Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th May 2006, 23:22   #241  |  Link
Ivan Dimkovic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 67
Nero Digital logo exists - Nero Digital Audio is coming soon.

Now, I must remind concerned people that the usage of Nero Digital / Nero Digital Audio logos in third-party products is not allowed without certification.
Ivan Dimkovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2006, 23:56   #242  |  Link
siddharthagandhi
Go Nero Digital
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Edison, NJ
Posts: 466
Yes, but he can use the logos that SeeMoreDigital and the other guy created...right?....

those weren't created by Nero so they should be legal...
siddharthagandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2006, 00:10   #243  |  Link
Ivan Dimkovic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 67
Hate to be the nitpick But they do incorporate offical Nero logo in their design - which might violate copyright.
Ivan Dimkovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2006, 01:03   #244  |  Link
Kostarum Rex Persia
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Serbia
Posts: 565
Ivan, when we will see updated version of Nero Burning Rom package, and Recode 2.

Excuse me, but programs that I use, do not use official Nero logo in their design.
Kostarum Rex Persia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2006, 07:25   #245  |  Link
Ivan Dimkovic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kostarum Rex Persia
Ivan, when we will see updated version of Nero Burning Rom package, and Recode 2.
NBR and Recode are updated in regular scheduled Nero updates.

Quote:
Excuse me, but programs that I use, do not use official Nero logo in their design.
I was refering to an idea posted here to design custom Nero Digital Audio logos, that incorporate official Nero branding, and nothing else.
Ivan Dimkovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2006, 08:34   #246  |  Link
dimzon
BeHappy/MeGUI developer
 
dimzon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 1,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivan Dimkovic
Now, I must remind concerned people that the usage of Nero Digital / Nero Digital Audio logos in third-party products is not allowed without certification.
Does it mean I can't use ND logo in GUI for your CLI encoder? I'm using your own (written by yourselfes) encoder, so why not?
dimzon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2006, 08:43   #247  |  Link
GodofaGap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 823
Because you will have to be granted permission to use it first. Otherwise you would be in violation of copyright law.

I'm sure you understand that Nero wants to do some quality assurance on products/software that use their certification logos.
GodofaGap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2006, 09:12   #248  |  Link
stax76
SharpPlayer dev
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,063
Next time don't ask and nobody will complain...

BeLight uses the logo as well...
__________________
StaxRip - use pastebin for log files and imgbox for screenshots
SharpPlayer - Open source desktop media player
stax76 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2006, 10:54   #249  |  Link
DnA
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 30
1pass beats 2pass

@Nero engineers

Do you have any idea, why -2pass -br sounds worse than just -br? I really like the 2pass encoding and do not have any slight idea, why it sounds worse than one pass encoding.
DnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2006, 11:03   #250  |  Link
Ivan Dimkovic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 67
Quote:
Does it mean I can't use ND logo in GUI for your CLI encoder? I'm using your own (written by yourselfes) encoder, so why not?
Because having a Nero Digital logo on the device/product means that the device is:

- Certified under strict requirements and QA verification
- Nero logo really stands for the quality of audio of this product

And all above means - for the entire product.

Free AAC encoder we are talking about here, is free for personal and noncommercial use - and this is the license condition one has to accept in order to use this free product.

So this license does not include bundling/redistribution with third party applications, also it does not include right to use Nero copyrighted intellectual property - such as logos.

Also, in addition to this - even if we wanted to give free right to bundle Nero AAC encoder with 3-party applications, or give right for commercial use, this would be in violation of the AAC patent license agreement "annual cap" rule, and we would certainly not be in position to provide encoder free of charge anymore.

So, I think the solution as it is now is the best for the users and community - encoding software is free of charge, and available by download from Nero - for non-commercial and personal use.

Everything else (distribution, bundling, etc...), including the logo usage is not granted with this free license - people willing to gain such rights should contact Nero directly.

Last edited by Ivan Dimkovic; 18th May 2006 at 11:07.
Ivan Dimkovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2006, 11:05   #251  |  Link
Ivan Dimkovic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by DnA
@Nero engineers

Do you have any idea, why -2pass -br sounds worse than just -br? I really like the 2pass encoding and do not have any slight idea, why it sounds worse than one pass encoding.
It could theoretically happen as ABR (-br) could allocate more bits than limited by 2-pass encoding. Please send us the samples and we will check.
Ivan Dimkovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2006, 11:45   #252  |  Link
DnA
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivan Dimkovic
Please send us the samples and we will check.
The audio sample that I used was the sound of the 20th Century Fox intro in "Fight Club" movie (DTS converted via BeHappy (NicDtsSource.dll) to 6 channel WAV). I suppose it will happen also on other 20th CF movies intros. The beginning has a lot of artifacts.

I hope that this will help to find the problem.

Otherwise, congratulations for the perfect encoder.

Last edited by DnA; 18th May 2006 at 11:53.
DnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2006, 14:33   #253  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,182
About ND logos and graphics :

http://www.nero.com/nerodigital/eng/Nero_Digital.html
http://www.nero.com/nerodigital/eng/Main_profiles.html
http://www.nero.com/nerodigital/eng/copyright.html

Quote:
Documents available on this web site

Permission to use documents and related graphics available from this server ("Server") is granted, provided that:

* The copyright notice below appears in all copies and that both the copyright notice and this permission notice appear.
2004 Nero AG, Karlsbad, Germany. All rights reserved.
* Use of documents and related graphics available from this Server is for informational and non-commercial or personal use only.
* No documents and related graphics available from this Server are modified in any way.
* No graphics available from this Server are used separately from accompanying text.
.....
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2006, 16:08   #254  |  Link
GodofaGap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 823
Quote:
* No graphics available from this Server are used separately from accompanying text.
Including the accompanying text with the certfication logo's is a bit troublesome for a GUI...
GodofaGap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2006, 16:17   #255  |  Link
dimzon
BeHappy/MeGUI developer
 
dimzon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 1,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivan Dimkovic
- Certified under strict requirements and QA verification
- Nero logo really stands for the quality of audio of this product
Does'nt Your own CLI encoder meet this requrements.
I just want to show ND logo in configuration form to show encoder's orign and make GUI eye-candy look...


Samples:






dimzon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2006, 16:39   #256  |  Link
Ivan Dimkovic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 67
No, just having our encoder supported does not mean granting the right to logo use.

I am, however, not the person to grant you right to use Nero Digital / Nero Digitial Audio logos in your software - I just want to keep people informed with the right information.

For example, other companies have rules as well (e.g. Dolby) with regards to usage of their Logo, too.
Ivan Dimkovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2006, 16:47   #257  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in HD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,171
Hi Ivan,

Logo permissions permitting... You've got to admit Dimzon's proposal sure looks cool though


Cheers
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2006, 16:55   #258  |  Link
Carpo
Registered User
 
Carpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 1,365
sure looks pukka
__________________
The Internet: where men are men, women are men, and children are FBI Agents
Carpo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2006, 02:08   #259  |  Link
Romario
Registered User
 
Romario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Qetchua mountains in Peru, and Klingon battlecruiser D'Mar
Posts: 393
I don't know why you guys arguing about logo, if Ivan says it's illegal to use it, then don't put logo in your GUI. Simple as that.
__________________
Live long and prosperLive long and prosperLive long and prosper
Romario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2006, 02:41   #260  |  Link
siddharthagandhi
Go Nero Digital
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Edison, NJ
Posts: 466
Hey dimzon that last screenshot is from what software?


And he didnt say it was illegal. He said you need permission.
siddharthagandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.