Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-2 Encoding

Old 9th July 2002, 13:52   #1  |  Link
Pyre8

Luminance levels illumination please

I was just wondering what the luminance level controls in CCE do. Most folks here seem to recommend 16 - 235, I have used the 0-255 without seeing any problems (but I have not tried the 16-235). Anyone has some explanation on this control and how it should really be used?
Pyre8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2002, 07:33   #2  |  Link
wmansir

I'm not an expert, but from what I recall the 16-235 range is for material that is ment for TV, since they can have problems displaying the extreme ends of the brightness spectrum.
wmansir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2002, 00:51   #3  |  Link
daveidmx
Just One Calorie

in NTSC-Land USA a luminance value of 0 corresponds to a video voltage of 0 IRE. A value of 16 corresponds to 7.5 IRE. 7.5 IRE is considered "true black". The NTSC system reserves 0 IRE for "blanking" and calls 7.5 IRE "setup" -- two of the video signal timing components. Luminance values less than 7.5 are "blacker than black" and may get lost on many video systems, resulting in muddy image. at worst they could be confused for video timing signals, though i've never seen it happen.

Ideally, your final MPEG should have a black level of approximately 16 (out of 256). Two ways this can happen. if you used "PC Scale" in DVD2AVI, then your decoded video will have a black level of 0. you should then use "16 to 235" in the encoder to compress the luma back to spec. If you used "TV Scale" then your video will already be 16-235 and you should select "0 to 255" to prevent further luma compression.