Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Capturing Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th June 2006, 05:24   #1  |  Link
loninappleton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 112
Hauppauge WinTV card needs cable

The old vid capture board I have needs the cable for
connection to a vhs vcr.


i was following a guide and got a look at the cable needed.

The text says tyhat his is a cable supplied with the boards
manufacturer.


Is this just a s-vhs cable with 3 phono ends for composite
and left and right audio?


I tried an svideo cable in the card and it fits but I have no
clue if the pinout is the same as one of these jobbies
from a manufacturer.


Can anyone clue me on this?


If it's common, who had a good deal on them?

Closest match I found is this model:


http://www.svideo.com/sv3rca.html


I'd prefer to pay about five bucks.
loninappleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2006, 09:19   #2  |  Link
Revgen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near LA, California, USA
Posts: 1,543
S-VHS is video only. No audio is transmitted. A straight S-VHS to Composite connection is all that is needed.
__________________
Pirate: Now how would you like to die? Would you like to have your head chopped off or be burned at the stake?

Curly: Burned at the stake!

Moe: Why?

Curly: A hot steak is always better than a cold chop.
Revgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2006, 17:03   #3  |  Link
loninappleton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 112
The Hauppauge has other connections on it (it's really old)
like Line Out plus the RFI and cavble and FM connects.


A source of the manual for this thing would help.

Is it possible to hook up a vhs player with only the old style
cable connect to the card to capture video plus it's left right
phono connections at the amplifier for audio? I guess that's
an RF connect.


Otherwise, what is the correct simple composite plug?
What is it called? Svideo to Composite? Why all the other
stuff shown in the how-to guide?
loninappleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2006, 19:57   #4  |  Link
loninappleton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 112
Some progress on this.

I got the manual download with complete connector
drawings.

Line in and line out are also on there. So to complete
the connection from source, would I also need a sound card
type cable with 2 phono plugs to a single 1/8 jack to complete
the connection from vhs to the capture card? Then what about the sound card connects at the computer itself?


I only had a chance to glance at the manual so far. It's 85
pages.
loninappleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2006, 20:45   #5  |  Link
Arachnotron
Alias fragger
 
Arachnotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 863
No, the old winTV could not process sound. But when watching TV, it would generate sound over the line out. So you need:

- a short mini-stereo-jack to mini-stereo-jack going from the line-out of the winTV to the line-in of your soundcard;
This will give you TV sound and the option to record it.

- you connect the sound out of the VCR to the line-in of the WinTV; this needs a stereo-RCA to mini-stereo-jack.

The 2.5 mm small jack on the WinTV is for the IR sensor which came with the remote. (not all models came with one though)

When you select TV as recording source, the TV sound is directed to your soundcard. When you select composite, the VCR sound is shunted through the TV card to the soundcard.

If you only record VCR and never use the TV part, just connect the VCR directly to the soundcard and dispense with the loop through cable.

Within the recording software, the audio source is always the line-in of the soundcard.
Arachnotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2006, 21:48   #6  |  Link
loninappleton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 112
This has been very helpful.

Thank you.


The connections seem to be simplifying now that the application is defined.

The object is to capture a couple old vhs tapes that are not
replaceable.


Is there way to get the vhs to a file for dvd burning using
a vhs player with only one sound out (RCA) and cable (BNC) connector which goes to tv playback?

This would be something like an RF to Composite converter.
Is such a thing available? It's my first time asking and I haven't looked yet. Such a converter would avoid having to
borrow a machine with composite out.


Once I know I can do this job, I may upgrade some of these
pieces.
loninappleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2006, 10:31   #7  |  Link
Arachnotron
Alias fragger
 
Arachnotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 863
audio is simple: connect to one channel (left I think) and capture as mono.

Are you sure the BNC connector is RF and not composite video?

If it is indeed antenna, you could connect it to the antenna of the WinTV and tune this to the VCR channel. But I would strongly advise you to find a better VCR, since that way the vcr would take what is basically Y/C on tape, merge that to composite, modulate to RF, have that converted back to composite by the WinTV tuner, split up again in Y/C and finally captured. Especially the RF stage would introduce a lot of extra noise.

any cheap VCR with composite out would give you better quality than that.
Arachnotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2006, 19:15   #8  |  Link
loninappleton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 112
My Sony Trinitron tv has both BNC and composite connections.

I had the player hooked up to the tv via BNC out but I don't know if the RF is standard at the tv or the player. I'll get out
the manual for clues.
loninappleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2006, 19:44   #9  |  Link
Arachnotron
Alias fragger
 
Arachnotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 863
What are you calling BNC exactly? I don't know in which country you are, but on european consumer equipment, either SCART or RCA is used for composite and sound, while these are used for antenna. BNC connectors on the other hand, are used for composite video on pro vcr's, not antenna.

