Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th February 2007, 09:11   #261  |  Link
haruhiko_yamagata
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,560
Qpel & idct

Becasue QPEL was introduced in MPEG4,
libmpeg2-idct even does not know about QPEL.
So libmpeg2-idct must be excluded when QPEL is detected.

Is this correct? I'm n00b to these things, any advice is wellcome.
__________________
[ Download ffdshow | Wiki ]
haruhiko_yamagata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2007, 11:40   #262  |  Link
fastplayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 799
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadBangeR77 View Post
2) Fastplayer can decode the sample properly only when using XviD library. Libavcodec + libmpeg2 idCT and libavcodec + XviD MMX are both causing artifacts - rev. ???
No, he can't. Shoot him!
I did a frame comparison and came up with the same conclusions like you:
http://simpleupload.net/download/44120/idct.rar.html

Last edited by fastplayer; 8th February 2007 at 14:41. Reason: Updated DL link.
fastplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2007, 12:23   #263  |  Link
KoD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 536
HeadBangeR77, what encoder options have you used for that sample file ?
KoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2007, 13:13   #264  |  Link
HeadBangeR77
Registered User
 
HeadBangeR77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Heidelberg (DE), Kraków (PL)
Posts: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoD View Post
HeadBangeR77, what encoder options have you used for that sample file ?
2 max. consecutive B-frames (ratio=1.62, offset=0), packed bitstream, qpel, to name the ones that should matter while decoding, no GMC.
To name the ones that shouldn't matter at all: MSP 6, VHQ 4, VHQ for b-frames, Chroma ME, trellis, chroma optimizer, CC 15/6.

If the matrice (Didee's SixOfNine) could have an influence on the bug, I've ruled that out: the sample is cut from my 2-pass encode, but I've seen the same things happening with my 1-pass samples, while I was testings CQMs, with 11 other matrices, including H.263 quantization and MPEG standard.

@ haruhiko: I haven't got the faintest idea, unfortunatelly.

@ fastplayer: sh**, I can't view files at filefactory - my ISP's issue, 1/4 of webpages doesn't load; might be sth with proxy
Thanks
__________________
"Only two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former."

Last edited by HeadBangeR77; 8th February 2007 at 13:31.
HeadBangeR77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2007, 13:26   #265  |  Link
fastplayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 799
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadBangeR77 View Post
@ fastplayer: sh**, I can't view files at filefactory - my ISP's issue, 1/4 of webpages doesn't load; might be sth with proxy
http://simpleupload.net/download/44120/idct.rar.html

Last edited by fastplayer; 8th February 2007 at 14:36. Reason: Updated DL link.
fastplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2007, 14:19   #266  |  Link
igor1st
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadBangeR77 View Post
I can't reproduce the distortions with libav + Xvid MMX (I've also tried Xvid-Xvid alone), only with libav + libmpeg2 (+eyebrow, Orlando's also). The auto function for iDCT still works as it wants to - I've got both distorted and proper decoding, depending on its mood.
I made quick frame to frame comparison with your sample:
lavc xvid/auto (yes, auto works always as it should) identical to xvid 1.1.2.
lavc libmpeg2 not identical to xvid 1.1.2.
igor1st is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2007, 14:30   #267  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by haruhiko_yamagata View Post
Becasue QPEL was introduced in MPEG4,
libmpeg2-idct even does not know about QPEL.
So libmpeg2-idct must be excluded when QPEL is detected.

Is this correct? I'm n00b to these things, any advice is wellcome.
From what I could find with the search, the Xvid encoder will use a different DCT when QPEL is activated. So that would explain why a different iDCT is needed during decoding.

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...ight=qpel+idct
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2007, 14:35   #268  |  Link
fastplayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 799
I can confirm this: Setting IDCT to 'auto' produces same result as Xvid and lavc+Xvid MMX. I've updated link with frame comparisons (see above).
fastplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2007, 22:05   #269  |  Link
Jeremy Duncan
Didée Fan
 
Jeremy Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,079
Hello, I'm hoping that leakkerneldeint can be put into the Deinterlacers section of FFDshow in the next rev.
Jeremy Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2007, 22:14   #270  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastplayer View Post
I can confirm this: Setting IDCT to 'auto' produces same result as Xvid and lavc+Xvid MMX. I've updated link with frame comparisons (see above).
You mean that 'auto' choses the correct iDCT? In that case we might want to consider making 'auto' the default again.


I just did a benchmark with a non-interlaced H.264 file. Having HW deinterlacing enabled in the output settings hurts performance a bit. In this one test about 16% lower dfps. But it will probably depend on the power of the graphics card. Mine is pretty weak. So my recommendation to everyone is too keep it turned off (the default) if you mostly play progressive files and to use a software deinterlacer when needed.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2007, 22:31   #271  |  Link
fastplayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 799
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
You mean that 'auto' choses the correct iDCT? In that case we might want to consider making 'auto' the default again.
In this particular case, yes. I remember the IDCT being 'auto' by default some time ago. I don't know why it has been changed to 'libmpeg2'.

By the way, is there an option in ffdshow that allows me to see what IDCT is being currently used (when it's set to 'auto')?

