Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st August 2006, 15:15   #21  |  Link
bkman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by n3r0
and what's the source, resolution?
i'm trying to convert 1024x768 with HQinsane 4000kb/s and second pass goes 2,8-3,3fps with e6600 @2,7GHz

edit: sorry it was 1000kb/s

4000kb/s is about 2,3fps
If that is too slow for you, then maybe you should not use HQ-Insane. It is named that for a reason.
bkman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2006, 18:05   #22  |  Link
n3r0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkman
If that is too slow for you, then maybe you should not use HQ-Insane. It is named that for a reason.
i don't use it
was just curious about this 4,45fps X2 muscle
n3r0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2006, 18:31   #23  |  Link
Eleo
Dilly dally shilly shally
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 29
Meh, I expected HQ-Slower to be slow, but not THIS slow. The first pass took about 4 hours. I figured the second pass would take 4 hours as well; maybe slightly longer. I wake up today and see that 5 hours have elapsed for second pass and 10 hours are remaining!!! I immediately stopped the process. It's okay when this is taking place while I'm asleep but I don't want my cpu getting buggered all during the day time, too

Is there a way to get good results without taking this much time? Even rebuilding DVDs wit DVD Rebuilder and CCE + 3 passes only took me about 4 hours total. I've got like 25 movies I still want to reencode.

P.S. this is on a Pentium 4 2.4GHz; 512MB of RAM. Not the fastest computer in the world, but still. I figured if CCE could do it in 4 hours with excellent quality then x264 could do it in about that time.

Last edited by Eleo; 21st August 2006 at 18:47.
Eleo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2006, 18:50   #24  |  Link
GodofaGap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 823
Use a faster profile. x264 doesn't need --subme 7 --me umh --b-rdo -r 16 to look good.

Comparing MPEG2 with H264 concerning speed is useless. Of course any normal MPEG2 encoder will be much faster. There's about 10 years difference in technology. (Remember what kind of CPU you had 10 years ago )

Last edited by GodofaGap; 21st August 2006 at 18:52.
GodofaGap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2006, 18:58   #25  |  Link
Eleo
Dilly dally shilly shally
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 29
Ten years ago... Maybe a Pentium 2 233MHz.

"Faster profile" well I just see so many. I'm going for the best compromise between quality and my sanity; ie the best looking video I can get for under 8 hours of encoding time. Do you have a suggestion?

But then again obviously if the profiles I use don't do me much better than xvid then there's no reason to be using x264 and trying to be hip and stuff. I was just very keen on x264 because the result looks damn near like the DVD; at least the sample I got from a friend did.

Last edited by Eleo; 21st August 2006 at 19:01.
Eleo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2006, 19:04   #26  |  Link
Flexy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 92
problem is...well...15hrs etc. encoding time i could MAYBE live with....if there were a proper way to PAUSE an encoding.
But there is not. Which is a problem
Flexy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2006, 19:06   #27  |  Link
Flexy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by GodofaGap
Use a faster profile. x264 doesn't need --subme 7 --me umh --b-rdo -r 16 to look good.
CE-highprofile ?

Which one ? Not that fast either....

People always also say "do two passes...maybe more".....so what would be a good profile for every-day use/viewing of NON HDTV movies ?
Flexy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2006, 19:09   #28  |  Link
Eleo
Dilly dally shilly shally
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flexy
problem is...well...15hrs etc. encoding time i could MAYBE live with....if there were a proper way to PAUSE an encoding.
But there is not. Which is a problem
That would certainly help; especially if there was a safe way to do it like pause it and close MeGUI and come back to it whenever.
Eleo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2006, 19:13   #29  |  Link
Dreassica
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 386
4fps eh, try 0.5fps for size.... On a athlon 64 3000+ s754.
Dreassica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2006, 19:22   #30  |  Link
Eleo
Dilly dally shilly shally
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 29
(Why would you even bother, then?)
Eleo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2006, 19:43   #31  |  Link
unmei
frying subs
 
