Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > Advanced authoring

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd November 2006, 18:52   #1  |  Link
szol
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Play US DVD with European Laptop

Hi

I've got a DVD from the States and would like to watch the movie on my laptop which I bought in Europe. How is that possible? What software do I need? Could it cause any damage to the PC?

Thank you for help
szol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2006, 19:57   #2  |  Link
Hard Core Rikki
Calling to the night...
 
Hard Core Rikki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Around The World
Posts: 116
The DVD drive itself probably has RPC2, if recent.

Using AVS DVD Player (free of charge) or Media Player Classic would be a good start, if you dont have fancier DVD software, ala PowerDVD.

Everytime you play a movie from a different region from what your drive is currently switched to, it will ask you to switch the region. You should have only 5 switchings allowed (plus 4 doable by the manufacturer). Once the switchings are 0, drive would remain locked at that particular region. Not very handy when it locks on Region 1, while the majority of your moviebase is Region 2.

If you use movies from different regions on a regular basis, you'd find it handy to use on-the-fly dezoning, using either DVD43 (free of charge), or AnyDVD.

Last edited by Hard Core Rikki; 23rd November 2006 at 20:02.
Hard Core Rikki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2006, 09:42   #3  |  Link
szol
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Hi

I tried the AVS player but it doesn't work. It tells me that the DVD is not compatible...and stops at the first picture.
I saw on the AVS homepage that they claim that it should be possible to play NTSC on a European Player.

With videolan it is somewhat better. The movie itself comes ok but navigation is not possible (I would like to watch 24 season x)
I do not know if the software manufacturer simply advertise more than they keep or if I am not capable ?

I guess that it is the easiest to adjust one player to US region and keep it like that.
szol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2006, 15:30   #4  |  Link
KoD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 536
If you're willing to spend money on this, I can recommend you DVDRegion+CSS Free or DVD Idle Pro (not the non-pro version). I've used them sucessfully. If you have this app running before inserting the disc in the dvd unit, your unit will not change region but still play the disc. It even works if your unit is already locked on another region than the one your disc is meant for.

Here's the page: DVDIdle.com
KoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2006, 05:24   #5  |  Link
Part Timer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Gatwick England
Posts: 1
Have you tried updating your firmware from rpc1.org
you will need to know exact model of your dvd drive.
they have helped lots over last three years for me
Part Timer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.