But my guess is you are using antenna to connect the VCR to the TV at the moment, in which case your only option would be to use the tuner of the winTV and to capture it as if it were a TV broadcast. But the quality would suffer from doing so. It must be a very old VCR to be both mono and TV only. Try borrowing something better from someone or get one second-hand. They are cheap as chips right now.
Arachnotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2006, 22:05   #10  |  Link
loninappleton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 112
Yes, the WinTv has the standard antenna hookups and from the
age of all this stuff the vcr out rather than going to tv would
plug into the caoture baord tuner.

Up there it says this is not the preferred way to do things
but I'm wondering if I can at least get playback from the
WinTv software with the old video player running (?)

Where does the video get picked up by my vid card to a
monitor?

That way I'd at least know what I'm dealing with.

There's no composite in on the old Hauppauge
card. It has svideo but no RCA connects.



How do the newer capture systems work off of USB?


The vid card, not to mention sound, seems to be out of
the loop.


I have a manual, I read through it but it pretty much reads
like gobbeltygook. Are there any graphic representations of these hookups floating around from other sources than what I have?
loninappleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2006, 20:16   #11  |  Link
Arachnotron
Alias fragger
 
Arachnotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 863
Quote:
Up there it says this is not the preferred way to do things
but I'm wondering if I can at least get playback from the
WinTv software with the old video player running (?)
Sure, just plug in the antenna, set the winTV software to TV and tune the channels while the VCR is playing. It should find just 1 channel which has the VCR picture on it.

The wintv converts the video signal from the tuner to digital video. The WinTV software in turn plays this back again on your screen.

Most of this stuff is in the analog capture guide by the way.

The s-vid connector on the winTV is both s-vid and composite. These cards come with an adapter for that. It connects the composite signal to the Y pin of the Y/C s-vid connector. It is either a short s-vid (hosinden) to RCA cable or a small plastic adapter.
Arachnotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2006, 21:01   #12  |  Link
loninappleton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 112
Ok.


I still have a lot of playing around to do but if the connection
to the card is less complicated than when I first read it,
that will be a help.


Now to audio. My old player has just one line in and line out
RCA. The manual for the card was talking about recording the
audio separately then editing the final back together. I have used audio waveform editors to cut paste and fade in and fade
out but have no idea how to compile the audio and video files.

I received the old capture card bare-- no connectors at
all. When I looked at radio shack for that little svid to comp
connector, they said $20. When I looked for one online it
was a buck (in quantity) or $3 for one. Then there was this
fancy cable someplace else for over $70 with some sort of
chroma separator on the s-vid end. :-/


Thanks for the reply. I am making some progress. I'm
using an old machine I have to scratch build some of these
multimedia things before proceeding to other hardware.


So with the video cable problem somewhat solved, will a simple RCA to mini jack connect to line in on the card capture the audio? Then how does the completed digital progcess get done?

Where's the guide?
loninappleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2006, 22:31   #13  |  Link
jggimi
Moderator Emeritus
 
jggimi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The NW corner of Lake Erie
Posts: 5,555
FAQ: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=32575
Guide: http://www.doom9.org/capture/start.html
jggimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2006, 05:08   #14  |  Link
loninappleton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 112
Ye4p,m well sometimes the guide is the story on how to
make a watch when you just want to know what time it is.


Over time I've become frustrated with the 'if you want to
do this, go here, if you want to do that go there and if you
don't fine the answer then start over by going here etc etc.


Today what I would like to do is find out what works and what
doesn't and framre rates and such can be discussed aFTER
I figure out where the on button is.

To whit:

I have WinTV2k software installed and I am getting dll
errors.

I put the board in an old machine and Win98SE saw the device and I eventually got the driver installed. From a
previous install (which I changed for ease of getting at
the hardware repeatedly) I had made the program copies from another disk and they installed ok.

BTW, while reading the FAQ (I did read through the whole
thing) they said one piece of capture software is preferred which name I already forgot.

The btw question is can I use softeware other than that
specified from the manufacturer for bt8x8 board?


Ok back to original topic:

First error in Wintv32

"Wintv initialization aerror: a required component (hcw
Chan.dll is missing."


A different error in WinRadio (which I don't think I'll
ever use)

" A required DLL file HCWUTIL32.dll was not found.


These dll errors should not have anything to do with the
\fact that I have no connection to the video tape player I want to use and it is not hooked up yet.


So: how do I solve the dll errors?


or


What is the name of the replacement program to
capture the video and audio?