unmei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ch-2500
Posts: 891
For using the computer while you encode, just set the x264 priority to below normal or even lower if that is not enough. If for some reason you really need to pause it, even tho i never tried it, i think SysInternals PSSuspend is made for that. However, since i doubt you can turn off the computer and still resume, there is no real gain over simply lowering the process priority.
__________________
-nyo
unmei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2006, 19:59   #32  |  Link
GodofaGap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 823
Quote:
Faster profile" well I just see so many. I'm going for the best compromise between quality and my sanity; ie the best looking video I can get for under 8 hours of encoding time. Do you have a suggestion?
I don't know the profiles that MeGUI uses well enough. I'm sorry. It always puzzles me that someone picks the profile that is called slow or slower and than is amazed it actually is slow. Is there nothing called XX-fast? Or perhaps even XX-normal? (And if not, why not?)

Of course for the higher bitrate range, XviD is a valid alternative too.
GodofaGap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2006, 20:01   #33  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
Coz if you want a fast encoding you should use xvid instead :P
Also if you want faster profiles, just dont use HQ ones...
speed and quality are opposite words...

Last edited by Sharktooth; 21st August 2006 at 20:03.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2006, 20:12   #34  |  Link
n3r0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 19
HQslow profile has got quite good speed in my opinion
coming from tbred system
2 hours first pass (24fps) + 9fps is about 6 hours of second pass
but the default should give quite balanced result in terms of quality and speed
n3r0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2006, 21:15   #35  |  Link
Eleo
Dilly dally shilly shally
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by GodofaGap
I don't know the profiles that MeGUI uses well enough. I'm sorry. It always puzzles me that someone picks the profile that is called slow or slower and than is amazed it actually is slow.
Well, "slow" is rather arbitrary. 8 hours encoding is slow, but 20+ hours is just... Ridiculous.
Eleo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2006, 21:18   #36  |  Link
Eleo
Dilly dally shilly shally
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 29
I got a question: Is bitrate significant to the speed? I was trying to encode with a bitrate of 1700~ kbps (3CD); is that what slowed me down so much?
Eleo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2006, 21:41   #37  |  Link
akupenguin
x264 developer
 
akupenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,393
It depends on the options, but 800kbps might be 25% faster than 1600kbps.
akupenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2006, 22:02   #38  |  Link
Inventive Software
Turkey Machine
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lowestoft, UK (but visit lots of places with bribes [beer])
Posts: 1,953
You lot are wingers, really! I've got a Celeron 800 MHz, and I do a regular encode of some games footage. It's not longer than about 1500 to 2000 frames usually, and it takes 2 hours to do 2 passes in x264, at 1500 kbps. 1500 to 2000 frames is anywhere between 70 and 90 seconds. In XviD, I can have both passes done within 20-30 minutes. That's with all the high quality settings too in both codecs, yet x264 looks miles better, even with XviD or ffdshow's post-processing!
__________________
On Discworld it is clearly recognized that million-to-one chances happen 9 times out of 10. If the hero did not overcome huge odds, what would be the point? Terry Pratchett - The Science Of Discworld
Inventive Software is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2006, 01:22   #39  |  Link
Sseink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by frodeste
I am running the HQ-Insane (modified to support 2 threads) on an AMD X2 processor.

1 pass was: encoded 8138 frames, 24.40 fps, 1014.40 kb/s
2 pass is now at 4,45 fps

Is this normal?
Quote:
Originally Posted by n3r0
and what's the source, resolution?
i'm trying to convert 1024x768 with HQinsane 4000kb/s and second pass goes 2,8-3,3fps with e6600 @2,7GHz

edit: sorry it was 1000kb/s

4000kb/s is about 2,3fps
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharktooth
n3r0, welcome to the real world performance...
What do you mean ? Do you say, that the Conroe CPU sucks for x264 encoding ?

Does the integrated memory controller of the AMD X2 CPU make a big difference here ?
Sseink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2006, 01:32   #40  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
No, it doesnt suck, it's a monster CPU, but the AMD multicore implementation just shines with x264 partially because of faster MMX but also coz of the architecture (the Conroe shared cache is good but not as good as the crossbar switch).
Maybe optimizing the code for Conroe will just make it faster.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.