Last edited by fastplayer; 9th February 2007 at 22:36.
fastplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2007, 00:26   #272  |  Link
Jeremy Duncan
Didée Fan
 
Jeremy Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,079
haruhiko_yamagata,

I tried the HW Deinterlacing in the Output Tab.
- I set the output to YV12 only, and FFDshow Video decoder would not show up, but FFDshow Audio would.
- If I set it to YUY2, FFDshow Video decoder showed up, but the HW deinterlacing was off.
I tried other and all Output Colorspaces, but they all set it to Software mode deinterlacing.

I have a few questions.
- What Output colorspace do I need to USE HW Deinterlacing: Bob ?
- Why can't I just use YV12 ?

I'm using the Nvidia Video Codec, and Media Player Classic.
I've tried VMR9 renderless, and default in the MPC output tab.
I've tried fiddling with the video card properties.
I'm using FFDshow rev 814

Jeremy Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2007, 01:17   #273  |  Link
Hans Ohlo
Registered User
 
Hans Ohlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 123
hi,
a little question, when are ffmpeg patches in the ffdshow builds? do they use the same repository?
Hans Ohlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2007, 02:34   #274  |  Link
ouchi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Big thanks to the developers of FFDShow.

I'm not sure that this is the right place to talk about the difficulties from using FFDShow.
And English is not my mother tongue.
Your patience will be really appreciated.

Unlike PowerDVD 7, v5 has no compatability issue with FFDShow.
But in recent FFDShow builds after the rev657_20061209_clsid, there is no way that make it work with my PowerDVD 5 but to stop using the blacklist which is very useful for me.
Excluding PowerDVD.exe from the list does nothing in my PC and I don't know why.

Is this designed intentionally? If so, how can I bypass it?
Or is there something that I overlooked or misunderstood in configuration?

Last edited by ouchi; 10th February 2007 at 02:51.
ouchi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2007, 03:30   #275  |  Link
Bathrone
Curious Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 240
Flac audio playback is broken. When installing builds with the flac option enabled, and playing it back in wmp11 no playback occurs and an error message is generated "wmp cannot play the file.......not supported...."

Also, why are the cslid and drevilxxx builds different for default installs? I see vorbis tremor has different defaults.
Bathrone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2007, 04:40   #276  |  Link
vortex_hl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Turkey
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bathrone View Post
Flac audio playback is broken. When installing builds with the flac option enabled, and playing it back in wmp11 no playback occurs and an error message is generated "wmp cannot play the file.......not supported...."
you need flac source filter. this already noted in audio codecs section in ffdshow.
vortex_hl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2007, 09:36   #277  |  Link
haruhiko_yamagata
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,560
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
You mean that 'auto' choses the correct iDCT? In that case we might want to consider making 'auto' the default again.
I think 'auto' is best for most users.
__________________
[ Download ffdshow | Wiki ]
haruhiko_yamagata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2007, 09:38   #278  |  Link
haruhiko_yamagata
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,560
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastplayer View Post
By the way, is there an option in ffdshow that allows me to see what IDCT is being currently used (when it's set to 'auto')?
I'm working on it .
__________________
[ Download ffdshow | Wiki ]
haruhiko_yamagata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2007, 09:48   #279  |  Link
haruhiko_yamagata
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,560
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Duncan View Post
haruhiko_yamagata,

I tried the HW Deinterlacing in the Output Tab.
- I set the output to YV12 only, and FFDshow Video decoder would not show up, but FFDshow Audio would.
- If I set it to YUY2, FFDshow Video decoder showed up, but the HW deinterlacing was off.
I tried other and all Output Colorspaces, but they all set it to Software mode deinterlacing.

I have a few questions.
- What Output colorspace do I need to USE HW Deinterlacing: Bob ?
- Why can't I just use YV12 ?

I'm using the Nvidia Video Codec, and Media Player Classic.
I've tried VMR9 renderless, and default in the MPC output tab.
I've tried fiddling with the video card properties.
I'm using FFDshow rev 814

YV12 and HW deinterlacing is not supported. I don't know why, but milan judged to disable when HW deinterlacing was checked. He should have good reason to do so, it is not safe to enable it without testing broadly. Because we don't have that many video cards, it is better to leave it as it is.

HW deinterlacing should work with YUY2, if it does not work, it should be nVidia's issue.
__________________
[ Download ffdshow | Wiki ]
haruhiko_yamagata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2007, 09:53   #280  |  Link
haruhiko_yamagata
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,560
Quote:
Originally Posted by ouchi View Post
Big thanks to the developers of FFDShow.

I'm not sure that this is the right place to talk about the difficulties from using FFDShow.
And English is not my mother tongue.
Your patience will be really appreciated.

Unlike PowerDVD 7, v5 has no compatability issue with FFDShow.
But in recent FFDShow builds after the rev657_20061209_clsid, there is no way that make it work with my PowerDVD 5 but to stop using the blacklist which is very useful for me.
Excluding PowerDVD.exe from the list does nothing in my PC and I don't know why.

Is this designed intentionally? If so, how can I bypass it?
Or is there something that I overlooked or misunderstood in configuration?
Thank you for report.
It was intentionally designed, I didn't know PowerDVD5 worked though. There is no way to bypass currently. Is there way to check version of PowerDVD?
__________________
[ Download ffdshow | Wiki ]
haruhiko_yamagata is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ffdshow, ffdshow tryouts, ffdshow-mt, ffplay, icl

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.