Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Announcements and Chat > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 30th April 2002, 22:12   #1  |  Link
DeXT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 307
Dissappearing CODECs in XP: FIX!!

Well I discovered this some weeks ago but only published it in a spanish forum (www.peque.org).

As you know, seems there is a 'bug' in XP, perhaps related to DivX 4 and up, which causes CODECs "dissappearing", so you cant install any new CODEC and the only solution being format and reinstall.

The fact is, I discovered what causes this and how to fix it without the need to reinstall everything again. The procedure is as follows:

1. Search the followind Key in the registry:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Drivers32]

2. You'll see a list of values containing FOURCC references and CODECs, such as:

"VIDC.I420"="msh263.drv"
"VIDC.IYUV"="iyuv_32.dll"
"vidc.iv50"="ir50_32.dll"
"msacm.l3acm"="D:\WINXP\System32\l3codeca.acm"
"vidc.DIV3"="DivXc32.dll"
"vidc.DIV4"="DivXc32f.dll"
"msacm.divxa32"="DivXa32.acm"
"vidc.DIVX"="DivX.dll"
"vidc.BT20"=""

Look at the empty one (vidc.BT20). Search empty values like this one and delete 'em (they are useless).

3. Enjoy your full list of CODECs again!!

The fun part is, seems no one was able to discover this even on the DivX official forum where there have been lots of requests for this subject. I did it with Sysinternals' RegMon utility. VDub reported an OVERFLOW error while enumerating the CODEC list so this was easy to track down.

Hope you find it useful. And if anyone wishes to publish it in a FAQ, just do it.

Regards,

DeXT

Last edited by DeXT; 30th April 2002 at 22:15.
DeXT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2002, 22:48   #2  |  Link
Tsui
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 79
x

I never had this problem with WinXP Pro, but I love those postings where people describe how they solve their own problems.

When this solution is verified by some other people, then it must be included into some faqs as well as in some fixing-tools.

Does anyone know when those empty strings appeare in the registry ?
What is the cause for that bug ?
What OS are affected ?
WinXP Home or WinXP Pro or Win2k ?
Tsui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2002, 22:56   #3  |  Link
avih
Capture, Deinterlace
 
avih's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Right there
Posts: 1,949
it's verified. i had this sh*t happening few times while i was messing with xp installations. dext told me about it on irc vew days ago... worked like a charm

win xp pro, installed video related apps:

vdub REC 1.4.9
virtualdub 1.4.10
divx 4.11
various versions of xvid (starting from 30-jan, upto late april)
btwincap (5-april-2002)

cheers
avi

ps.
i had to remove 2 empty entries: the one that dext describes, and another one.
avih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2003, 04:46   #4  |  Link
consulting
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Essen / Germany
Posts: 6
Great

Great work.

Thank you.
(Must have been said...)
__________________
Don't count the days of your life, but the life in your days...
consulting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2003, 16:06   #5  |  Link
tiki4
Registered User
 
tiki4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Who Knows?
Posts: 929
Fortunately I didn't have this problem yet, but thanks anyway.

tiki4
tiki4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2003, 05:40   #6  |  Link
sh03z
the encodenator
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 239
yes...it's simple registry manipulation.

go to START run, regedit

go to local machine

and there you will find a lot of things to look at.
like DeXT said, you can delete entries or add stuff to them.

@ DeXT: have you tried making a backup of that particular section of the registry, then making an easy batch file to restore it when it goes bad??? or even a batch file that just deletes them using reg.exe???

Last edited by sh03z; 6th December 2003 at 05:42.
sh03z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2003, 05:36   #7  |  Link
dTb
LFS Addict
 
dTb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Darwin Australia mate
Posts: 148
I've known about this for some time, DigitAl56k has a little app to correct this on the divx forums.
__________________
Currently addicted to Live for Speed
dTb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2004, 23:43   #8  |  Link
poopa
Registered User
 
poopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 18
thank you !!!!
You really saved the day for me !
poopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2004, 23:53   #9  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in HD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,265
Quote:
Originally posted by dTb
I've known about this for some time, DigitAl56k has a little app to correct this on the divx forums.
Can you post a link to the 'little app' please dTb?

Cheers
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2004, 00:42   #10  |  Link
Gaia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 267
I found this http://www.btinternet.com/~digital56k/BigFix1.6b.exe

I am not sure is this application you're talking about?

Last edited by Gaia; 25th January 2004 at 00:46.
Gaia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2004, 02:38   #11  |  Link
DigitAl56K
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 936
Yes, bigfix will clear up that problem for you automatically.
DigitAl56K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2004, 22:49   #12  |  Link
mulderfox01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1
thanks man
this tip have just saved me a lot of trouble
mulderfox01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2004, 06:54   #13  |  Link
cjaar
Registered User
 
cjaar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 186
This was posted in this forum when divx5 realesed, and my first divx5 isntall hd this prob. The first fix was posted in some russian site, and since then i am using it... i believe couple of people repoted this prob in doom's forum.

How about making this as a sticky!!!!! in divx forum or add in FAQ section. i think many people come across this problem!!!

thx
cjaar
cjaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2004, 23:24   #14  |  Link
rafaila
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Thassos Island, Greece
Posts: 7
Thank you, DeXT.
You helped me a lot. I was about to get nuts.
__________________
JimmyZ
rafaila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2004, 01:24   #15  |  Link
DK64_MASTER
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 105
OMG!!!! Thanks so much!!! I was having so many problems with Sony's Click to DVD. And amazingly, they started to happen as soon as I uninstalled DIVX!! It has been bugging me for the past (counts on fingers) 7 months. I thought to myself, hey, a simple bugfix might help (long shot in my head), but it worked like a charm!!!'


Thanks so much. You do not know the relief one has when he gets software to work after 7 months of it crashing!!!
DK64_MASTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.