Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > IFO/VOB Editors

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th February 2002, 12:47   #1  |  Link
JeffreyLiou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 15
Compatibility problem between IfoEdit and GearDVD

After stripping audio and subtitle track from Atlantis using IfoEdit
0.87, do get-VTS sector and successfully simulated with PowerDVD XP. It was then burn with Nero 5572 in UDF/ISO mode, the DVD-R played nicely in my Pioneer S9, however,it could not be recognized by my friend's Sony DVD player. So I tried to burn with PrimoDVD 2.0 but the disc was rejected everytime while I pressed the record button with message "the data job was terminated with error".
OK, then tried with GearDVD 6.0, error message showed during importing video files :"Load error on file VTS_02_0.ifo.File cannot loaded at the required address(1996) because the address is already occupied. First available load address is 1674876."

How to solve this strange and interesting situation ?
The Nero also have compatibility problem in some DVD players !
JeffreyLiou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2002, 14:14   #2  |  Link
Derrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 898
Use the Image-Creation function/button in IfoEdit 0.87, and burn the created image with Primo or Gear, but not with Nero.

This disc should the work in every compatible player.
Derrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2002, 16:18   #3  |  Link
ByronE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 94
Hey Derrow, are there any other burning programs you suggest would work besides prassi or gear? Or any that would work without recreateing an image (in order to save time and space...)I have been having identical problems with the same programs.
ByronE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2002, 16:38   #4  |  Link
tconnectt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by ByronE
Hey Derrow, are there any other burning programs you suggest would work besides prassi or gear? Or any that would work without recreateing an image (in order to save time and space...)I have been having identical problems with the same programs.
I use VOB (it came with my recorder). It supports images, and I haven't had a failure with it.
tconnectt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2002, 16:43   #5  |  Link
rui.m.godinho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 76
Derow what do you mean with "in every compatible player" ? Do you mean compatible=all players, or do you mean that there will be problems with same kind of players.
The image tool wasn't suppose to solve the compatible problem and once and for make the dvd-r play in any settop player ?
Some guys said that this image tool doesn't solve all the problems, becuase now there is another problem the type of media that we use. Do you confirm ?
rui.m.godinho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2002, 17:18   #6  |  Link
Derrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 898
Quote:
Originally posted by ByronE
Hey Derrow, are there any other burning programs you suggest would work besides prassi or gear? Or any that would work without recreateing an image (in order to save time and space...)I have been having identical problems with the same programs.
Yea, I suggest every burning tool, except Nero. Nero isn't able to burn DVD image files.
But you must use the Image-creation in IfoEdit to get a 100% perfect working DVD-R.
Derrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2002, 17:21   #7  |  Link
Derrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 898
Quote:
Originally posted by rui.m.godinho
Derow what do you mean with "in every compatible player" ? Do you mean compatible=all players, or do you mean that there will be problems with same kind of players.
Well, with compatible I mean if you burn DVD-RW, then in every player that can read DVD-RW.
If you burn DVD-R, then every player that can read dvd-r.
etc.
Derrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2002, 02:05   #8  |  Link
JeffreyLiou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 15
Thanks again, Derrow for your help!
I'll try it and report the result later.
JeffreyLiou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2002, 08:35   #9  |  Link
SciFer
Registered User
 
SciFer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 64
Derrow, in regards to rui.m.godinho's question about the media also being a concern, what is your opinion/feedback?
SciFer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2002, 15:59   #10  |  Link
JeffreyLiou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally posted by JeffreyLiou
Thanks again, Derrow for your help!
I'll try it and report the result later.
The result is ......
the sony S-345 player now could read the DVD-R made by Gear from IfoEdit image.

Thanks again, Derrow !
JeffreyLiou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2002, 16:06   #11  |  Link
Derrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 898
Wow, great, amazing!
Thanx for the feedback.

So all my work has not been for nuts.
Derrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2002, 16:11   #12  |  Link
Derrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 898
@ SciFer & @rui.m.godinho

Quote:
Originally posted by rui.m.godinho
Some guys said that this image tool doesn't solve all the problems, becuase now there is another problem the type of media that we use. Do you confirm ?
Not really. Most new standalone players are able to read -RW or +RW.

And most people have trouble to burn correct DVD-RWs, cause their used burning tools, create different images, what will result in big trouble.
So this Image tool really solves now those peoples problems.
Derrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2002, 19:30   #13  |  Link
TP2K
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 44
Well, hopefully one step closer to this...

My question is this; I have created an image file in IFOEdit with th Image facility, and am left with a file such as this;

CHARLIESANGELS.img

- what do I do with this to burn it? Do I have to rename it VIDEO_TS so my DVD player will automatically play it? Or do I just burn it as it is and (somehow) my player will play it properly anyway?
TP2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2002, 19:39   #14  |  Link
Derrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 898
You have to burn it with an burning tool. But don't use nero, cause this one is not able to burn DVD images.

On some burning tools, you will need to rename the extension from .img to .iso or .bin

Then just tell your burning tool, to use an image an let it run.
I'll try make some guides with picture, how this is done in detail.
Derrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2002, 21:19   #15  |  Link
TP2K
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 44
Well, I tried it and burned the disc in Primo. The disc works fine in my PC (just as it should) but I am getting the C:13 error on my Sony 536 stand alone.

Methinks I am going to give up; been at this for a week and a half now and not managed to create anything with IFOEdit which will play on the Sony...
TP2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2002, 22:48   #16  |  Link
Derrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 898
Then probably forgot to use 'Get VTS Sectors' right before creating the image file.

What does you player-manual say what the error C 13 means ?
Derrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2002, 23:01   #17  |  Link
TP2K
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 44
I followed the notes in this thread;

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=20791

to strip R1 Charlie's Angels of all the extra's in the VTS_05 folders. I then used the "Get VTS" option, and then the "Create Image" options.

I used Prassi to burn to DVD-RW the image file, and the Sony DVD won't play the disc claiming error code C:13 (which the manual says "dirty disc" )

I know the Sony will play this particular DVD-RW since I have managed to burn to it previously, and it played perfectly OK - but only when ripping "all" files of a smaller DVD via SmartRipper to create an identical 1:1 disc.
TP2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2002, 23:25   #18  |  Link
Derrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 898
No, then it should work perfect.
You shouldn't have start-sector problems.

Now all what's left, is that you maybe left to much files away.
Please try to playback the DVD-RW with IfoEdit's DVD Player.

If it gives you the error: Illegal navigation command encountered,
then you'll know, there's a file missing, and you stripped to much of the extras out.

Have look at this guide:
http://mpucoder.kewlhair.com/Derrow/menu.html
Derrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2002, 12:33   #19  |  Link
d4g
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 112
Cant make img with ifo edit Why

Colud someone tell me why i cant make images> with ifo edit its says error cant find somehting could someone tell me why
d4g is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.