While going through the Wintv32 program install and
device driver install, the system wanted me to restart way
too many times. One dll here, one dll there all on the same
routine. How can this process be simplified?


The short term goal is to get playback on _some_ program
to know the card is working at all from the video tape player.
loninappleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2006, 20:06   #15  |  Link
Arachnotron
Alias fragger
 
Arachnotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 863
a lot of what you ask is basic stuff that has been asked a zillion times on this forum or is in the faqs and guide jggimi pointed to. Spoon-feeding you a step by step guide to doing it is no fun for us either, you have to be willing to put in some research of your own.

However, the errors are specific and beyond the faq. Judging from the dll names, the Hauppauge drivers did not install completely.

I would suggest using winXP, re-installing the latest WDM drivers Hauppauge has to offer for the BT878 and downloading and installing the latest winTV2k app.
Hauppauge also has a utility for removing traces of older drivers. You might want to give that a try before installing the latest drivers.

Try getting it to work with your Tv antenna first, try the VCR later when you have the basics working.

Good luck.
Arachnotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2006, 20:40   #16  |  Link
loninappleton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 112
Using WinXp is not an option. I don't even know if the card works.

Regards spoon feeding, I've run across this response before.

You might consider that you are tired of the forum and should
let someone who is willing to answer questions do so.


What is contained in most FAQs, yours included , are the
Frequent Non-Answers To Questions which amounts to a needle in a haystack.

But thanks for the tip on reinstalling. I'll try that and see if it
goes any smoother. Also will see if Virtual Dub will function on that old gear as a work around.
loninappleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2006, 21:41   #17  |  Link
loninappleton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 112
Using WinXp is not an option. I don't even know if the card works.

Regards spoon feeding, I've run across this response before.

You might consider that you are tired of the forum and should
let someone who is willing to answer questions do so.


What is contained in most FAQs, yours included , are the
Frequent Non-Answers To Questions which amounts to a needle in a haystack.

But thanks for the tip on reinstalling. I'll try that and see if it
goes any smoother. Also will see if Virtual Dub will function on that old gear as a work around.
loninappleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2006, 21:53   #18  |  Link
loninappleton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 112
Some progress.

I reinstalled the Hauppauge drivers and got rid of the
dll error which loaded with WinTV.


I connected the RF out of the vhs player to the cable
select of the card.


Perhaps the error I got has been seen before: the splash
screen for Wintv comes up center screen but then just
leaves a white hole and an indication of trying to load something (hourglass) it cannot find.


I had a tape running to see if anything could be monitored.


But I know that the channel select on the player has to match the tuner on the card.


I've not been able to get to that.


A couple of options are available:


Change the vhs player channel from 4 to 3 hoping to hit
a default.


Get a vhs composite video out to s-video cable and replug.


Get Virtual Dub or some other player that will allow me to
set up the playback channel on the card to match the player.


I'm going to check the WinTv manual for clues but some
sort of heads up about the screen blanking will be appreciated.
loninappleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2006, 22:34   #19  |  Link
jggimi
Moderator Emeritus
 
jggimi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The NW corner of Lake Erie
Posts: 5,555
Some self-sufficiency is required in order to survive here. It may be upsetting, but it is a fact of life. It's very difficult for us to look over your shoulder, and it isn't much fun for you either.

If the drivers are now installed properly, and your cabling is now correct, you should be able to use either Vdub or VirtualVCR to obtain your A/V content. Give either a try, per the Guide.
jggimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2006, 00:43   #20  |  Link
loninappleton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 112
More progress.


By updating directX with a simple download and setting up
the video player's channel 4 and manually selecting channel
4 at the WinTv program I have video.


Magic. :-)


It's like hearing sound for the first time from an mp3 file.


The picture is pretty crappy though. The vid card is an
ancient ATI and the soundcard is also minimal on this
scratch system on which I am setting up.


Specific problems I'm noticing is poor resolution and failure
to keep up with some images.


Even so, I'd like to try to record to the 15G drive attached
just to see if I get anything.


As to sound, the WinTv and my soundcard both have
multiple connections.


There's a mini jack (1/8 in) line out on the capture.


The manual says the capture card won't do sound by itself.


So the next connection to make is from 1/8 line out to
soundcard line in ?


What I don't want to do is confuse the connection of the
1/8 jacks with the four pin headers used to go to cdrom
to get working sound monitored.


Thanks for your patience. All I really need is to be pointed in
the right direction. You may feel that FAQs do that. I find that I struggle with too much content and linkages which may
be for the current purposes a dead end.


There will always be noobs coming in here. 'Verbal' responses tend to get through what is old info on the FAQs---
some I noted from 2003.
loninappleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.