Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th August 2006, 22:06   #1  |  Link
audioman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 105
Avi.net shutdown problem

Hi info dvd

I had a problem last night

I encoded my movie and told Avi.net to shutdown PC at the end
I got this message



But my computer has never shutdown

This has never happened before with previous versions

I use 2.1.70 version

Any ideas ?
audioman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2006, 22:12   #2  |  Link
ricardo.santos
Registered User
 
ricardo.santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Portugal
Posts: 904
that warning means that if you press the button before the 15 seconds runs out, the shutdown will be canceled and you can carry on using the pc. If you pressed the CANCEL button it shouldnt turn itself off.

good idea.
__________________
Ricardo Santos na Aldeia mais digital de Portugal,
Beijós

Last edited by ricardo.santos; 28th August 2006 at 22:14.
ricardo.santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2006, 22:21   #3  |  Link
audioman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 105
Ricardo

I was sleeping at that time and I was not in front of my PC
and avi.net has never shutdown

What is the problem ?
audioman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2006, 22:27   #4  |  Link
ricardo.santos
Registered User
 
ricardo.santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Portugal
Posts: 904
I see, i thought you actually pressed the button. (got any pets?)
__________________
Ricardo Santos na Aldeia mais digital de Portugal,
Beijós
ricardo.santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2006, 22:49   #5  |  Link
audioman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 105
no ricardo

Any ideas from Info dvd ?
audioman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2006, 01:15   #6  |  Link
iNFO-DVD
Author of avi.NET rip.NET
 
iNFO-DVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: England [UK]
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioman
Any ideas from Info dvd ?
Does it always stay on 15 seconds? Does it actually ever start counting down? Can you test just a short clip to see whether it always does it?

Your encode rate says 0 FPS (strange)
iNFO-DVD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2006, 08:17   #7  |  Link
audioman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 105
Yes it always stay 15 seconds , I don't know why
When I went back home last night there was still the message

I am going to have a test on a short clip and I tell you

The weirdest thing is that the encode rate is always showing 0 FPS ... I don't know why
audioman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2006, 08:42   #8  |  Link
audioman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 105
I made a test on a short clip and my computer does not stop
It is pretty embarrassing cause I need to have this function work properly

Here is a video example about what's going on !!!

http://www.badongo.com/file/1308945

Wait 16 seconds before downloading the file

Last edited by audioman; 29th August 2006 at 09:17.
audioman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2006, 11:29   #9  |  Link
iNFO-DVD
Author of avi.NET rip.NET
 
iNFO-DVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: England [UK]
Posts: 408
Thanks for the clip, and yes, I found a silly little problem, a bug, countdown will NOT work, I've fixed it now but before I update just going to see if I can find out why your FPS displays zero.
iNFO-DVD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2006, 12:37   #10  |  Link
iNFO-DVD
Author of avi.NET rip.NET
 
iNFO-DVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: England [UK]
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioman
But my computer has never shutdown
Does 'THIS' file fix the problem?

Extract over (and overwrite) the 'avi.NET.exe' file in the installtion folder.
iNFO-DVD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2006, 14:48   #11  |  Link
audioman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 105
Thank you INFO

MY FPS displays zero even on another computer
I just tested at work and it is the same

I am afraid that appears on all versions of avi.net

I am trying your " SHUTDOWN FIX " and I tell you right now


Last edited by audioman; 29th August 2006 at 14:52.
audioman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2006, 15:15   #12  |  Link
audioman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 105
Awesome

Thanks INFO, The shutdown now , works good
Is is important for me to shut down my computer cause I encode with a notebook, so that I don't want to let it switch on all the time
audioman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2006, 16:19   #13  |  Link
iNFO-DVD
Author of avi.NET rip.NET
 
iNFO-DVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: England [UK]
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioman
The shutdown now works good
That's good to know, glad you spotted it.

I'm still puzzled about you FPS display..... I'm stumped at the moment.
iNFO-DVD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2006, 18:45   #14  |  Link
iNFO-DVD
Author of avi.NET rip.NET
 
iNFO-DVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: England [UK]
Posts: 408
Just put up v2.1.8.2, how's your FPS with this latest version?
iNFO-DVD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2006, 22:02   #15  |  Link
audioman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 105
INFO

Shutdown problem has gone with 2.1.8.2

But my FPS shows always Zero

Don't understand why but in fact, it is not really a problem
audioman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2006, 00:38   #16  |  Link
iNFO-DVD
Author of avi.NET rip.NET
 
iNFO-DVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: England [UK]
Posts: 408
I know it's nothing drastic, especially as you're fine with it, but it does annoy me that you don't get the FPS when you should.

I can't see any reason for it, I'm getting the information from AVS2AVI, that's all the information you see on the top header bar during encoding, the current frame, FPS and ETA. Now I could understand if none of the information was displayed, or only the first, would point to a problem with my parsing of the information, but for the ETA to be functioning and not the FPS is strange.

The initial question I must answer is whether AVS2AVI is actually giving me the FPS on your PC. If I send you a little test file to try are you OK with doing a quick test for me?

EDIT:
Rename the original exe file 'avi.NET.exe' then put in the installation folder THIS file. Run avi.NET as normal and select just something small, a minute or so, and do a SINGLE pass encode. When completed, you'll notice a file has been created on the root of C:\ called 'avi.NET.test.TXT'. Could you please send me this file. Thanks for your help. Email link is available from the 'email' button in the 'Help' section of avi.NET.

Thanks for your time.

Last edited by iNFO-DVD; 30th August 2006 at 01:26.
iNFO-DVD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2006, 10:55   #17  |  Link
audioman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 105
OK info

I will send you this file tonight
audioman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2006, 23:20   #18  |  Link
audioman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 105
It is very weird

At the beginning of encoding I get this screenshot



I send you the txt file to your email but it seems that it is an empty file

It seems like I have a big problem in my computer

Last edited by audioman; 30th August 2006 at 23:43.
audioman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2006, 01:17   #19  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
@all: please redirect your questions/replies to this thread: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=115381
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.