Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th August 2006, 18:36   #1  |  Link
BluDChyLD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 309
MeGUI - Problem normalizing audio

Hi,
I have just updated MeGUI and am getting used to encoding audio via avisynth. I created the following script for my AC3>aac conversion -

LoadPlugin("C:\Utilities\MPeG 4 Stuff\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\NicAudio.dll")
NicAC3Source("D:\mY StuFF\Films\DVD\MYDVD\film T01 3_2ch 384Kbps DELAY 0ms.ac3", DRC=0, Channels=2)

This seems to work ok (and is a little faster than the directshow decoding option), but the aac output is quiet and does not sound normalized, despite checking the "increase volume automatically" radio button in the config box... When compared to the original ac3 I can tell no discernable differance in volume between the two, and my aac files encoded with the older besweet megui version are considerbly louder.

To fix this, do I have to specify a normalization command in the audio's .AVS script?
Thanks for the help
Dawson
__________________
MSI Neo2 Platinum Motherboard
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ with akasa heatsink & fan
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
1024MB Crucial PC3200 DDR Ram
120GB Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 9
60GB Maxtor 720DX
LiteOn DVD-ROM LTD-165H
LiteOn LTR-24102B
Windows XP Pro with SP2
19" NEC MultiSync v921
Akasa 400W PSU

Last edited by BluDChyLD; 4th August 2006 at 19:01.
BluDChyLD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2006, 20:05   #2  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
http://www.avisynth.org/Normalize
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2006, 20:17   #3  |  Link
BluDChyLD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 309
Thanks for the info I have amended the script with the following changes, is this correct?

LoadPlugin("C:\Utilities\MPeG 4 Stuff\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\NicAudio.dll")
NicAC3Source("D:\mY StuFF\Films\DVD Rips\MYDVD\film T01 3_2ch 384Kbps DELAY 0ms.ac3", DRC=0, Channels=2)
audio = NicAC3Source("D:\mY StuFF\Films\DVD Rips\MY DVD\film T01 3_2ch 384Kbps DELAY 0ms.ac3")
audio = Normalize(audio, 0.95)
__________________
MSI Neo2 Platinum Motherboard
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ with akasa heatsink & fan
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
1024MB Crucial PC3200 DDR Ram
120GB Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 9
60GB Maxtor 720DX
LiteOn DVD-ROM LTD-165H
LiteOn LTR-24102B
Windows XP Pro with SP2
19" NEC MultiSync v921
Akasa 400W PSU
BluDChyLD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2006, 20:37   #4  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
audio = Normalize(audio)
go for 1.0
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.