison"
Henry David Thoreau, On the duty of civil disobedience, 1849
theReal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2002, 07:33   #14  |  Link
soulfx
The Digital Soul
 
soulfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 114
Sw337! This is really cool, awesome work johann.Langhofer.

The Histogram is a nice addition, it seems hard to read, but that's the way AviSynth's default histogram is.

One concern I had/have is effects of this monitor on framerate. I did some tests and what I can tell there really isn't any affect on framerate. Yay.

Peace,
SoulFX

Last edited by soulfx; 26th August 2002 at 08:05.
soulfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2002, 07:44   #15  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
@johann.Langhofer

Well, what is the verdict on Win98? At least two of us don't get any GUI. Are you blowing off Win98 users?
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2002, 10:26   #16  |  Link
johann.Langhofer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 20
To Neuron2: It's not the intention to blow off win98 users

If you can't get any GUI, the reason could be that I've used an api (CreateThread) on which the last argument must not be NULL for Win95/98/Me, but on NT/2000/XP it can be (just found from professor Google).
Sorry, I'll fix that as soon as possible, unfortenatly I'm at work now, so the earliest time to fix is the coming weekend.

To soulfx: I can't believe about the framerate, I've also done tests and was satisfied. The framerate is determined by counting the GetFrame()-calls inbetween a second measured with the multimedia-timer ??!

Best regards,
Johann Langhofer
johann.Langhofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2002, 13:37   #17  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
@Johann

Thank you. We will look forward to the Win98 compatible version!
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2002, 14:09   #18  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
@Defiler

Nice move, Defiler. Make enemies of the people that help you.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2002, 16:02   #19  |  Link
vidiot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 144
Just wanted to say:

Glad Im not the last WIN98SE User in the world...

And Im sure: Less Problems (except Fat32) and more power with the same system than NT or ME or...
(...more bang for the buck...)

BTW: for the price of a nice Win XP Version I could easily buy an DVD Burner - is that an option?

Harald
vidiot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2002, 17:39   #20  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
@Defiler

Please do not hijack this valuable thread with off-topic trolls. Otherwise, I'll have to resort to sanctions. Thank you.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.