Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Announcements and Chat > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th January 2006, 17:47   #1  |  Link
foohoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Error when opening folders?

Hi

I don't know whats happened, my computer was fine, now everytime I open a folder that contains a movie clip I get an error with explorer, if I try to write a DVD I get an error whjen I load the movie file.

What have I done??
I have run antivirus and spyware and nothing came up.

I did change a .divx to a .avi by renaming it and thats about when the trouble started. has that got anything to do with it??

Dex
foohoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2006, 17:54   #2  |  Link
Shinigami-Sama
Solaris: burnt by the Sun
 
Shinigami-Sama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: /etc/default/moo
Posts: 1,923
disable the the windows preveiw of the files, that fixed it when I had that problem
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by benjust View Post
interlacing and telecining should have been but a memory long ago.. unfortunately still just another bizarre weapon in the industries war on image quality.
Shinigami-Sama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2006, 01:46   #3  |  Link
theReal
Piper at theGates of Dawn
 
theReal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Earth
Posts: 2,138
Quote:
disable the the windows preveiw of the files, that fixed it when I had that problem
... to do that type "regsvr32 /u shmedia.dll" in the command line
__________________
"Under a government which imprisons unjustly, the true place for a just man is also a prison"
Henry David Thoreau, On the duty of civil disobedience, 1849
theReal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2006, 02:00   #4  |  Link
foohoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Oooh Right

SHIBBY! cheers guys!
foohoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2006, 02:05   #5  |  Link
foohoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Actually...

Hold that thought...

when I open my folders I no longer get the error, but if I try to play a .avi that I have I get an error from windows media player and if I try to load it in Nero Vision Express I get an error..

any thoughts on those apples??
foohoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2006, 02:12   #6  |  Link
Shinigami-Sama
Solaris: burnt by the Sun
 
Shinigami-Sama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: /etc/default/moo
Posts: 1,923
details of said error?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by benjust View Post
interlacing and telecining should have been but a memory long ago.. unfortunately still just another bizarre weapon in the industries war on image quality.
Shinigami-Sama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2006, 02:45   #7  |  Link
Mug Funky
interlace this!
 
Mug Funky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: i'm in ur transfers, addin noise
Posts: 4,547
@ theReal:



i've been getting explorer problems with mpeg-1 stuff... 100% CPU usage in explorer and nothing else working... been wanting to turn off that bloody useless shell preview crap. thanks
__________________
sucking the life out of your videos since 2004
Mug Funky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2006, 05:20   #8  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,175
foohoo, have you recently installed a codec pack or anything like it? It sounds as if either directshow or some codec is corrupted, which would explain the sudden rash of crashes in explorer and now inability to play anything. Try uninstalling every codec you can find, and then reinstalling nero and your codecs one at a time (sans packs) until you're either done or you find the one that kills it. As a last ditch you could try reinstalling directx too.
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2006, 11:56   #9  |  Link
foohoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
right

yeah sounds like the way to go. I will get on it.

the error by the way is "windows explorer has encountered a problem etc etc"

an yeah i have recently installed a divx bundle which i think may have done this

i will post how it goes
foohoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.