Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 9th May 2006, 16:55   #1  |  Link
imcold
pencil artist
 
imcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 197
Simple NeroAACEnc GUI - SNG 1.3

SNG is a basic front-end for the command-line Nero AAC encoder.

Notes:
- the encoder doesn't accept certain combinations of AAC profile and quality/bitrate options.
You shouldn't force profiles anyways - the encoder can automatically choose the right profile.
- for BePipe input you need BePipe.exe in sng's directory and AviSynth

Download:
SNG binaries & sources

Changes:
1.3
misc. bugfixes

Screenshot:

Last edited by imcold; 6th June 2009 at 13:15. Reason: new version
imcold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2006, 17:19   #2  |  Link
castellanos
Member
 
castellanos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Argentina and Germany
Posts: 687
I liked your work very much, it looks very easy to use, but unfortunatelly it does not work... at least in my computer!
I noticed, in the command line, that you did not put the "" between:

In your programm looks like that:
D:\Nero\win32\neroAacEnc.exe -cbr 160000 -if D:\Work\The Swan.wav -of "D:\Work\The Swan.mp4"



And in my computer works only like that:
"D:\Nero\win32\neroAacEnc.exe" -cbr 160000 -if "D:\Work\The Swan.wav" -of "D:\Work\The Swan.mp4"

Is that a mistake?
Greetings!
castellanos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 01:52   #3  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
sounds like a small and easy fixable bug

@imcold: if you dont mind sharing the sources i could add transparent Avisynth input for audio formats other than wav...

Last edited by Sharktooth; 10th May 2006 at 02:11.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 02:34   #4  |  Link
imcold
pencil artist
 
imcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 197
hmm, it should work without quotes, if there is no space in full filename... obviously it does not work everywhere going to fix it.

no problem sharing the source, just need to remove non-english comments It's written in Freepascal using Lazarus IDE (something like Delphi, but open-source ), hope that won't be a problem. I will upload it in short time.
btw.: could using upx executable packer lead to any problems?
imcold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 06:55   #5  |  Link
castellanos
Member
 
castellanos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Argentina and Germany
Posts: 687
Thanks imcold, It works now!
A small thing:
It would be nice if you can select the destination of the converted file, or at least, same direrctory as the source.
Veri nice GUI though!
castellanos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 12:37   #6  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by imcold
hmm, it should work without quotes, if there is no space in full filename... obviously it does not work everywhere going to fix it.

no problem sharing the source, just need to remove non-english comments It's written in Freepascal using Lazarus IDE (something like Delphi, but open-source ), hope that won't be a problem. I will upload it in short time.
btw.: could using upx executable packer lead to any problems?
ehm, i should spend some time to re-learn pascal or delphi... if i have the time i'll do it.
however upx is safe
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 12:56   #7  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
the two methods that come to my mind are easy though.
1) using avs2wav or bepipe and piping its output to the encoder (but i absolutely dont know how piping works on pascal/delphi)
2) using avs2wav to create a temp file and feed it to the encoder
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 13:26   #8  |  Link
MatMaul
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharktooth
the two methods that come to my mind are easy though.
1) using avs2wav or bepipe and piping its output to the encoder (but i absolutely dont know how piping works on pascal/delphi)
2) using avs2wav to create a temp file and feed it to the encoder
This GUI use command-line, so with BePipe.exe and neroAacEnc.exe the command line is "BePipe --script "Import(^file.avs^)" | neroAacEnc.exe -ignorelength -q 0.25 -if - -of Nero_he_q0.25.mp4" for example, I think it's not necessary to code anything about piping in Pascal, the GUI just create the command-line and launch it.

Last edited by MatMaul; 10th May 2006 at 13:30.
MatMaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 13:47   #9  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
im not sure the "|" works coz cmd.exe (or command.com) is not invoked.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 14:00   #10  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharktooth
im not sure the "|" works coz cmd.exe (or command.com) is not invoked.
It's invoked...
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 14:04   #11  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
well... so it's easier than i thought.
something like this: "bepipe.exe" --script "DirectShowSource(^filename.ext^)" | "neroAacEnc.exe" ....
should work

Last edited by Sharktooth; 10th May 2006 at 14:09.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 15:17   #12  |  Link
imcold
pencil artist
 
imcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 197
thanks for being interested in this little tool I still have some free time today, so I'm going to add multiple file input now and look @ pipes tomorrow - I never used them. How about piping output from command line back to my application - any easy way to do that?
imcold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 19:05   #13  |  Link
deets
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: london, england
Posts: 509
this would be very cool for us psp owners who want a free and simple way to encode audio for their video

ill give it a run and then add a page on my site!
deets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 20:02   #14  |  Link
ChaosKing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 149
There´s a small "Bug"
__________________
Search and denoise
ChaosKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 21:25   #15  |  Link
guada 2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lyon
Posts: 718
@ChaosKing
look at this:

imcold say:
Quote:
-2pass encoding disabled when mode: VBR
Bye
guada 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 22:19   #16  |  Link
ChaosKing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 149

Ok, then its a cosmetic bug
__________________
Search and denoise
ChaosKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 22:44   #17  |  Link
dohcmark8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 85
Nice work.

Now if we could just have a progress bar...
dohcmark8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 02:33   #18  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
uhm... as i suspected piping thru "|" doesnt work...
the proof is here: http://www.webalice.it/f.corriga/sng/sng_0.3b_src.7z
(needs bepipe.exe in the same dir as sng.exe. the code contains also the -2pass fix and some aesthetic fixes as well).
any idea is welcome but i think an intermediate file is needed (using avs2wav) since i dont know how piping works in pascal...

Last edited by Sharktooth; 11th May 2006 at 03:15.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 08:14   #19  |  Link
vip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Belarus
Posts: 27
It would be nice if the gui could allow user to set process priority. And one more hint, 96kbps isnt equal 96000bps its 98304 .
vip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 11:05   #20  |  Link
Ivan Dimkovic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 67
96 kbps = 96000 bits/second, according to ITU and SI units
Ivan Dimkovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.