Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > (HD) DVD & Blu-ray authoring

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 6th February 2002, 06:17   #1  |  Link
CouJo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 208
DVD Image Tool 0.85

I have wrote a tool named ImgTool. This tool is to create DVD
compatible image files.
I've taken the "create image library" from DVD Wise. So its easy to
create DVD Images from ripped files.

NOTE:
This tool is only the missing part between e.G. ifoedit and any Burn
Software which supoorts burning of DVD Images.

Please have a look of this tool.

Here

If someone have any comments and/or suggestions, please let me know.

Greets from Germany,
CouJo!
CouJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2002, 06:36   #2  |  Link
SiC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 189
Nice tool! Next time can you add de-macrovision & region-free option to create an image without macrovision & regional settings???
SiC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2002, 07:53   #3  |  Link
CouJo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 208
I think this should be made by the ripping software. If you rip any DVD, you can easy choose, that your destination files should be marcovision OFF and region free.

Greets, CouJo!
CouJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2002, 11:11   #4  |  Link
Areku
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 134
Hi!

Can you re-explain in other words what is this tool useful for?

Areku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2002, 11:31   #5  |  Link
CouJo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 208
I'll try...

Burning a compatible DVD is NOT only writing all the files to a DVD-R/+RW. The files must be stored an special sectors. And here is the "place" of ImgTool. Make a directory and in that directory create a subdirectory named "VIDEO_TS". Put all you ripped/edited/... Files in this directory and use ImgTool to make a standard conform DVD Image. Now you can burn this image and you get an compatible DVD which also plays in most Settop players...

Hope you understand me, I don't like english language - I'm better in german !

Greets from Germany,
CouJo!
CouJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2002, 11:57   #6  |  Link
Derrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 898
Ey Caujo,

excellent work! Would you mind if I implement that into IfoEdit?
Maybe you could give me your source code too?

By the way, you can contact me directly, and write in German to
derrow@yahoo.com
Derrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2002, 13:11   #7  |  Link
SiC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 189
Oh yeah!! The combination of the two programs would be awesome!!! Gotta think of a name........ IfoImager?? hehehe
SiC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2002, 13:17   #8  |  Link
Areku
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 134
I'm getting lost

Isn't DVD author and/or DVD burning program supposed to do that automatically?
Areku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2002, 13:18   #9  |  Link
CouJo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 208
OK, why not...

@Derrow
I will send you the Sourcecode, it's not much...
All other things I'll write you via mail !

Greets, CouJo!
CouJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2002, 13:24   #10  |  Link
CouJo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally posted by Areku
I'm getting lost

Isn't DVD author and/or DVD burning program supposed to do that automatically?
Of course!
If you like to re-author the ripped DVD... but this is much work and it's much easier to use ifoedit and the ImgTool. But if you only create new DVDs, there is no need to use ifoedit nor ImgTool...

Greets, CouJo!
CouJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2002, 20:55   #11  |  Link
dazzle3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 12
THANK YOU COUJO

What a god send I have been searching the net for this kind of tool for weeks HOW DO I down load it , followed the link its all in germen sorry coujo but my germen is a little rusty.
dazzle3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2002, 21:04   #12  |  Link
CouJo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 208
...sounds like I have spoken about english language *ggg*.

OK, here are the direct downlods:

With all needed C++ DLLs:
Here (ca. 770k)

...without the C++ DLLs:
Here (ca. 174k)

Maybe, leave any comment on my website @ www.coujo.de


Greets, CouJo!
CouJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2002, 21:06   #13  |  Link
Chumboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 337
so.....

sometimes the sequences get messed up during the rip/ifoedit stage.
burning these mis-sequenced files with burning programs may/may not work on settop players.

so this tool re-authors all the files in the video_ts directory and resequences them. produces a disc image on hard drive.

then you use a burning app (primo,etc.) to burn the disc image.

did i get that right...is this one more step needed to insure a perfectly burned dvd?

if so....WOW! Cool!
Chumboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2002, 21:40   #14  |  Link
dazzle3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 12
Imgtool is cool slight problem

Ok this may be a daft question but which apps burn *.img files as NERO and dvdit will not recognize the file extension by the way Coujo imgtool works great just need to burn it to a disk.
dazzle3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2002, 22:07   #15  |  Link
CouJo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 208
Ulead DVD Movie Factory burns the image (rename image.img ==> image.iso). B's Recorder Gold writes the image without any changes, DVDit writes the image if you change the name from "image.img" to "image.image" .

@Chumboy
This tool doesn't sequence anything new. So the files you'll try to image must be correct files. But if you use ifoedit, the files are correct... The tool will only create the UDF/Bridge DVD Image and will place all your files on the right place in the image.

Greets, CouJo!

Last edited by CouJo; 6th February 2002 at 22:09.
CouJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2002, 22:18   #16  |  Link
Chumboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 337
ahhh....i see. cool.
Chumboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2002, 00:00   #17  |  Link
dazzle3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 12
Success!
Thanks a million
Cujo for president
dazzle3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2002, 15:13   #18  |  Link
Slacker411
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 4
Runtime Error

I love the program, it has worked great, but I have managed to screw up while using it so it is not fool-proof. Sometimes when trying to create an image I receive a C++ runtime error and abnormal termination (the program crashes) leaving my image exactly 3.99 GB regardless of the size the image is supposed to be (more and less than 3.99 GB ends up being exactly 3.99 GB). Other times the program works flawlessly so this is obviously something I am doing while ripping the DVDs, or something wrong the vob/ifo files created when I strip streams out. This does not only happen on stripped vobs though, it has occured on split vobs. Any ideas what is going on or what I can do to resolve this?
Slacker411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2002, 15:24   #19  |  Link
mikeathome
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 425
Re: Runtime Error

Quote:
Originally posted by Slacker411
I love the program, it has worked great, but I have managed to screw up while using it so it is not fool-proof. Sometimes when trying to create an image I receive a C++ runtime error and abnormal termination (the program crashes) leaving my image exactly 3.99 GB regardless of the size the image is supposed to be (more and less than 3.99 GB ends up being exactly 3.99 GB). Other times the program works flawlessly so this is obviously something I am doing while ripping the DVDs, or something wrong the vob/ifo files created when I strip streams out. This does not only happen on stripped vobs though, it has occured on split vobs. Any ideas what is going on or what I can do to resolve this?
Hi,
you don't try to create a file bigger than 4GIG on Win9x, do you ?
FAT32 file size limitation is 4GIG, use NTFS (W2K).

mike
mikeathome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2002, 16:15   #20  |  Link
Slacker411
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 4
Well, I am using Win2K but I have a dual-boot and I am running Win98 as well, so everything is Fat32. I considered this but why would some images work and others not? and why would images less than 4 GB not work as well?
Slacker411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.