Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > IFO/VOB Editors

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th February 2002, 01:28   #1  |  Link
Kanector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 12
Anyone got an IFOEdit rip to work on a PS2?

They work on my standalone but not on the PS2.

Is there a special method or is it the writing software that is causing the problem. I currently use Nero.

If anyone has got it to work can you please post what writing software you used.

Thanks...
Kanector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2002, 01:55   #2  |  Link
rmtaibo
MB Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 172
It depends of media you're using and the version of your PS2.

PS2 can read -R media (not sure).

old PS2 can't read -RW nor +RW media (tested).

newest PS2 version can read +RW media (tested).

newest PS2 version can read -RW media (not sure).

for more info visit www.dvdplusrw.org page:

http://www.dvdplusrw.org/resources/c..._dvdvideo.html

PD: Look for Sony brand at the bottom of the page.

Last edited by rmtaibo; 13th February 2002 at 02:02.
rmtaibo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2002, 02:30   #3  |  Link
Coop920
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 79
"PS2 can read -R media (not sure). "

ps2 can read -r because i burn my ps2 games to dvd-r's so there ya go and they work fine
Coop920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2002, 02:41   #4  |  Link
rmtaibo
MB Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 172
Then your PS2 must read DVD-Video too.

Did you tried with a original DVD movie?

It's confusing:
Your standalone reads DVD made with ifoedit.
Your PS2 can't read the same disk.

Wait!
What UDF version you're using: 1.02 or 1.5
I read somewhere that PS2 needs UDF 1.5 version (Don't believe me, but I read that)
Check what kind of version did you use for writing the PS2 games to DVD-R
rmtaibo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2002, 03:36   #5  |  Link
ryutran18
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 115
hey can u guys tell me step by step how to copy a ps2 game to dvd-5.
thanks.
ryutran18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2002, 03:55   #6  |  Link
Coop920
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally posted by ryutran18
hey can u guys tell me step by step how to copy a ps2 game to dvd-5.
thanks.
pop your ps2 game into your dvd burner, open up prassi primodvd 2.0

make a gi image...to your hd

burn back the gi image to a blank dvdr

and thus you have a perfect dvd copy of a ps2 game
Coop920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2002, 04:07   #7  |  Link
ryutran18
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 115
and what do i need to play it on a ps2. i have the newer version of ps2.
ryutran18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2002, 04:12   #8  |  Link
ryutran18
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 115
is copying a ps2 game that easy. don't they have any protection u have to get through?
ryutran18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2002, 05:08   #9  |  Link
Coop920
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 79
nope it's that easy...and i use a neo4 to get my ps2 backups to work
Coop920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2002, 15:33   #10  |  Link
Kanector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 12
Not too sure which version of UDF I'm using. I've used Nero 5564 so it's whatever version of UDF this is using.

The only place where I've seen an option to select a UDF format is in VOB InstantDVD.

Anyone used this or GearDVD to make a PS2 compatible DVD using IFOEdit?

The strange thing is when the DVD is re-authored using SpruceUp or something similar, the DVD-R works fine. So it's not an issue of the PS2 reading the disc, it's purely down to the structure of the re-burnt DVD or the writing software. At the moment I don't know which.
Kanector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2002, 00:00   #11  |  Link
Streetcleaner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somewhere in Germany
Posts: 149
Hi!

Yes it is possible to copy DVD Movies to DVD-r and play them in PS2. Ps2 play everything. My first DVD Copies i forgot to get VTS sectors and they havn`t accepted in any standalone DVD Player the PS2 played them.
Copying DVD PS2 Games? I do not think that that belongs in this forum. It is very simple but i am tired about all this Modchip shit and so i buy my games.

Greetz
Streetcleaner
Streetcleaner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2002, 00:39   #12  |  Link
ryutran18
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 115
r u guys saying that ps2 only plays dvd-r not dvd-rw's. what do u guys use to burn ur movies with so that ps2 can read it.
ryutran18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2002, 11:43   #13  |  Link
Kanector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 12
GearDVD seems to be the way to go as it is strict in verifying the VIDEO_TS folder you want to burn.

I keep getting this error which is probably why it doesn't work on the PS2.

Load error on file VTS_01_0.IFO
File cannot be loaded at the required address (646) because the address is already occupied.
First available address is 659.

I've stripped streams, ReMPEG'd and then ReMuxed to a new directory creating a new VIDEO_TS.IFO file so that it plays just the movie straight off.

Anyone know how to solve this problem?
Kanector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2002, 12:45   #14  |  Link
Kanector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 12
Excellent! GearDVD now working perfect and the DVD-R works perfect on the PS2.

Found the answer in another thread. You need to add a VIDEO_TS.VOB file. At first I tried the old trick of adding a 0 byte text file and renaming it but this doesn't work. So all you do is add a small VIDEO_TS.VOB file which apparently can be from any DVD. Luckily the one I was doing was only 179Kb so this was ideal.

Thanks to everyone for there help.
Kanector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2002, 02:17   #15  |  Link
tjh011
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 59
Same ps2 problem

Hey I am having the same problem with my ps2. I made a copy of Swordfish and it works on my computer with a program that only plays whole discs and not just files, so I know I am pretty close. I just looked at the disc I made and it didnt have a video_ts.vob file, but I dont have one to put on. Will a blank file work?
tjh011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2002, 19:55   #16  |  Link
Kanector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 12
A blank file won't work. Any valid VIDEO_TS.VOB will work. The smaller the better.

Don't forget you will have to do a 'Get VTS Sectors' before burning.
Kanector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2002, 00:43   #17  |  Link
tjh011
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 59
Ok I found a video_ts.vob file on fast and the furious so I tried using that and I still had a problem. I copied the video_ts.vob file to my ripped VIDEO_TS folder that I had already used ifoedit and get VTS sectors on. I used get VTS sectors again after I added the video_ts.vob file to the folder. It still wouldnt work in my PS2. Do I need to re-rip the dvd and only do the get VTS sectors at the end? Will doing get VTS sectors twice cause a problem? Are there any other things I could be doing wrong? (I am using the guide in Doom9 to just get the main movie). The disc will play on my computer, so I have to be close. Any suggestions?
tjh011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2002, 18:21   #18  |  Link
bypass0404
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10
so if you did get a 1:1 copy of the game, you still need a mod chip?
bypass0404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2002, 05:03   #19  |  Link
Coop920
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 79
yes me...many times
Coop920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2002, 20:41   #20  |  Link
philhealey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Southampton,UK
Posts: 13
To play PS2 backups you need modchip and DVD-Region-X (US)or Action Replay 2 (Euro), not required for PSX backups. Some games will also require a patch applied (EA games for example)
philhealey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.